Summary of remarks by Neville Henderson to the National Insurance Conference of Canada 2017

Neville Henderson
Assistant Superintendent of Insurance Supervision Sector
Of
fice of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada

Québec City, QC
October 2, 2017 

On October 2, 2017, Neville Henderson, Assistant Superintendent of Insurance Supervision Sector, spoke in front of an audience of 450 Property and Casualty (P&C) insurance professionals at the annual National Insurance Conference of Canada (NICC) in Québec City, Quebec.

During the fireside chat with Amanda Lang, Mr. Henderson spoke about the changing environment for P&C insurers, both domestically and internationally.

In particular, he spoke to several issues facing the industry including technological changes, autonomous vehicles, and the effects and consequences of catastrophic events on the insurance and reinsurance industries.

The questions from the audience showed that industry players are keen to hear from the federal regulator and expressed their desires for continued clarity around guidance concerning the P&C industry. Neville briefly described OSFI’s ongoing work to review reinsurance practices and implementation of IFRS 17 (Insurance contracts).

Mr. Henderson closed his time on stage by underlining the productive relationship between the P&C industry and the federal regulator in protecting policyholders’ interests through a competitive and sound insurance sector.

To view the full session click here.

About OSFI

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada (OSFI) is an independent agency of the Government of Canada, established in 1987, to protect depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan members, while allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

Media Contact

Annik Faucher
OSFI – Public Affairs
annik.faucher@osfi­bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401

Aperçu de la communication du BSIF à la Conférence nationale sur l’assurance du Canada de 2017

Neville Henderson
Surintendant auxiliaire, Secteur de la surveillance des sociétés d’assurances
Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières Canada

Québec, Québec
Le 2 octobre 2017

Le 2 octobre 2017, Neville Henderson, surintendant auxiliaire du Secteur de la surveillance des sociétés d’assurances, s’est adressé à quelque 450 professionnels du secteur de l’assurance multirisque réunis dans le cadre de la Conférence nationale sur l’assurance du Canada, à Québec.

Il s’est notamment entretenu de façon informelle avec Mme Amanda Lang au sujet de la transformation du secteur de l’assurance multirisque au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde.

Lors de cet entretien, il a abordé certains des défis que le secteur sera appelé à relever comme, par exemple, les changements technologiques, les voitures autonomes et les conséquences des événements catastrophiques pour les assureurs et réassureurs.  

Les questions provenant de la salle démontraient bien l’intérêt du secteur de l’assurance multirisque pour l’opinion du BSIF et son désir de pouvoir continuer de compter sur des consignes claires et précises. M. Henderson a également pris quelques instants pour parler des pratiques en matière de réassurance, un dossier qui est constamment à l’étude, et de la mise en place de la norme IFRS 17 (Contrats d’assurance).

Il a terminé son intervention en soulignant que les rapports qu’entretiennent le secteur de l’assurance et l’organisme de réglementation fédéral contribuent à protéger les intérêts des souscripteurs en permettant de leur offrir des produits et des services fiables et concurrentiels.

Pour consulter les propos complets, cliquez ici. (en anglais seulement)

Le BSIF

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières Canada (BSIF) est un organisme fédéral indépendant fondé en 1987. Il a pour mandat de protéger les déposants, les souscripteurs, les créanciers des institutions financières et les participants des régimes de retraite, tout en permettant aux institutions financières de se mesurer à la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.

Relations de presse

Annik Faucher
BSIF – Affaires publiques
annik.faucher@osfi­bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401