Bank of Canada and OSFI launch pilot project on climate risk scenarios

The Bank of Canada and the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) today announced plans for a pilot project to use climate-change scenarios to better understand the risks to the financial system related to a transition to a low-carbon economy. A small group of institutions from the banking and insurance sectors will participate voluntarily in the project.

Building on previous work on climate-change scenarios for the global economy, the Bank and OSFI will first develop a set of climate-change scenarios that are relevant for Canada. Using these scenarios, participants will explore the potential risk exposures of their balance sheets. The Bank and OSFI will publish a report, planned for the end of 2021, sharing details on the specific scenarios, methodology, assumptions and key sensitivities.

This project is not intended to serve as an assessment of individual financial institutions’ exposure to climate-related risks or the broader financial sector’s resilience to transition risks. Further, the selection of project participants is not an endorsement of their current approaches to the management or disclosure of climate risks.

La Banque du Canada et le BSIF lancent un projet pilote sur des scénarios de risques liés aux changements climatiques

La Banque du Canada et le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) ont annoncé aujourd’hui des plans en vue de mener un projet pilote visant à utiliser des scénarios liés aux changements climatiques pour mieux comprendre les risques pesant sur le système financier associés au passage à une économie à faibles émissions de carbone. Un petit groupe d’institutions représentant des banques et des compagnies d’assurance participeront au projet.

En s’appuyant sur des travaux existants sur des scénarios pour l’économie mondiale, la Banque et le BSIF commenceront par mettre au point un ensemble de scénarios adaptés au Canada. À l’aide de ces scénarios, les participants exploreront les possibles expositions au risque de leurs bilans. La Banque et le BSIF publieront, vers la fin de 2021 selon le calendrier actuel, un rapport présentant plus en détail les scénarios établis, la méthodologie, les hypothèses et les principales sensibilités.

Le projet ne vise pas à évaluer l’exposition individuelle aux risques liés au climat des institutions financières ni la résilience face aux risques de transition du secteur financier dans son ensemble. De plus, le choix des participants ne constitue pas une validation de leurs approches en place en matière de gestion ou de communication des risques liés aux changements climatiques.