Large Exposure Limits

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Letter
  • Date: August 5, 2003
  • Reference: Guideline for Life / Fraternals
  • Our File: P2200-5-6
  • To:
    • Federally Regulated Life Insurance Companies,
    • Fraternal Benefit Societies

This Guideline addresses the issue of large exposures of life insurance companies and fraternal benefit societies. It sets out OSFI's policy with respect to limits on these exposures. During discussions regarding the introduction of Insurance Holding Companies (IHCs) and Bank Holding Companies (BHCs) in Bill C-8, the industry was advised that a large exposure limit would be applied on a consolidated basis to exposures of IHCs and BHCs. To reflect the unique characteristics of the predominant business of IHCs, OSFI, as a first step in developing appropriate direction for IHCs, undertook to develop a Guideline for life insurance companies. This Guideline will also bring the life insurance company regulatory framework in line with the deposit-taking institution framework.

In the interest of maintaining a level playing field, and as a starting point, the life insurance company Guideline has been drafted using the December 1994 OSFI Guideline B-2: Large Exposure Limits for DTIs. In some instances, however, because of the unique characteristics of life insurance companies, the life insurance Guideline differs from the DTI Guideline.

This Guideline is available in English and French on OSFI’s Web site (http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca) under the Publications section. It may also be obtained by contacting Mr. Stéphane Dupel, General Services Division, by e-mail at pub@osfi-bsif.gc.ca or by facsimile at (613) 954-4331.

  • Julie Dickson
  • Assistant Superintendent
  • Regulation Sector

Limites régissant les engagements importants

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Lettre
  • Date : Le 5 août 2003
  • Référence : Ligne directrice à l’intention des SAV / SSM
  • Notre référence : P2200-5-6
  • Aux :
    • sociétés d’assurance-vie,
    • sociétés de secours mutuels fédérales

La présente ligne directrice traite les engagements importants assumés par les sociétés d’assurance-vie et les sociétés de secours mutuels. Elle énonce la politique du BSIF quant aux limites régissant ces engagements. Au cours de discussions sur la création de sociétés de portefeuille d’assurances (SPA) et de sociétés de portefeuille bancaires (SPB) en vertu du projet de loi C-8, le secteur a appris qu’une limite régissant les engagements importants s’appliquera, selon la méthode de comptabilisation à la valeur de consolidation, aux engagements des SPA et des SPB. Pour refléter les caractéristiques uniques des activités principales des SPA et comme première étape de l'élaboration de consignes appropriées pour les SPA, le BSIF a entrepris de formuler une ligne directrice pour les sociétés d’assurance-vie. Cette ligne directrice fera également en sorte que le cadre de réglementation des sociétés d’assurance-vie correspondra à celui des institutions de dépôts.

Pour uniformiser les règles du jeu, et dans un premier temps, la ligne directrice pour les sociétés d’assurance-vie a été rédigée à partir de la ligne directrice B-2, Limites régissant les engagements importants, du BSIF de décembre 1994, qui s'adresse aux institutions de dépôts. Dans certains cas, toutefois, en raison des particularités des sociétés d’assurance-vie, la ligne directrice sur l’assurance-vie diffère de celle sur les institutions de dépôts.

Cette ligne directrice est disponible dans les deux langues officielles sur le site Web du BSIF (http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca), sous la rubrique Publications. On peut aussi l’obtenir en communiquant avec M. Stéphane Dupel, de la Division des services généraux, par courriel, à l’adresse pub@osfi-bsif.gc.ca, ou par télécopieur, au (613) 954-4331.

  • Le surintendant auxiliaire
  • Secteur de la réglementation,
  • Julie Dickson