ESTABLISHMENT OR TERMINATION OF A TRUST FOR VESTING ASSETS IN CANADA BY A FOREIGN COMPANY (including a foreign fraternal benefit society)

Document properties

Applications should be sent to:

  • Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions
  • Securities Administration Unit
  • 255 Albert Street
  • Ottawa, Ontario
  • K1A 0H2

Comments, suggestions and questions concerning this Instruction Guide should be directed to Andrew Peterson, Securities Compliance Officer, Securities Administration Unit at the same address as above or by telephone at (613) 990-6282

Legislative Authority

  • Sub-section 611 (3) of the Insurance Companies Act

Information Requirements

Establishment of a Trust

In seeking the Superintendent’s approval to enter into a trust agreement the applicant will provide the following:

  • A duly completed OSFI Form No. 541 – Standard Form Trust Agreement (“Form 541”or “Trust Agreement”) in triplicate and in standard format duly signed by the foreign insurance company and the Canadian financial institution that will be acting as trustee.
    • All references to the parties involved in the agreement must use the proper legal name of the entity as found in the incorporating instruments or another acceptable certificate or document indicating the legal name.
    • Clause 2 of the Trust Agreement should refer to the latest published version of the OSFI Form No.542 - Terms and Conditions of Standard Form Trust Agreement (“Form 542”). Please do not file a copy of Form 542, as this is the standard form used by OSFI. Two copies of the signed Trust Agreement, along with originals, as published by the Office, of the referenced version of Form 542, will be returned to the applicant.
    • Form 541 may include amendments to the standard terms and conditions set out in Form 542. OSFI reserves the right to reject all changes requested by the applicants.
    • Applicants that wish to use the services of the “Canadian Depository for Securities Limited” must insert the name of that entity in the spaces provided of clauses 3, 4(d), 5(a) of Form 541. Other book-based systems are not currently permitted by OSFI.
    • Applicants who wish to use other custodians need to enter into a separate custodial agreement and insert the name of the custodian in clause 5(b). Delete paragraph 5(b) if you do not wish to use another custodian. OSFI reserves the right to reject other custodians requested by the applicants.
  • When the trustee is not a federally regulated financial institution, the applicant should ensure that a certified copy of the incorporating instrument including any subsequent amendments or another acceptable certificate or document indicating the legal name is on file with OSFI.
  • A copy of the custodial agreement as referred to in clause 5(b) of Form 541 for our review.

Termination of a Trust by a company

In assessing an application for approval to terminate a trust agreement pursuant to clause 14 (b) of Form 542, OSFI would request the following:

  • Reasons why the company wishes to terminate an agreement.
  • Confirmation that all assets have been transferred out of the trust account(s).

Administrative Guidance

The revised standard forms are available in English and French on the OSFI website at http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca under the “Publications / Practices / Supervisory Practices / Life” icons for Life companies, under “Publications / Practices / Supervisory Practices / Fraternal” icons for Fraternal Benefit Societies under the “Publications / Practices / Supervisory Practices / Property & Casualty” icons for Property and Casualty companies.

If OSFI releases a new version of Form 542, the parties to an existing agreement would continue to be required to comply with the version of Form 542 referenced in clause 2 of the respective Trust Agreement previously signed by the three parties, unless advised otherwise by OSFI pursuant to subparagraph 6(b) of Form 541.

CRÉATION OU CESSATION D'UNE FIDUCIE DANS LAQUELLE UNE SOCIÉTÉ ÉTRANGÈRE (y compris une société de secours mutuel étrangère) EST TENUE DE MAINTENIR DES ÉLÉMENTS D'ACTIF AU CANADA

Les demandes doivent être acheminées à l'adresse suivante :

  • Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières
  • Sous-section de la sécurité des titres
  • 255, rue Albert
  • Ottawa (Ontario)
  • K1A 0H2

Les commentaires, suggestions et questions concernant le présent guide d'instruction doivent être communiqués à Andrew Peterson, analyste de la conformité des valeurs mobilières, sous-section de la sécurité des titres, à l'adresse susmentionnée ou par téléphone au (613) 990-6282.

Texte législatif applicable

  • Paragraphe 611 (3) de la Loi sur les sociétés d'assurances

Renseignements exigés

Création d'une fiducie

Afin de demander au surintendant l'autorisation de conclure un acte de fiducie, le requérant doit fournir les renseignements suivants :

  • Le formulaire BSIF no 541 – Acte de fiducie type (« formulaire 541 » ou « Acte de fiducie ») dûment rempli en trois exemplaires présentés dans le format réglementaire et dûment signés par la société d'assurances étrangère et l'institution financière canadienne qui agira en qualité de fiduciaire.
    • Les parties à l'Acte de fiducie doivent toujours être désignées sous l'appellation légale indiquée dans leurs actes constitutifs ou un autre certificat ou document recevable portant leur dénomination.
    • L'article 2 de l'Acte de fiducie devrait faire mention de la dernière version publiée du formulaire BSIF no 542 – Modalités de l'Acte de fiducie type (« formulaire 542 ») exigé par le BSIF. Vous n'avez pas à produire le formulaire 542, celui-ci servant de formulaire type au BSIF. Le Bureau transmettra au requérant deux exemplaires signés de l’Acte de fiducie approuvé auquel seront joints des originaux, publié par le Bureau, de la version citée du formulaire 542.
    • Le formulaire 541 peut prévoir des modifications aux conditions générales énoncées dans le formulaire 542. Le BSIF se réserve le droit de rejeter toutes les modifications proposées par le requérant.
    • Le requérant qui souhaite faire appel à La Caisse canadienne de dépôt de valeurs Limitée doit inscrire le nom de cette entité à l'article 3 et aux alinéas 4d) et 5a) du formulaire 541. Le BSIF n'autorise pas à l'heure actuelle d'autres systèmes d'inscription en compte.
    • Le requérant qui souhaite faire appel à un autre dépositaire doit conclure un accord distinct de prise en dépôt et inscrire le nom du dépositaire à l'alinéa 5b). Dans le cas contraire, le requérant peut supprimer cet alinéa. Le BSIF se réserve le droit de rejeter les autres choix de dépositaires retenus par les requérants.
  • Dans le cas où le fiduciaire n'est pas une institution financière fédérale, le requérant devrait s'assurer qu'une copie certifiée conforme de l'acte constitutif du fiduciaire, y compris toute modification ultérieure ou tout autre certificat ou document recevable portant sa dénomination, se trouve au dossier du BSIF.
  • Le requérant doit soumettre à l'examen du BSIF une copie de l'accord de prise en dépôt dont il est fait mention à l'alinéa 5b) du formulaire 541.

Cessation d'une fiducie par une société

Pour évaluer une demande visant à mettre fin à un acte de fiducie en vertu de l'alinéa 14b) du formulaire 542, le BSIF exige les renseignements suivants :

  • Un exposé des motifs pour lesquels la société désire mettre fin à l'Acte de fiducie.
  • Un document attestant que tous les éléments d'actif placés dans le(s) compte(s) en fiducie en ont été retirés.

Directives administratives

Vous pouvez vous procurer les versions révisées française et anglaise des actes de fiducie types sur le site web du BSIF (http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca) en cliquant sur « Publications / Pratiques / Pratiques de surveillance / Sociétés d'assurance-vie » pour les sociétés d'assurance-vie, sur « Publications / Pratiques / Pratiques de surveillance / Secours mutuels » pour les sociétés de secours mutuel, ou bien sur « Publications / Pratiques / Pratiques de surveillance / Sociétés d'assurance multirisques » pour les sociétés d'assurance multirisques.

Si le BSIF devait publier une nouvelle version du formulaire 542, les parties à un acte en vigueur seraient tenues de se conformer à la version du formulaire 542 qui est citée à l'article 2 de l'Acte de fiducie signé par les trois parties, sauf instruction contraire du Bureau en vertu de l’alinéa 6b) du formulaire 541.