Appointed Actuary: Legal Requirements, Qualifications and Peer Review

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Letter
  • Date: September 11, 2012
  • Reference: Guideline for Life / Fraternals
  • To:
    • Federally Regulated Insurance Companies, including Fraternal Benefit Societies,
    • Canadian Branches of Foreign Insurance Companies, including Fraternal Benefit Societies

In February 2012, OSFI published Draft Guideline E-15 – Appointed Actuary: Legal Requirements, Qualifications and Peer Review. OSFI received 17 submissions from industry associations, companies and individuals following the release of the draft. I would like to thank everyone who provided comments and suggestions.

Guideline E-15 was originally issued in 2003. The concept of external peer review, introduced in this Guideline, has generally been accepted over the last eight years by insurance companies, Appointed Actuaries and the actuarial profession. However, it is OSFI’s opinion that the peer review process can be enhanced to better assist OSFI with its review of insurance companies.

In addition, OSFI has recently changed its Supervisory Framework. One of the changes was a revision in OSFI’s view of how it makes use of the role of the Appointed Actuary. A key component of this change was that the effectiveness of the work of the external peer reviewer needs improvement.

OSFI reviewed the submissions and had follow-up meetings with some groups. Today, OSFI is publishing the final version of Guideline E-15, as well as the Annex to this letter, which provides a summary of public comments received and an explanation of how they were dealt with in the final Guideline.

The revised Guideline is effective for the financial statements covering 2013, and for the DCAT prepared during 2013. The review of 2012 year-end financial statements and DCATs presented during 2012 can follow the previous requirements.

However, where possible, insurers are encouraged to comply with the principles and expectations of this Guideline as of the date of this letter.

  • Mark Zelmer
  • Assistant Superintendent
  • Regulation Sector

Annex - Guideline E-15 - Summary of Consultation Comments and OSFI Responses

Industry Comments OSFI Response

There were some questions about the new methodology OSFI has been developing to assess the actuarial function in insurance companies and how this fits with peer review. There was also some question about the role of OSFI’s Actuarial Division as compared to the proposed role of the peer reviewer. Commentators did not always see how this fits with the educational role of peer review

The description of OSFI’s objectives has been more clearly articulated. OSFI’s prime concern is the safety and soundness of insurance companies. From OSFI’s point of view, the prime objective of the revised peer review guideline is to assist OSFI in its assessment of the insurer’s safety and soundness, and the role played by the insurer’s actuarial function within the company. This objective was not clearly indicated in the previous version of the guideline.

A second objective of peer review remains to provide a source of independent consultation advice and education to the appointed actuary (AA).

Several commentators indicated that much of the work OSFI expects the peer reviewer to undertake is already being done by the external auditors, thus leading to duplication of effort and cost. It was noted that the auditors employ actuarial specialists as part of the audit team and that they check to see that the valuation assumptions are within standards.

The CICA standards state that the overall objective of the auditor is to obtain reasonable assurance about whether the financial statements, as a whole, are free from material misstatement.

However, OSFI’s objective and the scope for peer review is to assess the safety and soundness of insurers by reviewing the AA’s work for the financial statements at a more granular level. It is OSFI’s view that each of the assumptions used should be independently reasonable, in accord with accepted actuarial standards, and that the methodology should be appropriate for each valuation model.

It is not OSFI’s intention for peer review to duplicate the work of the auditor. For instance, the peer reviewer is not required to perform any detailed recalculations, since this is part of the audit.

Some commentators questioned the preference the guideline gave to having the peer reviewer be independent of the external audit firm. It was noted that the audit firm is independent and its actuaries are qualified to do the peer review work. Also, using the actuary of the audit firm would be less costly and burdensome for the insurance company.

OSFI agrees that an actuary working for the external audit firm is sufficiently independent to be a peer reviewer. The guideline’s wording has been changed to explicitly state that using an actuary from the external audit firm can accommodate smaller and simpler companies.

Notwithstanding this, OSFI expects large and complex companies to engage a peer reviewer who is not a member of its external audit firm. While OSFI recognizes that external audit firms are independent, it is of the view that separate independent actuarial peer review is desirable to provide additional perspective to large and complex companies.

Several commentators questioned the usefulness of the education component of peer review, particularly in the case of companies having internal resources more extensive than those of typical peer reviewers.

While it is true that the large companies have extensive resources available, OSFI is of the view that it is still useful for the AA from a large company to have a source of independent consultation advice from a third party outside the company. The smaller companies will have more use for advice from the peer reviewer on accepted practice in the industry and on improvements to their work. In any case, peer review is not the only source of professional development for the AA.

Several commentators expressed concerns about the timing of the peer review of the Appointed Actuary’s Report (AAR) in the case of pre-release peer reviews. The AAR is usually not prepared in time for a review in the same timeframe as the Life-1 type of statement.

The section of the guideline dealing with the timing of reporting has been revised to recognize such timing challenges. It now recognizes that there may be more than one peer review report. For instance, a separate report on the contents of the AAR can be submitted subsequent to the peer review report on the financial statement valuations.

Some commentators proposed that the peer review requirements should vary by company. They should be based on the size and risk of the company. There were also suggestions that if an external consulting actuary was the AA, then there need not be an additional peer review.

OSFI believes the basic peer review requirements should be consistent for all companies. The peer reviewer is expected to consider materiality and the circumstances of the company in determining the appropriate level of work to be done. Where an external consultant is the AA, a separate peer review is still required.

Some commentators noted that more guidance should be provided about the level of materiality to be used for the peer review work. This was especially noted for the required annual review of material changes in valuation methods and assumptions.

The guideline has added a new section on materiality. A list of examples of what constitutes a material change in the valuation of policyholder liabilities has been added to provide further clarity.

The guideline does not specify a quantitative materiality level, but relies on the professional judgement of the AA and the peer reviewer in the particular circumstances. The CIA standards of practice state that materiality should be judged from the point of view of the prime user of the work. OSFI’s expectations are at a more granular level than the external audit view of materiality. As such, the guideline states that materiality should be set to be appropriate at the line of business level at which the assumptions are set.

The draft guideline included the reference that peer review should include an examination of the process the company uses for stress testing (Guideline E-18) and Own Risk and Solvency Assessment (ORSA). Some commentators pointed out that these two issues are not in the appointed actuary’s domain since there are no professional standards covering them.

OSFI has accepted this suggestion, and the references to E-18 and ORSA have been removed. The peer reviewer is still expected to assess the DCAT.

Some commentators expressed concern that the draft guideline seemed to require the DCAT to have a full peer review each year. This was considered to be excessive.

This was not the intention of the guideline. The wording has been revised to make it clear that there should only be a full review of the DCAT every three years. The yearly review should only be a brief review with the AA regarding the basis of the scenarios to be used, and not the mechanics of the actual production of the scenario results.

Some commentators expressed concern about the reference to the peer review report having to include a summary of the discussions between the reviewer and the AA, and the resolution of any disagreements. This could inhibit a full discussion if this had to be disclosed to OSFI.

This is a valid point, since the aim of peer review is to provide the AA with a source of independent consultation advice. As such, the requirement to discuss any disagreements has been removed.

Commentators suggested numerous other small changes to specific wording.

Many of the suggestions for specific wording changes were very useful and have been incorporated in the revised guideline.

Actuaire désigné : Dispositions législatives, qualifications et examen par des pairs

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Lettre
  • Date : Le 11 septembre 2012
  • Référence : Ligne directrice à l’intention des SAV / SSM
  • Destinataires : Sociétés d’assurances fédérales et succursales canadiennes de sociétés d’assurances étrangères, y compris les sociétés de secours mutuels

Le BSIF a publié la version provisoire de la ligne directrice E-15, Actuaire désigné : Dispositions législatives, qualifications et examen par des pairs, en février 2012. Il a reçu 17 mémoires d’associations sectorielles, de sociétés et de particuliers à la suite de la publication de ce document. Je tiens à remercier tous les intervenants qui ont formulé des commentaires et des suggestions.

La ligne directrice E-15, parue à l’origine en 2003, a présenté pour la première fois le concept de l’examen par des pairs. Si les sociétés d’assurances, les actuaires désignés et les actuaires en général ont généralement accepté cette notion au cours des huit dernières années, le BSIF estime néanmoins qu’il est possible d’améliorer le processus d’examen par des pairs pour qu’il puisse s’y fier davantage lorsqu’il examine la situation des sociétés d’assurances.

Par ailleurs, le BSIF a modifié récemment le Cadre de surveillance, notamment en redéfinissant l’usage qu’il fait des travaux de l’actuaire désigné. Ces changements l’ont amené à constater la nécessité de mettre en valeur la fonction de l’examinateur externe.

Le BSIF a examiné les mémoires, et il a tenu des rencontres de suivi avec certains groupes. Il publie aujourd’hui la version finale de la ligne directrice E-15. À la présente lettre s’ajoute une annexe qui résume les commentaires reçus du public et explique de quelle manière la version finale de la ligne directrice en tient compte.

La version révisée de la ligne directrice s’applique aux états financiers de 2013 et aux essais dynamiques de la suffisance du capital (EDSC) préparés en 2013. L’examen des états financiers pour la fin de 2012 et les EDSC soumis en 2012 peuvent être soumis aux anciennes exigences.

Toutefois, les assureurs sont encouragés à respecter dans la mesure possible les principes et les attentes de la ligne directrice à compter de la date des présentes.

  • Le surintendant auxiliaire,
  • Secteur de la réglementation,
  • Mark Zelmer

Annexe – Ligne directrice E-15 – Sommaire des commentaires issus des consultations et réponses du BSIF

Commentaires du secteur Réponse du BSIF

Des questions ont été soulevées au sujet de la nouvelle méthodologie établie par le BSIF pour évaluer la fonction actuarielle des sociétés d’assurances et de son lien avec l’examen par des pairs. D’autres questions ont porté sur le rôle de la Division de l’actuariat du BSIF par rapport à celui que l’on propose de confier à l’examinateur. Les observateurs ne comprenaient pas toujours en quoi cela rejoint le rôle didactique de l’examen par des pairs.

La description des objectifs du BSIF a été clarifiée. Le BSIF s’inquiète surtout de la sûreté et de la solidité des sociétés d’assurances. À son avis, la ligne directrice révisée sur l’examen par des pairs vise avant tout à l’aider à évaluer la sûreté et la solidité de l’assureur, de même que le rôle de la fonction actuarielle de l’assureur au sein de la société. Ce but n’était pas clairement énoncé dans la version précédente de la ligne directrice.

L’examen par des pairs continue d’avoir pour autre objectif de fournir des conseils indépendants à l’actuaire désigné et de contribuer à sa formation.

Selon plusieurs observateurs, les auditeurs externes exécutent déjà une bonne partie des travaux dont le BSIF s’attend à ce que l’examinateur se charge, ce qui occasionne des efforts redondants et engendre des coûts. Ils soulignent que les équipes d’audit comprennent des spécialistes en actuariat et que les auditeurs veillent à ce que les hypothèses d’évaluation respectent les normes.

Selon les normes de l’Institut Canadien des Comptables Agréés, l’objectif général de l’auditeur est d’obtenir l’assurance raisonnable que les états financiers pris dans leur ensemble ne comportent pas d’anomalies significatives résultant de fraudes ou d’erreurs.

Par contre, l’objectif du BSIF et la portée de l’examen par des pairs consistent à évaluer la sûreté et la solidité des assureurs en passant en revue de façon plus détaillée les travaux de l’actuaire désigné à l’égard des états financiers. Le BSIF est d’avis que chacune des hypothèses utilisées devrait être raisonnable en soi, conformément aux normes actuarielles reconnues, et que la méthodologie devrait convenir à chaque modèle d’évaluation.

Le BSIF ne souhaite pas que l’examen par des pairs répète les travaux de l’auditeur. Par exemple, l’examinateur n’est tenu de reprendre aucun calcul détaillé puisque cela relève de l’audit.

Certains observateurs remettent en question la préférence que donne la ligne directrice à l’indépendance de l’examinateur par rapport à l’auditeur externe. On souligne que le cabinet d’audit est indépendant et que ses actuaires ont les compétences requises pour agir en qualité d’examinateur. En outre, le recours à l’actuaire du cabinet d’audit serait moins coûteux et fastidieux pour la société d’assurances.

Le BSIF convient qu’un actuaire travaillant pour un cabinet d’audit externe est suffisamment indépendant pour être un examinateur. Le libellé de la ligne directrice a été modifié pour indiquer clairement que le recours à l’actuaire du cabinet d’audit externe peut convenir aux sociétés de plus petite taille et moins complexes.

Cela dit, le BSIF s’attend à ce que les grandes sociétés complexes fassent appel à un examinateur qui ne fait pas partie de leur cabinet d’audit externe. Tout en reconnaissant l’indépendance des cabinets d’audit externes, le BSIF est d’avis qu’un examen distinct et indépendant par des pairs est souhaitable pour donner plus de perspective aux grandes sociétés complexes.

Plusieurs observateurs s’interrogent sur l’utilité du volet didactique de l’examen par des pairs, surtout dans le cas des sociétés dont les ressources internes sont plus vastes que celles de la plupart des examinateurs.

S’il est vrai que les grandes sociétés disposent de vastes ressources, le BSIF estime qu’il est utile pour l’actuaire désigné d’une grande société de recevoir des conseils indépendants de la part d’un tiers. Les sociétés de plus petite taille utiliseront davantage les conseils de l’examinateur au sujet des pratiques acceptées par le secteur et des façons d’améliorer leurs travaux. Du reste, l’examen par des pairs n’est pas la seule source de perfectionnement professionnel à la disposition de l’actuaire désigné.

Plusieurs observateurs ont émis des réserves au sujet du moment de l’examen par des pairs lorsque celui-ci précède le dépôt du rapport de l’actuaire désigné. Ce dernier document n’est habituellement pas établi selon le même calendrier que les relevés de type VIE-1.

La rubrique pertinente de la ligne directrice a été modifiée pour tenir compte de ce problème. On y reconnaît maintenant qu’il peut y avoir plus d’un rapport d’examen par des pairs. Par exemple, un rapport distinct sur le contenu du rapport de l’actuaire désigné peut être déposé après le rapport d’examen par des pairs portant sur l’évaluation des états financiers.

Certains observateurs estiment que les exigences de l’examen par des pairs devraient varier selon la société et reposer sur la taille et le profil de risque de cette dernière. D’aucuns ont aussi suggéré que si l’actuaire désigné est un actuaire-conseil externe, un examen additionnel par des pairs ne devrait pas être requis.

Le BSIF est d’avis que les exigences de base à l’égard de l’examen par des pairs devraient être les mêmes pour toutes les sociétés. L’examinateur est censé tenir compte de l’importance relative et de la situation de la société pour déterminer l’ampleur des travaux à effectuer. Même si l’actuaire désigné est un expert-conseil externe, un examen par des pairs demeure nécessaire.

D’après certains observateurs, il faudrait donner plus de consignes au sujet du niveau d’importance relative à appliquer à l’examen par des pairs, surtout en marge de l’examen annuel obligatoire des changements importants des méthodes et des hypothèses d’évaluation.

La ligne directrice renferme une nouvelle rubrique sur l’importance relative. Des exemples de ce qui constitue un changement important de l’évaluation du passif des polices ont été ajoutés pour plus de clarté.

La ligne directrice ne quantifie pas l’importance relative, mais elle prend appui sur le jugement professionnel de l’actuaire désigné et de l’examinateur dans les circonstances. Selon les normes de pratique de l’Institut canadien des actuaires, l’importance relative doit être jugée dans l’optique du principal utilisateur des travaux. Les attentes du BSIF s’appliquent à un niveau plus détaillé que l’optique de l’auditeur externe à l’égard de l’importance relative. La ligne directrice stipule donc que l’importance relative devrait être adaptée à la branche d’activité qui fait l’objet des hypothèses.

La version provisoire de la ligne directrice stipulait que l’examen par des pairs devrait notamment porter sur le processus de simulation de crise employé par la société (ligne directrice E-18) et sur l’évaluation interne des risques et de la solvabilité (Own Risk and Solvency Assessment ou ORSA). D’après certains observateurs, ces deux questions ne relèvent pas de l’actuaire désigné puisqu’elles ne font l’objet d’aucune norme professionnelle.

Le BSIF se range à cette suggestion : les mentions de la ligne directrice E-18 et de l’ORSA ont été supprimées. Il continue de s’attendre à ce que l’examinateur évalue l’EDSC.

Certains observateurs étaient inquiets du fait que la ligne directrice semblait exiger un examen complet de l’EDSC chaque année, ce qu’ils jugeaient excessif.

Ce n’était pas le but de la ligne directrice. Le libellé a été modifié pour indiquer clairement que l’EDSC ne devrait faire l’objet d’un examen complet que tous les trois ans. L’examen annuel ne devrait être qu’un exercice sommaire effectué avec l’actuaire désigné et ne devrait porter que sur la justification des scénarios à employer, et non sur la méthode de production des résultats de ces scénarios.

Certains observateurs ont exprimé des réserves à propos du passage selon lequel le rapport d’examen par des pairs devrait renfermer un sommaire des discussions entre l’examinateur et l’actuaire désigné et faire état du règlement de tout désaccord. Ils estimaient que les discussions pourraient être fragmentaires s’il fallait en rendre compte au BSIF.

Cette observation est juste puisque l’examen par des pairs vise à fournir des conseils indépendants à l’actuaire désigné. L’obligation de discuter de tout désaccord a donc été supprimée.

Les observateurs ont suggéré de nombreux autres petits changements du libellé de certains passages précis.

Bon nombre de ces suggestions étaient très utiles et ont été intégrées à la version révisée de la ligne directrice.