Notice: OSFI offers technical briefing for analysts on COVID-19 related regulatory measures announced for deposit-taking institutions (DTIs)

April 15, 2020

On Thursday, April 16 at 11:00 a.m. (ET), the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) will offer a technical briefing for analysts on COVID-19 related regulatory measures announced for deposit-taking institutions.

Over the last several weeks, OSFI has announced a series of measures to support the resilience of federally regulated financial institutions and private pension plans as they navigate the challenges posed by COVID-19 and current market conditions.

  1. On April 9, OSFI announced further regulatory adjustments to support the financial and operational resilience of federally regulated banks, and insurance companies. The measures focus primarily on capital adequacy requirements for these institutions as well as changes in their reporting requirements.
  2. On March 30, OSFI issued direction on how federally regulated deposit-taking institutions should treat new capital made available to small and medium sized enterprises through recently announced government programs.
  3. On March 27, OSFI announced specific measures to provide regulatory flexibility to federally regulated financial institutions and private pension plans. This included details on how OSFI is adjusting a number of regulatory capital, liquidity and reporting requirements.
  4. On March 13, OSFI announced the lowering of its Domestic Stability Buffer (DSB) to 1%. OSFI did this to increase the supply of credit to the economy to provide more than $300 billion of additional lending capacity. OSFI also announced the suspension of all consultations and policy development on new or revised guidance, including the new proposed benchmark rate for uninsured mortgages.

OSFI officials will be available to analysts by teleconference on Thursday, April 16 at 11:00 a.m. (ET) to respond to technical questions about these recently announced measures.

CLICK HERE to register for the teleconference. Registration closes on April 15 at 6:00 p.m. (ET). Capacity for this call is limited.

We welcome questions in advance and will be answering them in the order received. Please send your questions to Questions@osfi-bsif.gc.ca by April 15 at 6:00 p.m. (ET)

Le BSIF tiendra une séance d’information technique à l’intention des analystes au sujet des mesures réglementaires liées à la COVID-19 auxquelles doivent souscrire les institutions de dépôts

Le 15 avril 2020

Le jeudi 16 avril à 11 h (HE), le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) tiendra une séance d’information technique à l’intention des analystes au sujet des mesures réglementaires liées à la COVID-19 auxquelles doivent souscrire les institutions de dépôts (ID).

Au cours des dernières semaines, le BSIF a annoncé une série de mesures visant à soutenir la résilience des régimes de retraite privés et des institutions financières de compétence fédérale en réponse aux défis découlant de la COVID-19 et de la conjoncture actuelle.

  1. Le 9 avril, le BSIF a annoncé des mesures d’assouplissement supplémentaires quant à certaines de ses attentes réglementaires dans le but de contribuer à la résilience financière et opérationnelle des banques et sociétés d’assurance de compétence fédérale. Ces mesures portent surtout sur les normes de fonds propres que doivent observer ces institutions et modifient les exigences de déclaration auxquelles elles sont assujetties.
  2. Le 30 mars, le BSIF annonçait les mesures que devaient prendre les institutions de dépôts fédérales à l’égard des nouveaux fonds propres mis à la disposition des petites et moyennes entreprises dans le cadre des programmes gouvernementaux récemment annoncés.
  3. Le 27 mars, le BSIF annonçait l’assouplissement de certaines attentes réglementaires à l’égard des régimes de retraite privés et des institutions financières de compétence fédérale. Ces mesures porteront notamment sur les exigences en matière de fonds propres, de liquidités et de production de relevés et déclarations.
  4. Le 13 mars, le BSIF annonçait qu’il abaissait la réserve pour stabilité intérieure (RSI) et la fixait à 1 %. Ce faisant, il a augmenté l’offre de crédit sur le marché et accru de plus de 300 milliards de dollars la capacité de prêt des institutions prêteuses. Du même souffle, il a annoncé la suspension de toutes les consultations et activités d’élaboration ou de révision de consignes, y compris en ce qui a trait au nouveau taux de référence proposé à l’égard de l’admissibilité aux prêts hypothécaires non assurés.

Le BSIF tiendra une conférence téléphonique le jeudi 16 avril à 11 h (HE), dans le cadre de laquelle ses spécialistes répondront aux questions techniques des analystes.

Vous avez jusqu’à 18 h (HE) le 15 avril pour vous inscrire à la conférence. À noter que le nombre de participants est limité.

Vous pouvez envoyer vos questions à l’avance et nous y répondrons dans l’ordre dans lequel nous les aurons reçues. Prière d’adresser vos questions à Questions@osfi-bsif.gc.ca avant 18 h (HE) le 15 avril.