Advisory - Capital Requirements for Federally Regulated Mortgage Insurers

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Guidance Impact Analysis Statement
  • Date: December 2016

I. Background

OSFI’s Advisory, Interim Capital Requirements for Mortgage Insurance Companies (Interim Requirements), along with other OSFI guidelines, including Guideline A, Minimum Capital Test (MCT), provide the current framework within which OSFI assesses whether a mortgage insurance company maintains adequate capital.

II. Problem Identification

The current capital requirements for mortgage insurance risk were originally developed in the early 1990s and were last updated almost 15 years ago.  Developments since then, along with an increased emphasis on risk sensitivity, led OSFI to review its capital requirements for mortgage insurance risk.

The mortgage loan default insurance market and the characteristics of the products sold have evolved in recent years.  Since the current capital requirements were introduced, regulators’ understanding of credit risk and related modeling methodologies have also evolved.  These developments, along with the ongoing evolution of international financial reporting standards (IFRS), and economic and financial practice, point to the need for a comprehensive review of the capital requirements for mortgage insurance risk.

III. Objectives

OSFI’s objective is to introduce a new standard approach that updates the capital requirements for mortgage insurance risk and increases the probability that mortgage insurance companies can absorb severe but plausible losses.  In particular, the new framework should be based on an approach that:

  • Creates the right risk management incentives for mortgage insurance companies;
  • Determines requirements for each insured mortgage using direct observable risk proxies and a combination of valuation date and origination date information to ensure a level of conservatism in the protection provided to policyholders and unsecured creditors; and
  • Adapts easily to future changes in accounting or actuarial standards and regulation.

IV. Consultations

A new Advisory: Capital Requirements for Federally Regulated Mortgage Insurers (the “Advisory”) was developed with feedback from several rounds of directed stakeholder consultations and numerous impact analyses focused on specific aspects of the capital requirements for mortgage insurance risk.

On September 23, 2016, OSFI issued a draft Advisory for public consultation.  The comment period ended on October 21, 2016.  Consideration was given to all comments received and the Advisory was amended, as appropriate.  A summary of the comments and OSFI responses is included with the cover letter to the Advisory.

V. Recommendation

The recommended Advisory addresses some of the key issues with the current requirements.

The new insurance risk capital requirements consist of:

  1. A base capital requirement that applies to all mortgages at all times; and
  2. A supplementary capital requirement that only applies to mortgages originated during periods when the housing market for the region that corresponds to the mortgage has a house price-to-income ratio that exceeds a specified threshold.

Some of the important consequences of these new requirements are:

  • By using outstanding loan balance on the valuation date as the exposure measure, a mortgage’s actual pay down rate is captured and capital is only held against mortgages that are still in force.
  • By using a modified loan-to-value ratio, the borrower’s equity position in the property is better captured.
  • Differentiating requirements by borrower credit score ensures that more capital is held for borrowers who have a greater risk of default.
  • Differentiating requirements by remaining amortization on the valuation date recognizes the importance of the expected future pay-down rate and progression of the borrower’s equity position.
  • The base and supplementary capital requirements under the new framework will not depend on the premium that a mortgage insurer charges for underwriting a particular risk.
  • By using valuation date information rather than origination date information, mortgage insurers will have to maintain up-to-date information on their exposures, supporting better risk management.

Transition arrangements have been put in place for mortgages that are in-force as of year-end 2016 that have original amortization greater than 25 years or that were insured in bulk.  Transition arrangements have also been put in place with respect to borrower credit score updating and operational risk.

Capital requirements for commercial mortgages, unpaid claims and premium deficiencies are similar in approach to the current MCT.  Other items, including the diversification credit and a reference to the MCT for requirements other than those in the Advisory, remain unchanged.

It is recommended that the Advisory: Capital Requirements for Federally Regulated Mortgage Insurers be effective in 2017.

VI. Implementation

The Advisory for mortgage insurance companies would be effective on January 1, 2017. As per OSFI’s update process, OSFI will review the effectiveness of the Advisory and make amendments as required.

Exigences de capital des sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire fédérales

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Résumé de l’étude d’impact de la directive
  • Date : Décembre 2016

I. Contexte

Le préavis du BSIF intitulé Exigences de capital provisoires des sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire (exigences provisoires) ainsi que les lignes directrices du BSIF dont la Ligne directrice A, Test du capital minimal (TCM), établissent le cadre à l’aide duquel le BSIF détermine si une société d’assurance hypothécaire maintient un capital suffisant.

II. Détermination du problème

Les exigences de capital en vigueur pour le risque d’assurance hypothécaire ont été définies au départ au début des années 1990 et ont été mises à jour pour la dernière fois il y a presque 15 ans. Les événements survenus depuis, jumelés à la nécessité de se doter de mesures encore plus sensibles aux risques, ont conduit le BSIF à réviser ses exigences de capital pour le risque d’assurance hypothécaire.

Le marché de l’assurance contre le défaut de paiement hypothécaire et les particularités des produits vendus ont évolué ces dernières années. Depuis l’adoption des exigences de capital en vigueur, les organismes de réglementation comprennent aussi mieux le risque de crédit et les méthodes de modélisation connexes. Ces développements ainsi que l’évolution incessante des normes internationales d’information financière (IFRS) et des pratiques économiques et financières laissent entendre qu’il est impératif d’examiner en profondeur les exigences de capital pour risque d’assurance hypothécaire.

III. Objectifs

Le BSIF a pour objectif de mettre en place une nouvelle approche standard permettant d’actualiser les exigences de capital et d’augmenter la probabilité que les sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire soient en mesure d’absorber des pertes graves, mais plausibles. En particulier, le nouveau régime doit s’appuyer sur une approche qui :

  • crée les bons incitatifs pour la gestion des risques pour les sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire;
  • détermine les exigences pour chaque prêt hypothécaire assuré à l’aide d’indicateurs des risques observables directs et d’une combinaison des données sur la date d’évaluation et la date de constitution du dossier du prêt pour garantir un certain niveau de prudence dans la protection offerte aux souscripteurs et aux créanciers non garantis;
  • s’adapte facilement aux changements qui se produisent au titre des normes de comptabilité et d’actuariat et de la réglementation.

IV. Consultation

Un nouveau Préavis, intitulé Exigences de capital des sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire fédérales (le « Préavis »), a été préparé en tenant compte des commentaires issus des nombreuses rondes de consultations dirigées auprès des intéressés et des diverses études d’impact portant sur plusieurs aspects des exigences de capital pour risque d’assurance hypothécaire.

Le 23 septembre 2016, le BSIF a soumis un projet de préavis à consultation publique. À la lumière des commentaires reçus, le BSIF a apporté certaines modifications jugées utiles. La lettre d’accompagnement du Préavis fait une synthèse de ces commentaires et des réponses du BSIF.

V. Recommandation

Le Préavis recommandé aborde certaines des préoccupations clés à l’égard des exigences actuelles.

Les nouvelles exigences en matière de capital pour risque d’assurance comprennent :

  1. une exigence de capital de base qui s’applique à tous les prêts hypothécaires en tout temps;
  2. une exigence de capital supplémentaire qui s’applique seulement aux prêts hypothécaires dont le dossier a été constitué dans des périodes pendant lesquelles le marché de l’immobilier pour la région qui correspond à l’hypothèque affiche un ratio des prix de l’immobilier au revenu supérieur à un certain seuil.

Certaines des conséquences importantes de ces nouvelles exigences sont :

  • En utilisant l’encours du prêt à la date d’évaluation pour mesurer l’exposition, le taux réel de remboursement du prêt hypothécaire est pris en compte et le capital n’est détenu que pour les prêts hypothécaires toujours en vigueur.
  • En utilisant un ratio prêt‑valeur modifié, la participation financière de l’emprunteur au chapitre de la propriété est mieux prise en compte.
  • Le fait de distinguer les exigences en fonction de la cote de crédit de l’emprunteur garantit que le capital détenu pour les emprunteurs qui risquent davantage de ne pas rembourser est plus élevé.
  • Distinguer les exigences selon l’amortissement résiduel à la date de l’évaluation permet de tenir compte de l’importance du taux de remboursement futur prévu et de la progression de la participation financière de l’emprunteur.
  • En vertu du nouveau cadre, les exigences de capital de base et supplémentaire ne sont pas fonction de la prime qu’un assureur hypothécaire facture pour souscrire un risque en particulier.
  • En utilisant les données à la date d’évaluation plutôt que celles de la date de constitution du dossier, les assureurs hypothécaires devront tenir à jour l’information sur leurs expositions, favorisant une meilleure gestion des risques.

Des modalités transitoires ont été mises en place pour les prêts hypothécaires en vigueur à la fin de 2016, dont la période d’amortissement initial est supérieure à 25 ans ou qui ont été assurés collectivement. Des mesures transitoires ont aussi été mises en place relativement à l’actualisation de la cote de crédit des emprunteurs et au risque opérationnel.

Les exigences de capital pour les prêts hypothécaires commerciaux, les sinistres non payés et l’insuffisance des primes sont semblables aux exigences actuelles du TCM. Les autres composantes, y compris le crédit pour diversification et le renvoi au TCM pour les autres exigences que celles figurant dans le Préavis, ne changent pas.

Il est recommandé de mettre en vigueur le Préavis en 2017.

VI. Mise en application

Le Préavis à l’intention des sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire devrait entrer en vigueur le 1er janvier 2017.

Conformément à son processus habituel de mise à jour, le BSIF examinera l’efficacité du Préavis et y apportera des modifications selon les besoins.