Overview of the Financial Institutions Survey Findings

In the fall of 2014, the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) commissioned Environics Research Group, an independent research firm, to conduct a confidential survey with executives of the financial institutions that OSFI regulates. The primary objective was to assess OSFI’s performance as a prudential regulator and supervisor. Additional questions were added this year specific to small- and mid-sized (SMS) institutions.

The questionnaire was administered via an on-line survey, and all active financial institutions regulated by OSFI were invited to participate. The report presents the responses in summary form; OSFI does not know how specific institutions responded.

Overall impressions of OSFI as a regulator and supervisor are positive in nearly all areas. Most of the results from the 2014-15 survey are comparable or better than results from the previous study conducted in 2012-13. The highest positive ratings in 2014-15 pertain to overall satisfaction with OSFI and its effectiveness in supervising financial institutions, consistent with previous survey results.

Areas for improvement identified by respondents relate to scalability of guidance for small- and mid-sized institutions. OSFI will build on the work of its SMS advisor to address these concerns.

OSFI appreciates the feedback provided respondents to this consultation.  In addition to the Financial Institutions Survey, which is conducted every two years, we will continue undertaking in-depth, industry sector consultationsFootnote 1 to augment monitoring of our performance and implement improvements, as required.

Created in 1987 by an Act of Parliament, OSFI is the primary regulator and supervisor of federally regulated deposit-taking institutions, insurance companies, and federally regulated private pension plans. OSFI’s mandate is to advance and administer a regulatory framework that contributes to public confidence in a strong, stable and competitive financial system.

For further information about the study methodology or the results, please send an e-mail to information@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.

April 2015

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Deposit-Taking Institutions Sector Consultation; Property and Casualty Sector Consultation; Life Insurance Sector Consultation. http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca/Eng/osfi-bsif/rep-rap/srv-sdg/Pages/default.aspx

Return to footnote 1

Aperçu des constatations du sondage auprès des institutions financières

À l’automne 2014, le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) a chargé le Groupe de recherche Environics, un cabinet de recherche indépendant, d’effectuer un sondage confidentiel auprès des membres de la haute direction des institutions financières qu’il réglemente afin de recueillir leur opinion sur la qualité de ses activités de réglementation et de surveillance prudentielles. Cette année, le sondage comptait aussi des questions propres aux institutions de petite ou moyenne taille.

Le sondage a consisté en un questionnaire administré en ligne, et toutes les institutions financières actives que réglemente le BSIF ont été invitées à y participer. Le rapport résume les réponses au sondage, et le BSIF n’est pas au courant des réponses individuelles de chaque institution.

Les répondants avaient une opinion positive de pratiquement tous les aspects des fonctions de réglementation et de surveillance exercées par le BSIF. La plupart des résultats du sondage de 2014-2015 sont comparables ou supérieurs à ceux du sondage mené en 2012-2013. Les notes les plus élevées obtenues en 2014-2015 concernent la satisfaction globale à l’égard du BSIF et la satisfaction à l’égard de l’efficacité de ses activités de surveillance des institutions financières, ce qui est comparable aux résultats des sondages précédents.

Les répondants ont également souligné les aspects du BSIF à améliorer, soit l’adaptation des consignes aux institutions de petite ou moyenne taille. Le BSIF tablera sur le travail du conseiller auprès des institutions de petite ou moyenne taille pour donner suite à ces préoccupations.

Le BSIF est reconnaissant aux participants de leurs observations. En plus de mener le sondage auprès des institutions financières tous les deux ans, il continuera de consulter en profondeur des segments du secteur des services financiers Note de bas de page 1 pour recueillir un plus grand nombre d’impressions sur la qualité de ses activités et les améliorer au besoin.

Constitué en 1987 en vertu d’une loi du Parlement, le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est le principal organisme de réglementation et de surveillance des institutions de dépôts, des sociétés d’assurances et des régimes de retraite privés fédéraux. Il lui incombe de promouvoir et d’administrer un cadre de réglementation favorisant un système financier sûr, solide, concurrentiel et apte à soutenir la confiance du public.

Pour en savoir plus au sujet de la méthodologie du sondage ou de ses résultats, faites parvenir un courriel à information@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.

Avril 2015

Note de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Consultations auprès des secteurs des institutions de dépôts, des assurances multirisques et de l’assurance-vie (http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca/fra/osfi-bsif/rep-rap/srv-sdg/Pages/default.aspx).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1