Overview of the Pension Plans Survey Findings

In the fall of 2014, the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) commissioned Harris/Decima, an independent research firm, to conduct a confidential, on-line survey with administrators and professional advisors of active private pension plans regulated by OSFI. The primary objective was to assess OSFI’s performance and to collect suggestions for improvement.

Harris/Decima provided OSFI with a report presenting the results from the survey in summary form; OSFI does not know how specific administrators and professional advisors responded.

The results from the 2014 survey are comparable to those from the previous study conducted in 2011. High positive ratings pertain to effectiveness in supervising plans, guidance that provides a clear indication of OSFI’s expectations, satisfaction with the processing of approval applications and being able to communicate in the official language of choice.

Areas for improvement relate to timeliness in responding to enquiries, usefulness of the information available from the pensions area of OSFI’s website and effectiveness of the Regulatory Reporting System (RRS) training materials.

OSFI appreciates the feedback provided by respondents to this consultation and has developed an action plan to address some of the areas identified for improvement. Future consultations will monitor OSFI’s overall effectiveness and progress in addressing areas for improvement.

Established in 1987 to contribute to the safety and soundness of the Canadian financial system, the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is an independent agency of the Government of Canada, and carries out a mandate designed to protect depositors, policyholders, creditors and pension plan beneficiaries.

For further information about the study methodology or the results, please send an e-mail to information@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.

Aperçu des résultats du sondage auprès des régimes de retraite privés

À l’automne 2014, le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) a chargé le cabinet de recherche indépendant Harris/Décima d’effectuer un sondage confidentiel en ligne auprès des administrateurs et des conseillers professionnels des régimes de retraite privés actifs qu’il réglemente. Le principal but visé était de faire le point sur le rendement du BSIF et de recueillir des suggestions sur des améliorations possibles de ses activités.

Harris/Décima a présenté au BSIF un rapport qui résume les résultats du sondage. Le BSIF n’a pas connaissance des réponses données par les administrateurs et les conseiller professionnels particuliers.

Les résultats du sondage de 2014 sont comparables à ceux de l’étude précédente effectuée en 2011. Le BSIF s’est vu attribuer de fortes cotes positives pour les critères suivants : efficacité de la surveillance des régimes, consignes qui indiquent clairement les attentes du BSIF, satisfaction à l’égard du traitement des demandes d’agrément et capacité de communiquer dans la langue officielle de son choix.
Les facteurs suivants se prêtent à amélioration : rapidité avec laquelle le BSIF répond aux demandes de renseignements, utilité de l’information disponible dans la section du site Web du BSIF réservée aux régimes de retraite et efficacité du matériel de formation sur le Système de déclaration réglementaire.

Le BSIF est reconnaissant aux répondants de leurs commentaires, et il a élaboré un plan d’action dans l’intention de donner suite à leurs recommandations concernant certaines des améliorations possibles. Les consultations futures porteront sur l’efficacité globale du BSIF et les progrès réalisés en vue d’effectuer les améliorations recommandées.

Établi en 1987 dans le but de rehausser la sûreté et la solidité du système financier canadien, le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est un organisme indépendant du gouvernement du Canada. Il a pour mandat de protéger les déposants, les souscripteurs, les créanciers et les bénéficiaires de régimes de retraite.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la méthode de sondage ou les résultats, veuillez faire parvenir un courriel à l’adresse information@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.