OSFI sets Domestic Stability Buffer level at 1.75%

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Letter
  • Date: December 12, 2018
  • To: Domestic Systemically Important Banks (D-SIBs)
  • Reference: Guideline for Banks (D-SIBs)

The purpose of this letter is to inform you that, following its semi-annual review, OSFI has decided to set the level of the Domestic Stability Buffer at 1.75% of total risk-weighted assets, as calculated under the Capital Adequacy Requirements (CAR) Guideline.

This reflects OSFI’s assessment that, on balance, the identified systemic vulnerabilities remain elevated while economic conditions continue to be accommodative. Specific vulnerabilities covered by the buffer continue to include: (i) Canadian consumer indebtedness; (ii) asset imbalances in the Canadian market; and (iii) Canadian institutional indebtedness.

The Domestic Stability Buffer applies only to those federally regulated financial institutions designated as Domestic Systemically Important Banks (D-SIBs)Footnote 1 .

The new Domestic Stability Buffer level of 1.75% of risk-weighted assets is effective as of April 30, 2019.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

As of December 2018, the following federally regulated financial institutions are designated as Domestic Systemically Important Banks: Bank of Montreal, Bank of Nova Scotia, Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce, National Bank of Canada, Royal Bank of Canada, and Toronto-Dominion Bank.

Return to footnote 1

Le BSIF établit la réserve pour stabilité intérieure à 1,75 %

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Lettre
  • Date : Le 12 décembre 2018
  • Destinataires : Banques d’importance systémique intérieure (BISi)
  • Renvoi : Ligne directrice à l’intention des banques (BISi)

Au terme de son examen semestriel, le BSIF a décidé d’établir la réserve de fonds propres pour stabilité intérieure à 1,75 % de la valeur totale des actifs pondérés en fonction du risque, telle que calculée selon la ligne directrice Normes de fonds propres.

Cette décision découle de la conclusion du BSIF qui estime que, tout compte fait, le système financier canadien est encore très vulnérable à certains facteurs de risque alors que les conditions économiques demeurent conciliantes. La réserve pour stabilité intérieure continue de tenir compte de trois facteurs de risque précis : i) l’endettement des consommateurs canadiens, ii) le déséquilibre des actifs au Canada et iii) l’endettement corporatif au Canada.

Seules les institutions financières (banques) dites d’importance systémique intérieure (BISi)Note de bas de page 1 sont tenues de constituer une réserve pour stabilité intérieure.

Le taux de réserve pour stabilité intérieure de 1,75 % de la valeur totale des actifs pondérés en fonction du risque entrera en vigueur le 30 avril 2019.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

En date de décembre 2018, sont dites d’importance systémique intérieure les institutions financières fédérales que voici : Banque de Montréal, Banque Scotia, Banque canadienne impériale de commerce, Banque nationale du Canada, Banque Royale du Canada et Banque Toronto-Dominion.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1