Standard Trust Agreements

Document properties

  • Type of Publication: Letter
  • File: P-4075-6
  • Date: October 22, 2002
  • To:
    • Chief Executive Officers and Chief Agents,
    • Federally Regulated Branches of Foreign Life Insurance and Foreign Fraternal Benefit Societies

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (“OSFI”) has revised the standard form trust agreement (“STA”) used by foreign companies in respect of vested assets in Canada. These changes were required due to the enactment of Bill C-8, the implementation of the Branch Adequacy of Assets Test for foreign property and casualty insurance companies and the coming into force of the amendments to regulations in accordance with section 610 of the Insurance Companies Act.

OSFI will begin using the new revised standard form on November 15, 2002, however its earlier use is encouraged. Existing trust agreements will be grandfathered for foreign life insurance companies and foreign fraternal benefit societies. Companies that wish to make amendments to grandfathered agreements after November 14, 2002 must use the revised standard form.

It should be noted that the structure of the STA was modified to isolate the company specific clauses found in the current STA from the standard terms and conditions. The new shorter STA, (OSFI Form No. 541), will assist us in processing new agreements more efficiently. For information on how to establish a trust agreement please see the enclosed detailed procedures

If you have any questions, please contact Mr. Andrew Peterson at (613) 990-6282 or by fax at (613) 990-2464.

Sincerely,

  • John C. Doran
  • Assistant Superintendent
  • Supervision Sector

Actes de fiducie types

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Lettre
  • Référence : P-4075-6
  • Date : Le 22 octobre 2002
  • À :
    • Chefs de la direction et agents principaux,
    • Succursales fédérales de sociétés d’assurance-vie étrangères et de sociétés de secours mutuels étrangères

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) a révisé l’acte de fiducie type (AFT) utilisé par les assureurs étrangers à l’égard des éléments d’actif placés au Canada. Ces changements ont été motivés par la promulgation du projet de loi C-8, la mise en œuvre du test de suffisance de l’actif des succursales (TSAS) applicable aux sociétés étrangères d’assurances multirisques, et l’entrée en vigueur des modifications apportées à des règlements, aux termes de l’article 610 de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances.

Le BSIF commencera à utiliser le formulaire révisé le 15 novembre 2002; il encourage cependant les utilisateurs à s’en servir plus tôt. L’Acte de fiducie existant continuera de s’appliquer aux sociétés d’assurance-vie étrangères et aux sociétés de secours mutuels étrangères. Les sociétés qui désirent apporter des modifications à ces derniers actes après le 14 novembre 2002 devront utiliser le nouveau formulaire d’acte de fiducie type.

Il convient de noter que la structure de l’AFT a été modifiée pour dissocier les dispositions propres aux sociétés que renferme l’AFT existant des modalités types. Le nouvel acte de fiducie, (Formulaire 541), est plus court que le dernier, ce qui nous aidera à traiter de façon plus efficiente les nouveaux actes. Pour plus d’informations concernant l’approbation des actes de fiducie, veuillez consulter les démarches détaillées attachées.

Veuillez transmettre vos questions à M. Andrew Peterson, au (613) 990-6282 ou par télécopieur, au (613) 990-2464

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur (Madame), l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

  • Le surintendant auxiliaire,
  • Secteur de la surveillance,
  • John C. Doran