Guidance for Reinsurance Security Agreements

Document Properties

  • Date: December 2010
  • Audiences: Life / P&C

This Guidance sets out OSFI’s minimum standards with respect to collateral secured through the establishment of a Reinsurance Security Agreement (RSA). It also outlines OSFI’s expectations regarding the operation by companies of the RSA process.

A federally regulated insurance company is generally eligible for a capital/asset credit in respect of unregistered reinsurance if it benefits from collateral held in Canada. In that regard, a capital/asset credit is allowed where ceding companies obtain and maintain a valid and enforceable security interest that has priority over any other security interest in assets of an unregistered reinsurer that are held in Canada. Generally, such a security interest will be obtained by means of a RSA. OSFI will allow a capital/asset credit for RSAs in certain circumstances, including where the following criteria are met:

  • the assets of an unregistered reinsurer are pledged to the ceding company to secure the payment of the potential liabilities of the reinsurer under one or more reinsurance agreements pursuant to a security agreement made under provincial law;
  • the pledged assets are held in Canada (e.g., CDS Clearing and Depository Services Inc.)Footnote 1 by a ‘Collateral Agent’;
  • the ‘Collateral Agent’ is a Canadian financial institution that is not affiliated with the unregistered reinsurer;
  • all documentation is binding on all parties and legally enforceable in all relevant jurisdictions;
  • the ceding company takes all necessary steps to obtain and maintain a valid and enforceable security interest that has priority over any other security interest in the collateral;
  • the legal mechanisms by which the assets are pledged provide that the ceding company has the right to liquidate or take legal possession of these assets, in a timely manner, in the event of default by the reinsurer;
  • if the pledged assets are financial assets to which securities transfer legislation applies, the ‘Collateral Agent’ obtains control of these assets on behalf of the ceding company;
  • in respect of a particular RSA, the ceding company obtains a legal opinion asserting that a valid and enforceable security interest, that has priority over any other security interest in the pledged assets, has been or will be created in its favour for the type of assets covered by the legal opinion (refer to the section below entitled Legal opinion);
  • the credit quality of the reinsurer and the value of the collateral must not have a material positive correlation. For example, securities issued by the reinsurer – or by any related group entity (i.e. obligations of the reinsurer itself, its parent, or one of its subsidiaries or affiliates) – provide little protection and are therefore ineligible; and
  • the ceding company must have clear and robust procedures for the timely liquidation of collateral to ensure that any legal conditions required for declaring the default of the reinsurer and liquidating the pledged assets are observed, and that pledged assets can be liquidated promptly.

Although other conditions may apply to reinsurance with related parties (e.g., Superintendent approvalFootnote 2), no additional specific conditions would apply in respect of security agreements.

OSFI will require ceding companies to negotiate and enter into suitable arrangements and to take all necessary practical and operational measures to obtain and maintain a valid and enforceable security interest in the pledged assets that have priority over any other security interest in these assets. Ceding companies will also have to obtain a legal opinion asserting such an interest has been or will be created in their favour. Further, ceding companies are expected to approve assets offered as pledge or withdrawn. Below are minimum standards for a RSA and legal opinion. Once the legal opinion is obtained by the ceding company, the agreement should be filed on a timely basisFootnote 3 with OSFI’s Securities Administration Unit at:

  • Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions
  • Securities Administration Unit
  • P.O. Box 39
  • 121 King Street West, Suite 1900
  • Toronto, Ontario
  • M5H 3T9

OSFI expects ceding companies to have a Board, or committee of the Board, approved policy requiring management to confirmFootnote 4 to the Board, or committee thereof, from time to time but at a minimum once every two years, that a valid and enforceable security interest that has priority over any other security interest in the pledged assets continues to be created in their favour, including where changes have been made to personal property security legislation or securities transfer legislation in the province or territory where the assets are held.

In addition, OSFI expects ceding companies to include in their policy the types of prudentially acceptable pledged assets and the limits (e.g. credit ratings as outlined in the capital/asset guidelines; counterparty concentrations; foreign denominated securities) as well as the practices and procedures for managing and controlling risks related to pledged assets. In respect of foreign insurance companies with branch operations in Canada, OSFI expects that the Chief Agent will ensure the branch has an approved policy.

Security agreement

OSFI expects that the RSA, at a minimum, will:

  • include a reference to the applicable provincial statute pursuant to which the RSA is made;
  • provide that the pledged assets shall be held in Canada, in a location permitted under the provincial statute pursuant to which the RSA is made;
  • provide for the replacement of the ‘Collateral Agent’, where required;
  • specify events of default, including where:
    • the reinsurer is no longer authorized in its home jurisdiction to carry on the business of reinsurance;
    • a liquidator or receiver of the reinsurer or of any part of the insurance business of the reinsurer is appointed under the provisions of any statute or pursuant to any agreement between the reinsurer and a third party;
    • the reinsurer defaults in its duties and obligations under the RSA and has not remedied such default within a specific time period (e.g., 30 days) after receiving written notice from the ceding company; or
    • an event of default relating to the reinsurer under, and as defined in, the reinsurance agreement has occurred and is continuing;
  • specify remedies and/or rights (e.g., right to sell collateral) upon default;
  • provide that the pledged assets may not be used as part of a securities lending program;
  • provide that the ‘Collateral Agent’ represents that no material conflict of interest exists with respect to the ‘Collateral Agent’s’ role;
  • provide that the pledged assets shall secure the reinsurer’s present and future obligations to the ceding company to pay the reinsurer’s share of any loss or liability or both (including, where required by the reinsurance agreement, any loss or liability on account of claims incurred but not reported) sustained by the ceding company for which the reinsurer is liable under the reinsurance agreement;
  • provide that the reinsurer agrees to deliver to, and maintain with, the ‘Collateral Agent’ as collateral under the RSA assets having a market value at all times at least equal to either a specific amount or an amount determined by a formula;
  • provide that the ‘Collateral Agent’ shall at all times, upon reasonable notice, permit the Superintendent, the reinsurer and the ceding company access, for purposes of examination, to all pledged assets under the RSA and to the records of the ‘Collateral Agent’ in relation thereto, and shall afford to the Superintendent, the reinsurer and the ceding company the same access to the records of any service provider as is exercisable by the ‘Collateral Agent’; and
  • provide that the ‘Collateral Agent’, acting as agent for the ceding company, shall file with OSFI, for and on behalf of the ceding company, a duly completed declaration (see Appendix A for format) together with all the related information as required below.

Legal opinion

For each particular RSA, OSFI expects the following to be included in the accompanying legal opinion addressed to the ceding company:

  • an assertion that the security interest in the pledged assets is valid and enforceable against all other creditors of the unregistered reinsurer, including in the event of insolvency;
  • a reference to the applicable provincial statute pursuant to which the RSA is made;
  • a confirmation of the validity and enforceability of the security interest in the context of the applicable rules governing conflict of lawsFootnote 5;
  • an assertion that this security interest has priority over any other security interest; and
  • as an attachment, a copy of all reinsurance arrangements to which the opinion applies.

The opinion, on which OSFI and the ceding company will be entitled to rely, may be subject to customary qualifications. It must be provided by a lawyer who either has expertise in the area of personal property security legislation in the province where the assets are held or who is reasonably relying on the legal opinions of those who have such expertise. In relation to a particular RSA, where the ceding company approves a new type of asset not already covered by the accompanying legal opinion, OSFI expects that the company will obtain an additional legal opinion asserting that a valid and enforceable security interest has been or will be created in its favour in respect of this new type of asset. Where the foreign company’s Chief Agent is the legal counsel of the company, the foreign company should seek a legal opinion from outside legal counsel. Where a ceding company’s legal opinion is provided by in-house counsel, OSFI expects that the opinion will state that it is provided by counsel in his or her professional capacity as a lawyer and not in any other capacity.

Supervision of Reinsurance Security Agreements

In addition to its expectations regarding content of RSAs, OSFI requires monthly reporting with respect to the market value of assets subject to each RSA. As such, OSFI expects that the ceding company shall, on or before the fifteenth day of each monthFootnote 6, or at such other times as requested by notice in writing to the ceding company, cause its ‘Collateral Agent’ to file with OSFI’s Securities Administration Unit (see address above), the declaration in Appendix A (attached) and an electronic (text format) file and paper copy containing the following information:

  • the market value of individual assets held by the ‘Collateral Agent’ under the specific RSA as at the close of business of the ‘Collateral Agent’s’ last business day in the immediately preceding month;
  • the date of valuation;
  • OSFI’s RSA Identification Code;
  • the name of the security issuer;
  • the “cusip” number, if applicable;
  • the name of the security;
  • the number of units held; and
  • for fixed income securities, the maturity date, yield and coupon rate.

While the filing of such declaration and related information, through the ‘Collateral Agent’, is required for ease of process, such filing shall remain the responsibility of the ceding company.

Implementation

As a matter of best practice, ceding companies are encouraged to take steps to enter into RSAs that meet the requirements of this Guidance as soon as possible. All new agreements should comply with this Guidance beginning July 1, 2011. OSFI expects companies to take all commercially reasonable efforts to replace existing multi-year agreements that do not naturally come up for renewal prior to January 1, 2012. The designated OSFI Relationship Manager will follow each ceding company’s efforts and progress.

Not yet defined
Footnote 1

Foreign depositories are not accepted as assets held by foreign custodians are not considered pledged in Canada.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Pursuant to section 523 or 597 of the Insurance Companies Act.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Within 15 days of the ceding company obtaining a legal opinion asserting that a valid and enforceable security interest has been created in its favour.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

The confirmation should either state that the opinion may still be relied upon or that subsequent changes to legislation do not affect the validity of the opinion or, alternatively, a new opinion can be provided.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

Canadian counsel may elect to request a legal opinion from a lawyer who has expertise in this area in the jurisdiction of the unregistered reinsurer to ensure the security interest is recognized in the foreign jurisdiction.

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

If the fifteenth day is not a business day of the ‘Collateral Agent’, on or before the first business day of the ‘Collateral Agent’ following the fifteenth day.

Return to footnote 6 referrer

Directive sur les contrats de sûreté en réassurance

Propriétés du document

  • Date : Décembre 2010
  • Public : Vie / Multirisques

La présente directive définit les exigences minimales du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) visant les biens reçus en garantie par l’entremise de l’établissement d’un contrat de sûreté en réassurance (CSR). Elle stipule aussi ses attentes en matière de l’application du processus lié aux CSR.

En règle générale, les sociétés d’assurances fédérales sont admissibles à un crédit de capital/d’actifs à l’égard de la réassurance non agréée lorsqu’elles bénéficient d’une garantie sur des biens détenus au Canada. À ce propos, les crédits de capital/d’actifs sont accordés lorsque les sociétés cédantes obtiennent et conservent une sûreté valide et exécutoire ayant priorité sur toute autre sûreté grevant les biens d’un réassureur non agréé qui sont détenus au Canada. Une telle sûreté est généralement obtenue par l’entremise d’un CSR. Le BSIF accordera un crédit de capital/d’actifs pour un CSR sous certaines conditions, notamment lorsque les conditions suivantes sont réunies :

  • les biens d’un réassureur non agréé sont reçus par la cédante en garantie du paiement des obligations éventuelles de ce dernier au titre d’un ou de plusieurs contrats de réassurance, conformément à un contrat de sûreté conclu en vertu d’une loi provinciale;
  • les actifs reçus en garantie sont détenus au Canada (par l’entremise des Services de dépôt et de compensation CDS inc., p. ex.)Note de bas de page 1 par un mandataire;
  • le mandataire est une institution financière canadienne qui n’est pas affiliée au réassureur non agréé;
  • tous les documents lient l’ensemble des parties et sont exécutoires dans l’ensemble des pays ou territoires concernés;
  • la cédante prend toutes les mesures nécessaires pour obtenir et conserver une sûreté valide et exécutoire ayant priorité sur toute autre sûreté grevant les biens reçus en garantie;
  • les mécanismes juridiques prévoyant le nantissement des biens garantissent que la cédante a le droit de réaliser ou de s’approprier légalement ces biens, rapidement, en cas de défaut du réassureur;
  • si les biens reçus en garantie sont des actifs financiers auxquels les lois sur le transfert des valeurs mobilières s’appliquent, le mandataire obtient la maîtrise de ces actifs au nom de la cédante;
  • s’agissant d’un CSR donné, la cédante obtient un avis juridique qui affirme qu’une sûreté réelle valide et exécutoire, ayant priorité sur toute autre sûreté grevant les biens reçus en garantie, a été ou sera établie en faveur de la cédante relativement aux types de biens visés par l’avis (voir la section ci-bas intitulée Avis juridique);
  • il ne doit pas exister de corrélation positive importante entre la qualité de crédit du réassureur et la valeur du nantissement. Par exemple, les titres émis par le réassureur ou par toute entité de son groupe (c.-à-d. des obligations du réassureur proprement dit, de sa société mère, ou de l’une de ses filiales ou sociétés affiliées), ne fournissent qu’une faible protection et ne sont donc pas admissibles;
  • la cédante doit disposer de procédures claires et rigoureuses lui permettant de réaliser rapidement les garanties, afin de s’assurer que toutes les conditions juridiques requises pour la déclaration du défaut du réassureur et la réalisation des biens reçus en garantie sont observées, et que ces derniers peuvent être réalisés rapidement.

Bien que d’autres conditions puissent s’appliquer en matière de réassurance avec apparentées (p. ex., l’agrément du surintendantNote de bas de page 2), aucune autre condition particulière ne s’applique aux contrats de sûreté.

Le BSIF exigera des cédantes qu’elles négocient et concluent des ententes adéquates et qu’elles prennent toutes les mesures pratiques et opérationnelles nécessaires pour obtenir et conserver une sûreté valide et exécutoire, grevant les biens reçus en garantie, qui a priorité sur toute autre sûreté grevant ces mêmes biens. Les cédantes devront aussi obtenir un avis juridique affirmant qu’une telle sûreté a été ou sera établie en leur faveur. On s’attend également à ce que les cédantes approuvent les biens offerts en garantie ou retirés. Sont décrites ci-après les exigences minimales visant les contrats de sûreté et les avis juridiques. La cédante ayant obtenu l’avis juridique, le contrat doit être soumis rapidementNote de bas de page 3 à la Sous-section de l’administration des titres du BSIF, à l’adresse suivante :

  • Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières
    Sous-section de l’administration des titres
  • C.P. 39 121, rue King Ouest, suite 1900
  • Toronto (Ontario) M5H 3T9
  • Télécopieur : 416-973-1171
  • Courriel : SAU@osfi-bsif.gc.ca

Le BSIF s’attend à ce que les cédantes aient en place une politique approuvée par leur conseil d’administration, ou l’un de ses comités, qui prévoit que la direction doit, de temps à autre mais au moins tous les deux ans, confirmerNote de bas de page 4 au conseil ou à l’un de ses comités qu’une sûreté valide et exécutoire, ayant priorité sur toute autre sûreté grevant les biens reçus en garantie, demeure établie en leur faveur, y compris lorsque des modifications sont apportées à la législation sur les sûretés mobilières ou sur le transfert des valeurs mobilières en vigueur dans la province ou le territoire dans lequel les biens sont détenus.

Le BSIF s’attend en outre à ce que les cédantes intègrent à leur politique les types de biens acceptables en garantie au plan prudentiel et les limites (p. ex., cotes de crédit décrites dans les lignes directrices sur le capital/l’actif; concentrations de contreparties; titres libellés en devises étrangères) ainsi que les pratiques et les procédures de gestion et de contrôle du risque lié aux biens reçus en garantie. Le BSIF s’attend à ce que l’agent principal d’une succursale d’une société d’assurance étrangère veille à ce que la succursale ait une politique approuvée.

Contrat de sûreté

Le BSIF s’attend à ce que les CSR comportent et prévoient, à tout le moins, ce qui suit :

  • une mention de la loi provinciale applicable en vertu de laquelle le CSR est établi;
  • une clause prévoyant que les biens reçus en garantie doivent être détenus au Canada, en un lieu admissible aux termes de la loi provinciale sous le régime de laquelle le CSR a été établi;
  • une clause prévoyant le remplacement du mandataire, s’il y a lieu;
  • des cas de défaut, y compris les cas où :
    • le réassureur n’est plus autorisé, dans son pays ou territoire d’attache, à exercer l’activité de réassurance;
    • un liquidateur ou un séquestre du réassureur ou d’une partie de ses activités d’assurance est désigné conformément aux dispositions d’une loi ou d’un contrat conclu entre le réassureur et un tiers;
    • le réassureur manque à ses devoirs et obligations prévus dans le CSR et n’a pas pris de mesures de redressement dans un délai précis (p. ex., 30 jours) après réception de l’avis écrit transmis par la cédante;
    • un cas de défaut mettant en cause le réassureur, prévu aux termes du contrat de réassurance, a eu lieu et a toujours cours;
  • les moyens de recours ou les droits en cas de défaut (par ex. le droit de vendre un bien reçu en garantie);
  • une clause prévoyant que les biens reçus en garantie ne peuvent être utilisés dans le cadre d’un programme de prêt de valeurs mobilières;
  • une clause selon laquelle le mandataire affirme que ses fonctions ne prêtent à aucun conflit d’intérêts important;
  • une clause prévoyant que les biens reçus en garantie couvrent les obligations actuelles et futures du réassureur, envers la cédante, concernant sa quote-part des pertes ou obligations ou les deux à la fois (y compris, lorsque requis en vertu du contrat de réassurance, les pertes ou obligations liées aux sinistres subis mais non déclarés) que la cédante a assumées et dont le réassureur est responsable en vertu du contrat de réassurance;
  • une clause prévoyant que le réassureur accepte de livrer et confier au mandataire, à titre de garantie au sens du CSR, des actifs dont la valeur marchande est toujours au moins égale à un certain montant ou à un montant calculé au moyen d’une formule;
  • une clause selon laquelle le mandataire doit en tout temps, moyennant un préavis raisonnable, permettre au surintendant, au réassureur et à la cédante d’avoir accès, à des fins d’examen, à tous les biens reçus en garantie aux termes du CSR ainsi qu’à ses dossiers y afférents, et leur permettre le même accès aux dossiers de n’importe quel prestataire de services que celui dont il dispose lui-même;
  • une clause selon laquelle le mandataire, agissant à titre de mandataire de la cédante, doit produire auprès du BSIF, pour et au nom de la cédante, une déclaration dûment remplie (voir l’annexe A pour le libellé) ainsi que tous les renseignements connexes ci-après requis.

Avis juridique

Le BSIF s’attend à ce que, pour chaque CSR, l’avis juridique qui l’accompagne et qui est destiné à la cédante renferme les éléments suivants :

  • une confirmation que la sûreté réelle sur les biens reçus en garantie est valide et exécutoire à l’encontre de tous les autres créanciers du réassureur non agréé, y compris en cas d’insolvabilité;
  • une mention de la loi provinciale applicable en vertu de laquelle le CSR est établi;
  • une confirmation de la validité et de la nature exécutoire de la sûreté, dans le contexte des règles applicables régissant les conflits de loisNote de bas de page 5;
  • une déclaration indiquant que la sûreté a priorité sur toute autre sûreté;
  • une copie de tous les contrats de réassurance auxquelles l’avis s’applique, en pièce jointe.

L’avis, sur lequel le BSIF et la cédante seront en droit de se fonder, peut être assorti des réserves habituelles. Il doit être produit par un avocat compétent dans le domaine des lois sur les sûretés mobilières dans la province ou le territoire où les actifs sont détenus ou qui s’appuie de façon raisonnable sur les avis de ceux ayant une telle expertise. S’agissant d’un CSR donné, lorsque la cédante approuve un nouveau type de bien qui n’est pas visé par un avis donné antérieurement à l’égard du CSR, le BSIF s’attend à ce que la société obtienne un avis juridique supplémentaire affirmant qu’une sûreté valide et exécutoire a été ou sera établie en sa faveur relativement à ce nouveau type de bien. Lorsque l’agent principal d’une société étrangère est également son conseiller juridique, celle-ci doit se procurer l’avis auprès d’un conseiller juridique externe. Lorsque c’est un conseiller juridique interne qui fournit à la cédante l’avis juridique, le BSIF s’attend à ce que le document précise que le conseiller a donné son avis en sa qualité d’avocat et non, le cas échéant, en ses autres qualités.

Surveillance des contrats de sûreté en réassurance

Outre ses attentes à l’égard des CSR, le BSIF exige le dépôt de rapports mensuels au sujet de la valeur marchande des actifs rattachés à chaque CSR. Ainsi, il s’attend à ce que la cédante, au plus tard le 15e jour de chaque moisNote de bas de page 6, ou lorsque le surintendant le lui demande par écrit, produise, par l’entremise du mandataire, auprès de la Sous-section de l’administration des titres (dont l’adresse paraît plus haut) une déclaration selon le libellé figurant à l’annexe A (ci-jointe) ainsi qu’un fichier électronique (en format texte) et une copie papier contenant les renseignements suivants :

  • la valeur marchande de chaque actif détenu par le mandataire aux termes du CSR spécifique, à la fermeture de ses bureaux, le dernier jour ouvrable du mois précédent;
  • la date de l’évaluation;
  • le Code d’identification du CSR établi par le BSIF;
  • le nom de l’émetteur du titre;
  • le numéro d’immatriculation du titre (« cusip »), le cas échéant;
  • le nom du titre;
  • la quantité d’unités détenues;
  • pour les titres à revenu fixe, la date d’échéance, le rendement et le taux d’intérêt nominal.

Bien qu’il soit requis de produire la déclaration et les renseignements connexes par l’entremise du mandataire pour simplifier le processus, la responsabilité à l’égard du dépôt demeure celle de la cédante.

Mise en oeuvre

À titre de pratique exemplaire, les cédantes sont encouragées à prendre des mesures afin de conclure dans les meilleurs délais des CSR conformes aux exigences de la présente directive. À compter du 1er juillet 2011, tous les nouveaux contrats devront être conformes à la nouvelle directive. Le BSIF s’attend à ce que les sociétés prennent toutes les mesures raisonnables au plan commercial pour remplacer les contrats pluriannuels existants qui n’arriveront pas à échéance avant le 1er janvier 2012. Le gestionnaire des relations du BSIF affecté à la cédante surveillera les efforts qu’elle déploie et les progrès qu’elle réalise.

Pas encore définie

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Les services de dépôts étrangers ne sont pas acceptés puisque les actifs détenus par des mandataires étrangers ne sont pas considérés comme étant détenus en garantie au Canada.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Conformément à l’article 523 ou 597 de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Dans les 15 jours suivant l’obtention, par la cédante, d’un avis juridique qui affirme qu’une sûreté valide et exécutoire a été établie en sa faveur.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

La confirmation devrait soit indiquer que l’avis est toujours valide ou que les modifications législatives subséquentes n’ont aucune incidence sur la validité de l’avis ou, comme autre possibilité, un nouvel avis peut être produit.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

L’avocat canadien peut choisir d’obtenir un avis juridique auprès d’un avocat compétent qui exerce dans le pays ou territoire du réassureur non agréé, afin de s’assurer que la sûreté y soit respectée.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

Si le 15e jour n’est pas un jour ouvrable du mandataire, au plus tard le premier jour ouvrable du mandataire après le 15e jour.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6