Standard Trust Agreements

Document properties

  • Type of Publication: Letter
  • File: P-4075-6
  • Date: October 22, 2002
  • To:
    • Chief Executive Officers and Chief Agents,
    • Federally Regulated Branches of Foreign Property and Casualty Insurance Companies

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (“OSFI”) has revised the standard form trust agreement (STA) used by foreign companies in respect of vested assets in Canada. These changes were required due to the enactment of Bill C-8, the implementation of the Branch Adequacy of Assets Test (“BAAT”) on January 1, 2003 and the coming into force of the amendments to regulations made under section 610 of the Insurance Companies Act.

Certain clauses of the current STA are not compatible with the BAAT. Clause 18 of the current STA provides that the company and the trustee shall make those amendments to the STA that the Superintendent reasonably requires. As a result of the changes to the STA it would be appropriate for foreign property and casualty insurance companies to enter into a new trust agreement using the revised standard form.

It should be noted that the structure of the agreement was modified to isolate the company specific clauses found in the current STA from the standard terms and conditions. The new shorter STA, (OSFI Form No. 541), will assist us in processing the high volume of new agreements expected prior to year-end. For information on how to establish a trust agreement please see the enclosed detailed procedures.

To ensure that all the new agreements are processed prior to December 31, 2002, we require that new agreements be submitted to our office on or before December 1st, 2002. The standard $500 user fee will be waived for all property and casualty companies required to enter into a new trust agreement because their existing agreement is not compatible with the BAAT.

If you have any questions, please contact Mr. Andrew Peterson at (613) 990-6282 or by fax at (613) 990-2464.

Sincerely,

  • John C. Doran
  • Assistant Superintendent
  • Supervision Sector

Actes de fiducie types

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Lettre
  • Référence : P-4075-6
  • Date : Le 22 octobre 2002
  • À :
    • Chefs de la direction et agents principaux,
    • Succursales fédérales de sociétés d’assurances multirisques étrangères

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) a révisé l’acte de fiducie type (AFT) utilisé par les assureurs étrangers à l’égard des éléments d’actif placés au Canada. Ces changements ont été motivés par la promulgation du projet de loi C-8, la mise en œuvre du test de suffisance de l’actif des succursales (TSAS), le 1er janvier 2003, et l’entrée en vigueur des modifications apportées à des règlements, aux termes de l’article 610 de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances.

Certaines dispositions des AFT en vigueur ne sont pas compatibles avec le TSAS. Le paragraphe 18 de l’AFT courant prévoit que la société et le fiduciaire doivent apporter à l’AFT les modifications que le surintendant juge raisonnables. À la suite des modifications apportées à l’AFT, les sociétés d’assurances multirisques étrangères devraient signer un nouvel acte de fiducie à l’aide du formulaire type révisé.

Il convient de noter que la structure de l’acte a été modifiée pour dissocier les dispositions propres aux sociétés que renferme l’AFT existant des modalités types. Le nouvel acte de fiducie, (Formulaire 541), est plus court que le dernier, ce qui nous aidera à traiter le nombre élevé de nouveaux actes avant la fin de l’exercice. Pour plus d’informations concernant l’approbation des actes de fiducie, veuillez consulter les démarches détaillées attachées.

Pour faire en sorte que tous les nouveaux actes soient traités avant le 31 décembre 2002, nous demandons qu’ils soient déposés auprès du BSIF au plus tard le 1er décembre 2002. Les frais d’utilisateur normaux de 500 $ ne seront pas appliqués à toutes les sociétés d’assurances multirisques tenues de signer un nouvel acte de fiducie parce que l’acte existant n’est pas compatible avec le TSAS.

Veuillez transmettre vos questions à M. Andrew Peterson, au (613) 990-6282 ou par télécopieur, au (613) 990-2464.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur (Madame), l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs

  • Le surintendant auxiliaire,
  • Secteur de la surveillance,
  • John C. Doran