Pension Plan Administrators

Subscribe to Pension News

Quick Links

Regulatory Reporting System

Newsletter

InfoPensions Newsletters

OSFI supervises federally regulated pension plans and Pooled Registered Pension Plans (PRPPs) and intervenes in a timely manner to protect members and beneficiaries of pension plans from loss, while recognizing that plan administrators are responsible for the plan's management and that pension plans can experience financial and funding difficulties that can result in the reduction of expected benefits.

Read more

OSFI supervises private pension plans and PRPPs covering employees in federally regulated areas of employment to determine whether the plans meet the minimum funding requirements and are complying with legislative and supervisory requirements. OSFI promptly advises plan administrators when problems are identified, and works with the administrator to ensure the necessary corrective measures are taken to deal with the situation as rapidly as possible.

Administrators should be mindful of their fiduciary responsibilities and the standard of care required by section 8 of the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985 and section 22 of the Pooled Registered Pension Plans Act.

Recently Posted

Administrateurs de régime de retraite

Le BSIF surveille les régimes de retraite fédéraux et les régimes de pension agréés collectifs (RPAC), et il intervient en temps et lieu pour éviter que les participants et les prestataires subissent des pertes, tout en reconnaissant qu'en dernière instance, la responsabilité de la gestion du régime incombe à l'administrateur et que les difficultés financières et les problèmes de capitalisation peuvent entraîner une baisse des prestations prévues.

En savoir plus

Le BSIF encadre les régimes de retraite privés et les RPAC des personnes qui travaillent dans les secteurs de compétence fédérale afin de vérifier le respect des normes de capitalisation minimale, des exigences législatives et des paramètres contrôlés par les surveillants. Lorsqu'un problème se manifeste, le BSIF le signale immédiatement à l'administrateur du régime et l'aide à prendre les mesures qui s'imposent pour corriger la situation dans les meilleurs délais.

L'administrateur doit garder à l'esprit les obligations fiduciaires et la norme de soin que lui imposent l'article 8 de la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension et l'article 22 de la Loi sur les régimes de pension agréés collectifs.

Nouveautés à signaler