Enhanced Due Diligence For Correspondent Accounts

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Letter
  • Our File: P2200-22
  • Date: February 22, 2002
  • To:
    • All Banks
    • Federally Regulated Trust and Loan Companies

As you may be aware, the USA Patriot Act became law on October 26, 2001 in the United States. Among other things, this Act prohibits certain financial institutions operating in the USA from establishing, maintaining, administering or managing correspondent accounts on behalf of foreign banks that do not have a physical presence in any country (i.e. a "shell bank"). This prohibition does not apply to a foreign bank that is affiliated with a deposit-taking institution that is, in turn, subject to appropriate supervision and has a physical presence in the jurisdiction in which it is supervised. Financial institutions operating in the United States are required to seek certifications from their correspondent banks to the effect that they are not shell banks and that they are regulated in the jurisdiction in which they have a physical presence.

In addition, the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision, Bank for International Settlements (BIS), issued on October 4, 2001 a paper entitled Customer Due Diligence for Banks (http://www.bis.org/publ/bcbs85.pdf) which sets out guidance for banks and bank supervisors. One of the topics deals with correspondent banking.

The BIS paper calls upon banks to refuse to enter into, or continue, correspondent-banking relationship with shell banks.

In light of these two initiatives, we believe that Canadian deposit-taking institutions should be aware of the enhanced BIS standard for dealing with correspondent banking accounts and encourage them to adopt measures which will ensure that they do not enter into correspondent banking relationships with shell banks.

OSFI is of the view that the customer due diligence standards identified in the BIS paper represent a sound basis for ensuring that deposit-taking institutions have adequate controls and procedures in place to know whom their customers are. Accordingly, in the course of this year, we will be contacting various industry associations for input regarding the implementation of these standards in Canada.

Please direct any comments you may have regarding this letter to Brian Long, Director, Compliance Division at (613) 990-8838 or to Nicolas Burbidge, Senior Director, Compliance Division at (416) 973-6117.

  • Michael Hafeman
  • Assistant Superintendent
  • Specialist Support Sector

Resserrement des normes de saine diligence à l'égard des comptes de correspondant

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Lettre
  • Notre référence : P2200-22
  • Date : Le 22 février 2002
  • À :
    • Toutes les banques,
    • Sociétés de fiducie et de prêt fédérales

Comme vous le savez sans doute, la USA Patriot Act est entrée en vigueur aux États-Unis le 26 octobre 2001. En vertu de cette loi, il est notamment interdit à certaines institutions financières actives aux États-Unis d'établir, de tenir, d'administrer ou de gérer des comptes de correspondant au nom d'une banque étrangère qui n'a de bureau dans aucun pays (une " banque de façade "). Cette interdiction ne s'applique pas à une banque étrangère membre du groupe d'une institution de dépôts qui fait elle-même l'objet d'une surveillance adéquate et qui a un bureau sur le territoire de l'instance exerçant cette surveillance. Les institutions financières actives aux États-Unis doivent obtenir de leurs correspondants bancaires des attestations à l'effet que ces dernières ne sont pas des banques de façade et qu'elles sont réglementées par les autorités compétentes du territoire où se trouve leur bureau.

En outre, le Comité de Bâle sur le contrôle bancaire de la Banque des règlements internationaux (BRI) publiait, le 4 octobre 2001, un document intitulé Customer Due Diligence for Banks (http://www.bis.org/publ/bcbs85.pdf) qui renferme des consignes à l'intention des banques et des organismes de contrôle bancaire. L'une des rubriques de ce document traite des correspondants bancaires.

Dans ce document, la BRI invite les banques à refuser de conclure ou de proroger des liens de correspondant bancaire avec des banques de façade.

Compte tenu de ces deux initiatives, nous estimons que les institutions de dépôts canadiennes devraient être informées du resserrement des normes de la BRI au sujet des comptes de correspondant bancaire, et nous les encourageons à adopter des mesures pour éviter d'établir des liens de correspondant bancaire avec des banques de façade.

Le BSIF est d'avis que les normes de saine diligence à l'endroit des consommateurs dont traite le document de la BRI constituent un bon outil pour veiller à ce que les institutions de dépôts appliquent les contrôles et les procédures nécessaires afin d'identifier leurs clients. Nous communiquerons donc avec diverses associations de l'industrie au cours de l'année pour connaître leur point de vue au sujet de la mise en œuvre de ces normes au Canada.

Veuillez transmettre vos commentaires à ce sujet au directeur de la Division de la conformité, Brian Long, au (613) 990-8838, ou au directeur principal de la même division, Nicolas Burbidge, au (416) 973-6117.

  • Le surintendant auxiliaire,
  • Secteur du soutien spécialisé,
  • Michael Hafeman