Guide to Intervention for Federally Regulated Property and Casualty Insurance Companies

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Letter
  • Date: March 8, 2018
  • To: Federally Regulated Property and Casualty Insurance Companies

In February 2018, OSFI released a revised Guide to Intervention for Federally Regulated Property and Casualty Insurance Companies (the “Guide”). It replaces the Supervisory Guide Applicable to Federally Regulated Insurance Companies.

The objective of the Guide is to promote awareness and enhance transparency of the intervention framework for federally regulated property and casualty insurance companies. The Guide:

  • outlines the types of involvement that a federally regulated property and casualty insurance company can normally expect from OSFI and PACICC;
  • summarizes the circumstances under which certain intervention measures may be expected; and,
  • describes the coordination mechanisms in place between OSFI and PACICC.

The Guide states that OSFI has primary responsibility for regulating and supervising federal property and casualty insurance companies. In exercising this responsibility, OSFI conducts risk-based assessments of their safety and soundness. The Guide also explains that PACICC’s role in the intervention process is to protect policyholders by minimizing loss of benefits and ensuring a quick transfer of their policies to a solvent company where their benefits will continue to be honoured.

The Guide is premised on greater information sharing between OSFI and PACICC. This has become possible due to the creation of a new PACICC Board Committee (the Pre-insolvency Regulation Liaison Committee, or PIRL) that is comprised solely of PACICC Directors who are not affiliated with any PACICC member companies (i.e., Public Directors). The members of PIRL are bound by a confidentiality agreement. These membership and confidentiality protections enable OSFI to share confidential information with PIRL.

Questions concerning the revised Guide should be addressed to Judy Cameron, Senior Director, Legislation and Approvals Division at (613) 990-7394 or by email at judy.cameron@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.

  • Carolyn Rogers
  • Assistant Superintendent
  • Regulation Sector

Guide d’intervention auprès des sociétés d’assurances multirisques fédérales

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Lettre
  • Date : Le 8 mars 2018
  • Destinataires : Sociétés d’assurances multirisques fédérales

Le BSIF vient de publier ce mois-ci le Guide d’intervention auprès des sociétés d’assurances multirisques fédérales (le « Guide ») en remplacement du Guide de surveillance s’appliquant aux sociétés d’assurances fédérales.

Le Guide vise à faire connaître le cadre d’intervention qui s’applique aux sociétés et à en accroître la transparence. Plus précisément :

  • il décrit les interventions auxquelles peuvent s’attendre normalement les sociétés de la part du BSIF et de la Société d’indemnisation en matière d’assurances IARD (SIMA);
  • il résume les circonstances dans lesquelles des mesures d’intervention particulières sont prévues;
  • il présente les mécanismes de coordination qui existent entre le BSIF et la SIMA.

Le Guide indique que le BSIF est responsable au premier chef de la réglementation et de la surveillance des sociétés d’assurances multirisques fédérales. Pour s’acquitter de ses responsabilités, le BSIF effectue des évaluations axées sur les risques de la sûreté et de la stabilité des sociétés. Le Guide fait savoir par ailleurs que le rôle de la SIMA en matière d’intervention est d’assurer la protection des souscripteurs en réduisant au minimum les pertes d’indemnités et en assurant le transfert rapide des polices à une société solvable qui veillera à honorer les garanties.

Le Guide est fondé sur la communication accrue de renseignements entre le BSIF et la SIMA grâce à la création d’un nouvel organe de la SIMA, à savoir le Comité de liaison préinsolvabilité avec les organismes de réglementation, qui est composé à part entière d’administrateurs de la SIMA non affiliés aux sociétés membres de celle-ci (soit des administrateurs publics). Les membres du Comité sont tenus à une obligation de confidentialité. Ces protections en matière de participation et de confidentialité permettent au BSIF de communiquer des renseignements confidentiels au Comité.

Les questions au sujet du Guide doivent être adressées à Judy Cameron, directrice principale, Division de la législation et des approbations, par téléphone au numéro 613-990-7394 ou par courriel à l’adresse judy.cameron@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.

Recevez, Madame, Monsieur, nos meilleures salutations.

  • Carolyn Rogers
  • Surintendante auxiliaire
  • Secteur de la réglementation