Domestic Stability Buffer

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication:  Letter
  • Date: June 25, 2018
  • To: Domestic Systemically Important Banks (D-SIBs)
  • Reference: Guideline for Banks (D-SIBs)

OSFI is providing greater transparency to the market surrounding the Domestic Stability Buffer currently held by D-SIBs against Pillar 2 risks associated with systemic vulnerabilities. OSFI is of the view that increased transparency will support banks’ ability to use this capital buffer in times of stress by increasing the market’s understanding of the purpose of the buffer and how it should be used.

Purpose & Design

The Domestic Stability Buffer applies only to D-SIBs and is intended to cover a range of systemic vulnerabilities that, in OSFI’s supervisory judgement, are not adequately captured in the Pillar 1 capital requirements described in OSFI’s Capital Adequacy Requirements (CAR) Guideline. Decisions on the calibration of the buffer are based on supervisory judgement, informed by analytical work on a range of vulnerabilities, and are made in consultation with the Financial Institutions Supervisory CommitteeFootnote 1.

Calibration

The level of the buffer will range between 0 and 2.5% of a bank’s total risk-weighted assets (RWA), calculated under the CAR Guideline. The level will be the same for all D-SIBs and must be met with Common Equity Tier 1 (CET1) capital only. The buffer is currently set at 1.5% of total RWA.

The specific vulnerabilities covered by the buffer are expected to evolve over time. The decision to include a vulnerability will be based on whether it is measureable, material, cyclical and has a system-wide impact that could materialize in the foreseeable future.

The set of vulnerabilities currently addressed by the buffer include: (i) Canadian consumer indebtedness; (ii) asset imbalances in the Canadian market; and (iii) Canadian institutional indebtedness.

OSFI will undertake a review of the buffer on a semi-annual basis, in June and December, and any changes to the buffer will be made public, along with supporting rationale. In exceptional circumstances, OSFI may make and announce adjustments to the buffer in-between scheduled review dates. The first review will occur in December 2018.

Decreases of the buffer will occur when OSFI identifies that D-SIBs’ exposures to the vulnerabilities have diminished. Increases to the buffer will occur when OSFI is of the view that it would be prudent for D-SIBs to hold additional capital to protect against the identified vulnerabilities. Increases will be subject to a phase-in period; decreases will be effective immediately. 

Capital Planning & Supervisory Intervention

The Domestic Stability Buffer is not a Pillar 1 buffer and breaches will not result in banks being subject to automatic constraints on capital distributions. If a D-SIB breaches the buffer (i.e. dips into the buffer when it has not been released), OSFI will require a remediation plan. Supervisory interventions pursuant to OSFI’s Guide to Intervention would occur in cases where a remediation plan is not produced or executed in a timely manner satisfactory to OSFI.

Banks should continue to take into account the Domestic Stability Buffer in their internal capital planning.  The Domestic Stability Buffer supplements the Pillar 1 buffers (Capital Conservation Buffer, D-SIB surcharge and the Countercyclical Buffer) outlined in Chapter 1 of the CAR Guideline. Banks may also be required to hold additional Pillar 2 capital, as warranted, to address idiosyncratic risks.

Disclosure

Consistent with other capital related disclosures, D-SIBs should include the Domestic Stability Buffer as part of their quarterly public disclosures beginning in the reporting period ending July 31, 2018, and include a brief narrative on any changes to the buffer level. Breaches of the buffer by an individual bank will require public disclosure pursuant to IFRS standards.

Questions concerning the Domestic Stability Buffer can be sent to Catherine Girouard, Director, Capital Division by email at catherine.girouard@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.

Yours truly,

Carolyn Rogers
Assistant Superintendent
Regulation Sector

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Established under section 18 of the OSFI Act, the Financial Institutions Supervisory Committee consists of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions, the Commissioner of the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada, the Governor of the Bank of Canada, the Chief Executive Officer of the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation, and the Deputy Minister of Finance.

Return to footnote 1

Réserve pour stabilité intérieure

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication: Lettre
  • Date : le 25 juin 2018
  • Destinataires : Banques d’importance systémique intérieure (BISi)
  • Renvoi : Ligne directrice à l’intention des banques (BISi)

Le BSIF accroît la transparence de la réserve pour stabilité intérieure que détiennent actuellement les BISi au titre des risques associés aux vulnérabilités systémiques dont il est question dans le deuxième pilier. Le BSIF est d’avis qu’il sera plus facile pour les banques d’avoir recours à cette réserve en cas de crise si le marché comprend mieux l’objet de la réserve et la façon dont les banques devraient les utiliser.

Objet et conception

La réserve de fonds propres au titre de la stabilité intérieure s’applique uniquement aux BISi. Elle a pour but de protéger contre un large éventail de vulnérabilités systémiques qui, selon le BSIF, ne sont pas adéquatement prises en compte dans les exigences du premier pilier de la ligne directrice Normes de fonds propres (NFP). Les décisions de modifier le coefficient de la réserve seront basées sur le jugement professionnel en ce qui a trait à la surveillance, tenant en compte l’analyse de diverses vulnérabilités. Ces décisions seront prises en consultation avec les membres du Comité de surveillance des institutions financièresNote de bas de page 1.

Étalonnage

La réserve sera de l’ordre de 0 à 2,5 % de la valeur totale des actifs pondérés en fonction des risques (APR), calculée selon la ligne directrice NFP. Le niveau de la réserve sera le même pour toutes les BISi (même pourcentage), et devra être constituée exclusivement de fonds propres de catégorie 1 sous forme d’actions ordinaires (CET1). À l’heure actuelle, la réserve est établie à 1,5 % du total des APR. 

Il est attendu que les vulnérabilités spécifiques considérées dans la réserve changeront au fil du temps. Une vulnérabilité donnée sera pris en compte dans la réserve si elle est mesurable, relativement importante et cyclique, et si elle a une incidence systémique qui pourrait se concrétiser dans un futur prévisible.

À l’heure actuelle, les vulnérabilités suivantes sont considérées dans la réserve: (i) l’endettement des consommateurs canadiens, (ii) le déséquilibre des actifs au Canada et (iii) l’endettement corporatif au Canada.

Le BSIF réexaminera la réserve deux fois par an, soit en juin et en décembre et communiquera la modification éventuelle et sa justification au public. Dans des circonstances exceptionnelles, le BSIF pourrait aussi apporter des modifications à la réserve à d’autres moments durant l’année. Le premier examen aura lieu en décembre 2018.

Le BSIF réduira le coefficient de la réserve s’il constate que l’exposition des BISi aux vulnérabilités a diminué. Inversement, il en augmentera le coefficient s’il est d’avis qu’il serait prudent de la part des BISi de détenir plus de fonds propres pour les protéger contre ces risques. Les augmentations seront sujettes à une mise en vigueur progressive, tandis que les réductions seront mises en vigueur sans délai.

Planification des fonds propres et mesures d’intervention

La réserve pour stabilité intérieure n’est pas une réserve au titre du premier pilier. Par conséquent, une banque qui manque à ses obligations relatives à la réserve ne se verra pas automatiquement assujettie à des limites de distribution de fonds propres. En cas de manquement (c.-à-d., si la BISi puise à la réserve avant qu’elle ne soit disponible), le BSIF exigera un plan de mesures correctrices. Si un tel plan n’est pas dressé ou exécuté rapidement et de manière satisfaisante pour le BSIF, des mesures de surveillance prévues dans le guide d’intervention du BSIF seraient prises.

Les banques doivent continuer à tenir compte de la réserve pour stabilité intérieure pour la planification de leurs fonds propres. Cette réserve est un complément à celles du premier pilier (réserve de conservation des fonds propres, supplément applicable aux BISi, réserve contracyclique) qui sont expliquées au chapitre 1 de la ligne directrice NFP. De plus, il se peut que les banques soient requises de détenir des fonds propres additionnels au titre du deuxième pilier, s’il y a lieu, pour se protéger contre les risques qui leur sont spécifiques.

Divulgation

Comme pour les autres divulgations qui concernent les fonds propres, les BISi devraient inclure dans leurs divulgations trimestrielles la réserve pour stabilité intérieure à partir de la période de déclaration qui se termine le 31 juillet 2018, et devraient fournir une explication concise à propos de tout changement au coefficient de la réserve. Si une banque donnée manque à ses obligations relatives à la réserve, elle sera tenue de communiquer publiquement le manquement conformément aux normes IFRS.

Si vous avez des questions à ce sujet, veuillez écrire à Catherine Girouard, directrice, Division des fonds propres, à l’adresse que voici : catherine.girouard@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.

Carolyn Rogers, surintendante auxiliaire
Secteur de la réglementation

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Établi en vertu de l’article 18 de la Loi sur le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières, le Comité de surveillance des institutions financières est formé du surintendant des institutions financières, du commissaire de l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada, du gouverneur de la Banque du Canada, du président de la Société d’assurance‑dépôts du Canada et du sous‑ministre des Finances.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1