Frequently Asked Questions

Request form to use restricted words in the name of a company or business

Name requests

  1. Why am I being asked to submit this request form?

    Federal, provincial and territorial company registries are responsible for approving company and business names under the applicable legislation.

    Sometimes, however, a proposed name may include words that are restricted by other legislation in Canada.

    Section 983 of the Bank Act and sections 47 of the Trust and Loan Companies Act and the Insurance Companies Act ("the name restrictions") prohibit the use of specific words ("restricted words") in a business or company name, subject to certain exceptions.

    The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions ("OSFI") is responsible for administering these name restrictions. You likely have been asked to contact OSFI about your proposed name because it may contain such restricted words.

  2. What does OSFI consider when I submit my request form?

    OSFI will review your request to determine if an exception is available for your company or business, based on the nature of the company or business and its business activities.

  3. What will OSFI provide me, after it reviews my request?

    OSFI will provide you with a letter approving your request, if your company or business qualifies for an exception in the applicable Act. If your company or business doesn't qualify for an exception, then OSFI will provide you with a letter denying your request.

  4. How long will it take for OSFI to review my request?

    OSFI aims to provide a response to routine requests within 30 calendar days. If your request is non-routine or requires additional information, it may take longer. It is important to provide clear and complete answers to the questions on the request form, to help OSFI provide a response in a timely manner.

  5. What words are restricted?

    Words restricted by the Bank Act:

    The words "bank", "banker", "banking" are restricted. Other words may also be restricted, such as "banc", "mybank" and "bancorp". For more information, see OSFI's Advisory 2017-01 – Restrictions on the use of the words "bank", "banker" and "banking".

    Words restricted by the Insurance Companies Act:

    The words "assurance", "assurances", "insurance" or "lifeco" ("listed insurance words") are restricted. Other words may also be restricted, such as "annuity" and "indemnity", since OSFI considers them to be of import equivalent to the listed insurance words.

    Words restricted by the Trust and Loan Companies Act:

    The words "fiduciaire", "fiduciary", "fiducie", "trust", "trustco" "loan", "loanco" or "prêt" ("listed trust and loan words") are restricted words. Other words may also be restricted, such as "lenders", since OSFI considers them to be of import equivalent to the listed trust and loan words.

  6. Are any exceptions available?

    Yes. A common exception is the one available for companies or businesses who are not engaged in any financial activities (the "non-financial activity exception"). For example, businesses that are generally permitted to use the word "bank" in their name include blood banks and food banks, where their business activities are not financial in nature. The reason we ask you to provide a complete list of business activities, is so that we can determine if an exception is available to the company or business.

  7. Why does OSFI ask for a list of the future business activities of my company?

    A company that is currently allowed to use a restricted word in its name based on the non-financial activity exception, may become non-compliant with the legislation if it engages in financial activities in the future. That is why it is important to tell us about all of the future business activities for your company or business.

  8. Do the name restrictions apply to all companies and business in Canada?
    • The Bank Actname restrictions apply to all companies and businesses in Canada, including unincorporated businesses, partnerships, federal, provincial and territorial companies. These restrictions also apply to trade names used by a company or business.
    • The name restrictions in the Trust and Loan Companies Actand the Insurance Companies Actapply only to federal companies.
  9. Has OSFI published any guidance about the name restrictions?

    OSFI has published guidance about the name restrictions under the Bank Act: Advisory 2017-01 – Restrictions on the use of the words "bank", "banker" and "banking".

  10. How do I submit the request form or obtain other information about the name restrictions?
    • Email requests:

      name-denomination@osfi-bsif.gc.ca

    • Regular mail requests:

      Managing Director, Legislative Policy, Interpretations and Compliance
      Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions
      255 Albert Street
      Ottawa, Canada
      K1A 0H2

Foire aux questions

Formulaire de demande d’utilisation de termes réglementés dans une dénomination sociale

Demandes de dénomination sociale

  1. Pourquoi dois-je soumettre ce formulaire de demande?

    Les registres fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux des entreprises sont chargés d’approuver les dénominations sociales en vertu de la loi qui s’y applique.

    Il peut toutefois arriver qu’une dénomination proposée puisse comprendre des termes qui sont réglementés par d’autres lois au Canada.

    L’article 983 de la Loi sur les banques et les articles 47 de la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt et de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances (« restrictions ») interdisent l’utilisation de mots désignés (« termes réglementés ») dans la dénomination sociale, sous réserve de certaines exceptions.

    Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (« BSIF ») est responsable de l’administration de ces restrictions. Vous avez probablement été invité à communiquer avec le BSIF au sujet de la dénomination que vous proposez parce qu’il pourrait contenir des termes réglementés.

  2. Sur quoi porte l’examen par le BSIF du formulaire que je soumets?

    Le BSIF examinera votre demande pour déterminer si une exception peut être accordée à votre entreprise, selon sa nature et ses activités commerciales.

  3. Que recevrai-je du BSIF une fois que ma demande aura été examinée?

    Le BSIF vous enverra une lettre d’approbation de votre demande si votre entreprise est admissible à une exception à la loi applicable. Si votre entreprise n’est pas admissible à une exception, le BSIF vous enverra une lettre de refus.

  4. Combien de temps faudra-t-il au BSIF pour examiner ma demande?

    Le BSIF vise à fournir une réponse aux demandes courantes dans un délai de 30 jours civils. Si votre demande est inhabituelle ou nécessite des renseignements supplémentaires, elle pourrait être plus longue à traiter. Il est important de fournir des réponses claires et complètes aux questions du formulaire de demande afin d’aider le BSIF à y répondre le plus rapidement possible.

  5. Quels termes sont réglementés?

    Termes réglementés en vertu de la Loi sur les banques :

    Les termes « banque », « banquier » et « bancaire » sont réglementés. D'autres termes peuvent également être réglementés, tels que « banq », « mabanque » et, en anglais, « bancorp ». Voir le Préavis 2017-01 – Restrictions d’utilisation des termes « banque », « banquier » et « bancaire » du BSIF.

    Termes réglementés en vertu de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances :

    Les termes « assurance », « assurances », « insurance » ou « lifeco » (termes assurantiels désignés) sont réglementés. D'autres termes peuvent également être réglementés, tels que « rente » et « indemnité », puisque le BSIF considère qu’il s’agit d’équivalents des termes d’assurance désignés.

    Termes réglementés en vertu de la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt :

    Les termes « fiduciaire », « fiduciary », « fiducie », « trust », « trustco », « loan », « loanco » ou « prêt » (termes de fiducie et de prêt désignés) sont réglementés. D'autres termes peuvent également être réglementés, tels que « prêteurs », puisque le BSIF considère qu’il s’agit d’équivalents des termes de fiducie et de prêt désignés.

  6. Des exceptions peuvent-elles être accordées?

    Oui. Une exception courante est celle offerte aux entreprises qui ne se livrent à aucune activité financière (l’« exception relative aux activités non financières »). Par exemple, les entreprises qui sont généralement autorisées à utiliser le terme « banque » dans leur dénomination comprennent les banques de sang et les banques alimentaires, dont les activités ne sont pas de nature financière. Si le BSIF vous demande de fournir une liste complète de vos activités commerciales, c’est pour qu’il puisse déterminer si une exception peut être accordée à votre entreprise.

  7. Pourquoi le BSIF demande-t-il une liste des activités commerciales futures de mon entreprise?

    Une entreprise qui est actuellement autorisée à utiliser un terme réglementé dans sa dénomination en raison de l’exception relative aux activités non financières peut devenir non conforme à la loi si elle se livre à des activités financières à l’avenir. C’est pourquoi il est important d’indiquer toutes les activités commerciales futures de votre entreprise.

  8. Les restrictions relatives à la dénomination s’appliquent-elles à toutes les entreprises au Canada?
    • Les restrictions relatives à la dénomination prévues dans la Loi sur les banques s’appliquent à toutes les entreprises au Canada, y compris les entreprises non constituées en société, les sociétés de personnes, les sociétés fédérales, provinciales et territoriales. Ces restrictions s’appliquent également aux noms commerciaux utilisés par une entreprise.
    • Les restrictions relatives à la dénomination prévues dans la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt et dans la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances ne s’appliquent qu’aux sociétés fédérales.
  9. Le BSIF a-t-il publié des consignes sur les restrictions relatives à la dénomination?

    Le BSIF a publié des consignes sur les restrictions relatives à la dénomination en vertu de la Loi sur les banques Préavis 2017-01 – Restrictions d’utilisation des termes « banque », « banquier » et « bancaire ».

  10. Comment soumettre le formulaire de demande ou obtenir d’autres renseignements sur les restrictions relatives à la dénomination?
    • Par courriel :
      name-denomination@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
    • Par le courrier ordinaire :
      Directeur général, Politique, interprétations et conformité législatives
      Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières
      255, rue Albert
      Ottawa, Canada
      K1A 0H2