Appointed Actuary: Legal Requirements, Qualifications and Peer Review

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Guideline Impact Analysis Statement
  • Date: September 2012
  • No: E-15
  • Audiences: Life / P&C / Fraternal

1. Background

Guideline E-15 was issued as a new guideline in 2003. It covered three topics relating to the role of Appointed Actuaries (AA) in financial statement reporting:

  1. Legal requirements: a summary of the requirements in the Insurance Companies Act (ICA) and key provisions in related guidelines and Memoranda.
  2. Qualifications: a summary of the minimum requirements needed to fill the role of Appointed Actuary.
  3. External Review: an outline of OSFI’s expectations that companies have the Appointed Actuary’s work reviewed by an external actuary.

At the time, the requirement for external review was not universally accepted as practical or worth the extra effort. Some held the view that it was not necessary to review an Appointed Actuary’s work. At the same time, the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants (CICA) introduced a requirement that the auditors review certain aspects of the actuarial numbers in the financial statements. As such, there was concern about duplication of effort and extra costs. There was a commitment that the external review requirement would be reassessed after a number of years.

II. Problem Identification

The concept of external review has generally been accepted over the last eight years by insurance companies, Appointed Actuaries and the actuarial profession. However, it is OSFI’s opinion that the peer review process can be enhanced to better assist OSFI with its review of insurance companies.

In addition, OSFI has recently changed its Supervisory Framework. One of the changes was a revision in OSFI’s view of how it makes use of the role of the Appointed Actuary. A key component of this change was that the effectiveness of the work of the external reviewer needs improvement. The prime areas for improvement were identified as follows:

  1. While the general objectives of the existing guideline remain valid, the focus of actuarial review should be on the complementary nature of its objectives to: (a) aid OSFI in assessing the actuarial function in the insurer; (b) act as a consultation aid to AA’s; and (c) provide significant professional education to AAs. The reporting to OSFI needs to be enhanced to better facilitate understanding of the value added by the external review process;

  2. The review work should concentrate on the elements of the Appointed Actuary’s work that affect the financial statements and the assessment of the company’s future financial condition;

  3. Review of other work by the Appointed Actuary need no longer be reviewed;

  4. The rules defining reviewer objectivity should be revised to enable additional knowledgeable and experienced individuals to qualify to perform the work;

  5. While the basic 3-year cycle should be continued, there should be annual reporting on material changes in methodology and assumptions;

  6. Financial condition reporting (i.e., DCAT) should be reviewed on a 3-year cycle, with the choice of scenarios tested reviewed annually;

  7. Pre-release reviews should be encouraged;

  8. The process should be changed and referred to as “peer review”.

III. Objectives

The revised Guideline E-15 addresses the above issues by amending the requirements of the review processes. At the same time, the requirement for review will no longer apply to the work regularly done by Appointed Actuaries that does not affect the financial statements or that does not relate to future financial condition work.

The CICA has just revised AuG-43 to be a new non-authoritative auditing guideline that is in compliance with international auditing standards, called “Guide: Audits of Financial Statements That Contain Amounts That Have Been Determined Using Actuarial Calculations”. The proposed revisions to Guideline E-15 do not duplicate the work required by this CICA guideline.

IV. Identification and Assessment of Objectives

Option 1 – Leave Guideline E-15 Unchanged

The advantage of this option is that OSFI would not have to devote resources to revising the Guideline. However, the resources and costs to produce changes to the Guideline are not material.

The disadvantage is that the revised requirements of the Supervisory Framework with respect to assessing the actuarial function of the companies would be harder to meet. The current external peer review process does not fully meet the expectations of OSFI. The proposed revisions to the Guideline will enhance OSFI’s ability to assess the actuarial function of the companies. An enhanced peer review process should give insurance company management and boards improved assurance about the financial statements. The enhancements should also make peer review of more use to the Appointed Actuaries as a source of consultation advice.

Option 2 – Terminate the Requirement for Peer Review

While termination of peer review could be seen as a cost saving measure, it would eliminate a third party consultation support for Appointed Actuaries. In addition, the revised Supervisory Framework requires more intense assessment of the actuarial function in companies. Removing the peer review approach would result in far more work for OSFI personnel directly, which would ultimately increase costs to companies.

Option 3 – Let the CIA develop any additional guidance.

While the CIA has the professional expertise to develop standards and practices around peer review, the profession does not have the regulatory authority to mandate this work at the companies.

Option 4 – Revise OSFI Guidance to Enhance Peer Review

The advantage of this option is that peer review will support OSFI’s enhanced requirements in the Supervisory Framework to assess the actuarial function in the companies.

By having a third-party process such as peer review, OSFI will avoid the need to substantially increase resources if it were to take on the function itself. OSFI will also obtain the knowledge and perspective of very experienced actuaries who will serve as peer reviewers.

An enhanced peer review process should give insurance company management and boards improved assurance about the financial statements. The revised peer review process will also eliminate the need to review any work that does not directly affect the financial statements and future financial condition work.

The peer review process will also be a continued source of consultation advice for Appointed Actuaries.

V. Consultation

Following the issuance of a draft revised Guideline for consultation in February 2012, OSFI received 17 submissions from industry stakeholders. OSFI also conducted follow-up discussions with a number of stakeholders. The final version of the Guideline incorporates a number of the their suggestions. Please refer to the cover letter accompanying the Guideline for further details regarding stakeholder comments and OSFI responses.

V. Recommendation and Implementation

OSFI is of the view that the creation of enhanced guidance for peer review is the most appropriate option for ensuring that Appointed Actuaries continue to have a reliable source of consultation advice, while also meeting OSFI’s enhanced role in assessing the actuarial function in companies.

It is recommended that Guideline E-15 be revised to enhance its usefulness to both OSFI and to Appointed Actuaries.

The revised Guideline is effective for the financial statements covering 2013, and for the DCAT prepared during 2013. The review of 2012 year-end financial statements and DCATs presented during 2012 can follow the previous requirements.

Actuaire désigné : Dispositions législatives, qualifications et examen par des pairs

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Résumé de l’étude d’impact de la ligne directrice
  • Date : Septembre 2012
  • No : E-15
  • Public : SAV / SAM / SSM

1. Contexte

La ligne directrice E-15 est parue à l’origine en 2003. Elle traitait de trois thèmes concernant la fonction exercée par l’actuaire désigné (AD) relativement à la présentation des états financiers :

  1. Dispositions législatives : sommaire des exigences de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances et des principales dispositions des lignes directrices et notes connexes;

  2. Qualifications : sommaire des exigences minimales auxquelles devaient satisfaire les candidats à la fonction d’actuaire désigné (AD);

  3. Examen externe : énoncé de la consigne donnée aux sociétés par le BSIF de soumettre les travaux de l’AD à l’examen d’un actuaire externe.

Lors de la parution de la version initiale de la ligne directrice, tous les intéressés ne jugeaient pas pratique ni avantageuse, compte tenu de l’effort exigé, l’obligation de soumettre les travaux de l’AD à un examen externe. Certains estimaient qu’un tel examen était superflu. Au même moment, l’Institut Canadien des Comptables Agréés (ICCA) a obligé les auditeurs à examiner certains aspects des données actuarielles contenues dans les états financiers. Dans ces circonstances, le risque d’effectuer des travaux redondants et d’engager des dépenses en double suscitait des inquiétudes. Le BSIF avait donc résolu de revoir, après quelques années, les dispositions de la ligne directrice sur l’examen externe obligatoire.

II. Définition du problème

Si les sociétés d’assurances, les actuaires désignés et les actuaires en général ont généralement accepté cette notion au cours des huit dernières années, le BSIF estime néanmoins qu’il est possible d’améliorer le processus d’examen par des pairs pour qu’il puisse s’y fier davantage lorsqu’il examine la situation des sociétés d’assurances.

Par ailleurs, le BSIF a modifié récemment le Cadre de surveillance, notamment en redéfinissant l’usage qu’il fait des travaux de l’AD. Les changements qu’il a effectués l’ont amené à constater la nécessité d’accroître l’efficacité de la fonction de l’examinateur externe. Il fallait notamment rendre les travaux de l’examinateur externe plus efficaces s’il doit continuer d’en être ainsi sous le nouveau régime. Les principales améliorations envisagées étaient les suivantes :

  1. Les rapports adressés au BSIF devraient mieux expliquer la plus-value attribuable au processus d’examen externe. L’examen devrait cibler les éléments des travaux de l’AD qui influent sur les états financiers et l’évaluation de la situation financière future de la société.

  2. L’examen devrait cibler les travaux de l’AD qui influent sur les états financiers et sur l’évaluation de la situation financière future de la société.

  3. Il n’y a plus lieu d’examiner les autres travaux de l’AD.

  4. Les règles définissant l’objectivité de l’examinateur devraient être révisées de manière à ce que d’autres personnes possédant les connaissances et l’expérience nécessaires puissent assumer la fonction.

  5. Tout en maintenant le cycle triennal de base, les changements importants de la méthodologie et des hypothèses devraient être signalés chaque année.

  6. Le rapport sur la situation financière (i.e., résultats de l’EDSC) devrait être examiné tous les trois ans et les scénarios testés devraient être examinés chaque année.

  7. Il faudrait encourager les examens préalables.

  8. Le processus devrait être modifié et désigné « examen par des pairs ».

III. Objectifs

La ligne directrice E-15 révisée donne suite aux recommandations précitées en modifiant les exigences applicables au processus d’examen. Par la même occasion, les travaux réguliers de l’AD qui n’influent pas sur les états financiers ou la situation financière future de la société ne seraient plus soumis obligatoirement à un examen.

L’ICCA vient tout juste de réviser la note d’orientation NOV-43 pour en faire un guide d’audit d’application facultative et conforme aux normes internationales d’audit. Le guide s’intitule L’audit d’états financier contenant des montants déterminés au moyen de calculs actuariels. Les révisions qu’il est proposé d’apporter à la ligne directrice E-15 ne prévoient pas de travaux identiques à ceux que prescrit le guide.

IV. Recensement et évaluation des options

Option 1 – Ne pas modifier la ligne directrice E-15

Cette option présente les avantages d’éviter au BSIF de devoir consacrer des ressources à la révision et de permettre aux sociétés de continuer à appliquer un processus familier.

Toutefois, le processus actuel d’examen par des pairs ne répond plus aux attentes du BSIF, surtout compte tenu des exigences resserrées auxquelles le Cadre de surveillance assujettit l’évaluation de la fonction actuarielle. Les modifications proposées de la ligne directrice accroîtront la capacité du BSIF d’évaluer la fonction actuarielle des sociétés. Un processus amélioré d’examen par des pairs procurerait au conseil d’administration et à la direction de la société un degré accru d’assurance au sujet des états financiers. Les améliorations devraient aussi rendre les examens par des pairs plus utiles pour les actuaires désignées à titre de source de conseils.

Option 2 – Mettre fin à l’obligation de procéder à un examen par des pairs

Bien que l’élimination de l’examen par des pairs puisse être considérée comme une mesure d’économie, elle priverait l’AD de l’avis de tiers, alors que le Cadre de surveillance révisé impose une évaluation plus rigoureuse de la fonction actuarielle des sociétés. En l’absence d’examens par des pairs, la charge de travail directe des employés du BSIF serait sensiblement alourdie, ce qui augmenterait, au bout du compte, les coûts qu’acquittent les sociétés.

Option 3 – Laisser à l’ICA le soin d’établir de nouvelles consignes

Si l’ICA possède le savoir-faire nécessaire pour élaborer des normes et des pratiques présidant à un examen par des pairs, la profession actuarielle n’est pas habilitée à imposer aux sociétés l’obligation d’effectuer de tels examens.

Option 4 – Réviser les directives du BSIF afin d’améliorer l’examen par des pairs

Cette option a ceci d’avantageux qu’elle répondrait à l’obligation stricte prévue par le Cadre de surveillance d’évaluer la fonction actuarielle des sociétés.

Grâce à un processus à la charge de tiers, tel un examen par des pairs, le BSIF n’aurait pas à augmenter sensiblement ses ressources, ce qu’il serait tenu de faire, par ailleurs, s’il devait apprécier lui-même la fonction actuarielle des sociétés. De plus, il profiterait des connaissances et du point de vue des actuaires de grande expérience qui rempliraient la fonction d’examinateur.

Un processus amélioré d’examen par des pairs procurerait au conseil d’administration et à la direction de la société un degré accru d’assurance au sujet des états financiers. En outre, le processus remanié écarterait la nécessité d’examiner tous travaux qui n’influent pas directement sur les états financiers ou la situation financière future.

En dernier lieu, le processus perfectionné profiterait davantage à l’AD en lui donnant un plus grand accès à des conseils d’expert.

V. Consultation

Après avoir publié la nouvelle version provisoire de la ligne directrice aux fins de consultation en février 2012, le BSIF a reçu 17 mémoires de la part d’intervenants du secteur. Il a aussi tenu des discussions de suivi avec certains intervenants. La version finale de la ligne directrice tient compte d’un certain nombre de leurs suggestions. La lettre de couverture qui accompagne la ligne directrice renferme de plus amples renseignements au sujet des commentaires des intervenants et des réponses du BSIF.

VI. Recommandation et mise en oeuvre

Le BSIF est d’avis que la production de consignes améliorées sur l’examen par des pairs est le meilleur moyen de garantir que l’AD continuera de bénéficier d’une source sûre de conseils d’expert et que le BSIF s’acquittera de sa responsabilité accrue en matière d’évaluation de la fonction actuarielle des sociétés.

Il est recommandé de réviser la ligne directrice E-15 afin d’en augmenter l’utilité tant pour le BSIF que pour l’actuaire désigné.

La version révisée de la ligne directrice s’applique aux états financiers de 2013 et aux essais dynamiques de la suffisance du capital (EDSC) préparés en 2013. L’examen des états financiers pour la fin de 2012 et les EDSC soumis en 2012 peuvent être soumis aux anciennes exigences.