Pension Plan Members

Private pension plans provide an important source of retirement income for members and their families. Employers generally set up pension plans voluntarily; however, once a pension plan is established, it must be funded and administered in compliance with applicable tax and pension laws.

Registered private pension plans are classified either as defined contribution plans or defined benefit plans. It is important that you determine which type of plan you have, since this affects the kind of pension benefits you will receive.

Read more

In a defined contribution plan, the employer contributions and employee contributions (if any) are defined and the amount of pension income that the member receives upon retirement is determined largely by the amount of contributions and investment income accumulated prior to a member's retirement. These contributions are often a fixed percentage of an employee's annual earnings and are deposited monthly in an individual account in the member's name. Investment earnings are credited to this account. Defined contribution plans are sometimes referred to as money purchase plans.

A defined benefit plan provides members with a defined pension income when they retire. This benefit usually depends on factors such as years of membership in the pension plan and the member's salary and not on the investment returns of the plan fund. Different types of formulas can be used to calculate a member's benefit.

In a pooled registered pension plan (PRPP), employer contributions (if any) and member contributions are defined. PRPPs are provided by licensed administrators to employees of multiple employers and to self-employed persons. Contributions are often a fixed percentage of the member's annual earnings and are deposited monthly in an individual account in the member's name. Investment earnings are credited to this account.

For information about costs and fees of PRPPs, please see the Pooled Registered Pension Plan cost comparison table on the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada's website.

Publications

Type Title Year
Guide Disclosure Requirements for Defined Contribution Pension Plans 2016
Guide Disclosure Requirements for Defined Benefit Pension Plans 2016
Guide Pension Members’ Guide 2016
Notice Status of the Eastern Canada Car Carriers Pension Plan and the Canadian Auto Carriers & Logistics Pension Plan 2016
InfoPensions Newsletter Portability and Annuity Purchases by Members 2015
Guideline CAPSA's Guideline No. 8 – Defined Contribution Plans Guideline 2014
Guideline CAPSA Guideline No. 3 - Guidelines for Capital Accumulation Plans 2004

Participants de régimes de retraite

Les régimes de retraite privés constituent une importante source de revenu de retraite pour les participants et leur famille. En règle générale, les employeurs établissent volontairement des régimes de retraite. Cependant, une fois un régime établi, il doit être capitalisé et administré conformément aux lois sur les pensions et aux lois fiscales.

Les régimes de retraite privés agréés sont soit des régimes à cotisations déterminées, soit des régimes à prestations déterminées. Il est important de connaître le type de régime auquel vous participez, car le genre de prestations de retraite que vous recevrez en dépend.

En savoir plus

Dans le cas d'un régime à cotisations déterminées, les cotisations de l'employeur et celles de l'employé (le cas échéant) sont définies, et le montant du revenu de pension que le participant touche à la retraite dépend en bonne partie du montant des cotisations et du revenu de placement accumulés avant sa retraite. Ces cotisations correspondent souvent à un pourcentage fixe des gains annuels de l'employé et sont déposées chaque mois dans un compte individuel immatriculé à son nom. Les revenus de placement sont crédités à ce compte.

Un régime de retraite à prestations déterminées assure un revenu déterminé à ses participants lorsqu'ils prennent leur retraite. Le calcul des prestations du participant est normalement fondé sur des facteurs comme le nombre d'années durant lesquelles il a participé au régime et son salaire; il ne dépend pas du rendement des placements des actifs de la caisse de retraite. Divers types de formules peuvent servir à calculer la prestation du participant.

Dans le cas d'un régime de pension agréé collectif (RPAC), les cotisations de l'employeur (le cas échéant) et celles des participants sont définies. Les RPAC sont offerts par des administrateurs agréés aux employés de multiples employeurs et aux travailleurs indépendants. Ces cotisations correspondent souvent à un pourcentage fixe des gains annuels de l'employé et sont déposées chaque mois dans un compte individuel immatriculé à son nom. Les revenus de placement sont crédités à ce compte.

Vous trouverez des précisions sur les frais liés aux régimes de pension agréés collectifs (RPAC) dans un tableau à cet effet sur le site Web de l'Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada.

Publications

Type Titre Année
Guide Exigences de divulgation visant les régimes de retraite à cotisations déterminées 2016
Guide Exigences de divulgation visant les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées 2016
Guide Guide des participants des régimes de retraite 2016
Avis État du Régime de retraite de Eastern Canada Car Carriers et du Régime de retraite de Canadian Auto Carriers & Logistics 2016
Bulletin InfoPensions Transfert et achat de rentes par les participants 2015
Ligne directrice ACOR - Ligne directrice No. 8 sur les régimes de retraite à cotisations déterminées 2014
Ligne directrice ACOR - Ligne directrice No. 3 - Lignes directrices pour les régimes de capitalisation (PDF, 305 ko) 2004