Overview of the 2018-2019 Deposit-taking Institutions Sector Consultation Findings

During the 2018-2019 fiscal year, OSFI commissioned Sage Research Corporation, an independent research firm, to conduct a confidential consultation with deposit-taking institution Chief Executive Officers, Chief Financial Officers and other senior executives, to help OSFI monitor its effectiveness in discharging key elements of its mandate. OSFI has commissioned consultations with senior members of the financial community to obtain their assessment of OSFI's effectiveness as a regulator and supervisor since 1998.

The Deposit-taking Institutions Sector Consultation comprised a series of confidential interviews with executives representing a cross-section of the deposit-taking institutions regulated by OSFI. The final sample of participants was selected and interviewed by Sage Research Corporation independently of OSFI. The results are qualitative and presented in summary form to ensure the anonymity of participants.

Overall impressions of OSFI are positive. OSFI is viewed as accessible, responsive and professional. Additional strong attributes include: OSFI's effectiveness in ensuring the soundness of the Canadian deposit-taking sector; communication that is open and constructive; and, fostering good working relationships with the financial institutions it regulates.

Although OSFI is perceived to be effective in the overall discharge of its mandate, the study did reveal some areas for improvement. OSFI appreciates the feedback provided through this consultation and has developed action plans to address areas identified for improvement. Future studies will monitor OSFI's overall effectiveness and progress in addressing these.

The final report is available on the Library and Archives Canada website. For further information about the study methodology or the results, please send an e-mail to information@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.

OSFI's mandate is to protect depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan members, while allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

Aperçu des constatations faisant suite à la consultation auprès du secteur des institutions de dépôts (CSID) 2018-2019

Au cours de l'exercice 2018-2019, le BSIF a confié à Sage Research Corporation, un cabinet de recherche indépendant, la tâche de mener une consultation confidentielle auprès de premiers dirigeants, directeurs financiers et d'autres cadres supérieurs d'institutions de dépôts. L'objet de la consultation était d'évaluer la mesure dans laquelle le BSIF accomplit efficacement les principaux volets de son mandat. Le BSIF charge des experts-conseils de consulter des cadres supérieurs du milieu des services financiers depuis 1998 afin de recueillir leur opinion de son efficacité à titre d'instance de réglementation et de surveillance.

La consultation a consisté en une série d'entrevues confidentielles auprès de cadres dirigeants rattachés à un échantillon représentatif des institutions de dépôts réglementées par le BSIF. Sage Research Corporation a choisi et interviewé le groupe de répondants sans l'intervention du BSIF. Les résultats de la consultation sont de nature qualitative et présentés sous forme sommaire pour ne pas révéler l'identité des participants.

Le BSIF inspire des impressions positives dans l'ensemble. Il est considéré comme accessible, réceptif et professionnel. Les répondants lui ont reconnu d'autres grandes qualités et sont d'avis notamment qu'il veille efficacement à la solidité du secteur canadien des institutions de dépôts, que ses communications sont ouvertes et constructives, et qu'il noue de bonnes relations de travail avec les institutions financières qu'il réglemente.

Si les répondants perçoivent que le BSIF s'acquitte bien de son mandat globalement, la consultation a néanmoins mis en lumière des améliorations possibles. Le BSIF est reconnaissant aux répondants de leurs observations, et il a élaboré des plans d'action pour procéder aux améliorations proposées. Les études futures seront l'occasion de contrôler les progrès accomplis en ce sens et la qualité des correctifs.

Le texte complet du rapport peut être consulté sur le site Web de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la méthodologie ou les résultats de la consultation, prière d'adresser un courriel à information@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.

Le mandat du BSIF consiste à protéger les déposants, les souscripteurs, les créanciers des institutions financières et les participants des régimes de retraite, en tenant compte de la nécessité pour ceux-ci de faire face à la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.