Foreign Entities Operating in Canada on a Branch Basis

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Draft Guideline
  • Category: Sound Business and Financial Practices
  • Date: October 2020
  • No: E-4
  • Audiences: FBBs / Life/ P&C

I. Purpose and Scope of the Guideline

This guideline communicates OSFI’s expectations with respect to foreign entities operating in Canada on a branch basis (Branches).Footnote 1

A Branch is not a separate legal entity; rather, the Canadian branch is an extension or presence of the foreign entity in Canada. OSFI is not the solvency regulator of the foreign entity as a whole; OSFI supervises the foreign entity’s business in Canada, including compliance with the requirements of the Bank Act (BA) and the Insurance Companies Act (ICA), and applicable OSFI guidance.Footnote 2

As part of its Supervisory Framework, OSFI evaluates Branch operations in accordance with the statutory regimes set out in the BA and ICA, and against the expectations set out in this guideline and other applicable OSFI guidance.

II. Branch Management

Branch Management is composed of individuals who have the authority and responsibility of overseeing the business in Canada for, or on behalf of, the foreign entity. This may include the chief agent of a foreign insurance Branch or the principal officer of a foreign bank Branch, and senior officers of the foreign entity located in or outside Canada.Footnote 3 OSFI expects the composition of Branch Management to be commensurate with the overall size and complexity of the foreign entity’s federally regulated business in Canada.

OSFI expects Branch Management to be responsible for the effective implementation and oversight of:

  • Business objectives, strategies and plans specific to the business in Canada;
  • Risk management policies and procedures tailored for the size, nature, complexity of operations, and risk profile of the Branch's operationsFootnote 4;
  • Controls to manage the risks pertaining to the business in Canada;
  • Policies and procedures to manage the assets and liabilities recorded on the Branch's books and related accounts; and
  • Independent assessments of the adequacy and effectiveness of the controls, policies and procedures referenced aboveFootnote 5.

In order to conduct the above activities, Branch Management is expected to have a thorough understanding of all applicable Canadian legislation, regulations, guidelines and any other supervisory or regulatory matters related to the foreign entity’s federally regulated business in Canada carried on through the Branch. Branch Management should also receive sufficiently comprehensive and frequent reports to satisfy these expectations.

OSFI expects Branch Management to have a comprehensive, in-depth understanding of the foreign entity’s federally regulated business in Canada carried on through the Branch. OSFI expects Branch Management to be responsible for, and have the necessary authority to carry out, the overall management of that business in Canada. In conducting its oversight activities, Branch Management should be satisfied that strategies, business plans, and policies are appropriate for the business in Canada and comply with relevant Canadian regulatory requirements.

III. Administration of the Business in Canada

A. Arrangements with the Foreign Entity’s Home Office

In situations where the foreign entity’s home office performs material functions on behalf of the Branch, either directly or through its own outsourcing arrangements, OSFI expects Branch Management to document such arrangements with the foreign entity’s home office in written service level agreements.Footnote 6

In particular, any arrangements that involve the flow of funds between the foreign entity’s home office and its Branch should be clearly documented. The details of such arrangements should be provided to OSFI. Branch Management should provide OSFI with 30-days advance notice of any proposed fund transfer(s), or series of proposed fund transfers, to the foreign entity’s home office that materially deviate from the documented process provided to OSFI.

B. Record Keeping

The ICA and BA contain requirements with respect to certain records that Branches must prepare and maintain regarding their business in Canada (the Records).

OSFI expects the Records to be updated and accurate as at the end of each business day, and that the Records will be sufficiently detailed to enable:

  • OSFI to conduct an examination and inquiry into the business of the Branch;
  • OSFI to manage the Branch’s assets, prior to the appointment of a liquidator, should the Superintendent take control of the Branch’s assets in Canada; and
  • The liquidator to conduct an effective liquidation of the Branch’s assets in Canada.

Electronic Records must be capable of being reproduced in intelligible written form within a reasonable period of time. OSFI expects electronic Records to be accessible and intelligible without incurring additional costs and using readily available commercial applications. For certain types of information, such as reinsurance arrangements or files on more complex activities, reproduced electronic records may not be sufficient for OSFI’s review. OSFI may request that the original hard copy be available at the Branch in Canada, as needed.

Branches under the BA are required to keep copies of the Records at the principal office in Canada of the authorized foreign bank, or at any other place in Canada that the principal officer thinks fit. Branches under the ICA are required to keep copies of the Records at the chief agency of the foreign company in Canada. If the Records are in electronic form, complete copies must be kept on a computer server physically located at the places stipulated in the BA and ICA.Footnote 7

Certain Branches under the BA and ICA are exempted from the requirement to keep copies of the Records at the above noted places in Canada. In those circumstances, the Branch must provide OSFI with immediate, direct, complete and ongoing access to the Records that are stored outside Canada. 

IV. Supervision of Branches

The home country regulator of the foreign entity is the primary regulator. OSFI’s supervisory role is limited to the foreign entity’s federally regulated business in Canada.

A. OSFI’s Supervisory Assessment

OSFI supervises the foreign entity’s business in Canada, including compliance with the requirements of the BA and ICA, and applicable OSFI guidance. OSFI will undertake a number of activities, including discussions with Branch Management, in order to assess the adequacy of the management and oversight of the foreign entity’s federally regulated business in Canada.

The foreign entity, through its designated Branch Management, is ultimately accountable to OSFI for its federally regulated business in Canada, as well as its compliance with Canadian federal legislative and regulatory requirements. OSFI expects Branch Management to be knowledgeable of the results of OSFI’s supervisory work and to develop and oversee an appropriate response to any supervisory expectations.

Open communication between Branch Management and OSFI, on an ongoing basis, helps promote the mutual trust and confidence essential for OSFI’s approach to supervision to be effective. Accordingly, OSFI expects to be promptly notified of substantive issues and changes affecting the management and operations of the Branch.

OSFI expects Branch Management to respond to all communications and requests for information from OSFI in a timely and thorough manner.

B. Changes to Members of Branch Management

OSFI expects the foreign entity to notify OSFI, as early as possible in the process, of any potential changes to the members of Branch Management, and any circumstances that may adversely affect their suitability.

Information regarding the qualifications of Branch Management should be provided to OSFI.

C. Legislative Requirements and Supervisory Expectations

OSFI expects all foreign entities operating in Canada on a Branch basis to, at all times, remain in compliance with the legislative requirements of the BA and ICA, and the supervisory and regulatory expectations set out in this Guideline, and all other applicable OSFI guidance.

Where these requirements and expectations are not, in OSFI’s view, being satisfied by the foreign entity, OSFI may apply additional supervisory and regulatory measures to the foreign entity in respect of its Branch.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

For greater certainty, the terms “foreign entity” and “foreign entities” refer to both banks that carry on business in Canada, and foreign entities that insure in Canada risks, on a branch basis under Part XII.1 of the BA and Part XIII of the ICA, respectively.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

This guideline complements legislative and regulatory requirements in the BA and ICA, and the expectations set out in other relevant OSFI guidance documents (e.g., guidelines, advisories, rulings), applicable to Branches.

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

The ICA and the BA contain requirements with regards to the appointment of a chief agent or principal officer, respectively, through a power of attorney. Through this appointment, the chief agent or principal officer, as the case may be, must be the foreign entity’s legal agent in Canada for the receipt of notices from the Superintendent and Minister, as well as any other legal documents.

Return to footnote 3

Footnote 4

The policies and procedures should include, among other elements, appropriate goals, benchmarks, parameters and limits as to the amount of risk related to the business in Canada that the foreign entity is willing to accept.

Return to footnote 4

Footnote 5

Independent assessment may be obtained from individuals or groups designated with that role, such as internal audit or risk management (either at the Branch or the foreign entity’s home office), or qualified third parties. Branch Management should be cognizant of any assessments conducted by the foreign entity’s home office relevant to the Canadian business and any resulting implications.

Return to footnote 5

Footnote 6

These written service level agreements should incorporate the contract for services elements outlined in Guideline B-10 Outsourcing of Business Activities, Functions and Processes.

Return to footnote 6

Footnote 7

Please see ss. 597(2) of the BA, and ss. 647(3) of the ICA.

Return to footnote 7

Entités étrangères exploitant une succursale au Canada

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication: Projet de ligne directrice
  • Catégorie : Saines pratiques commerciales et financières
  • Date : Octobre 2020
  • No : E-4
  • Public : SBE / SAV / SAM

I. Objet et portée de la ligne directrice

La présente ligne directrice énonce les attentes du BSIF à l’égard des entités étrangères qui exploitent des succursales au CanadaNote de bas de page 1.

Une succursale n’est pas une entité juridique distincte; elle est plutôt une prolongation ou une présence de l’entité étrangère au Canada. Le BSIF ne réglemente pas la solvabilité de l’entité étrangère dans son ensemble; il surveille les activités de l’entité étrangère au Canada, y compris la conformité aux exigences de la Loi sur les banques (LB) et de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances (LSA), ainsi qu’aux directives pertinentes du BSIFNote de bas de page 2.

Aux termes de son Cadre de surveillance, le BSIF évalue les activités des succursales conformément aux régimes législatifs énoncés dans la LB et la LSA et aux attentes énoncées dans la présente ligne directrice et dans d’autres directives pertinentes du BSIF.

II. Direction de la succursale

La direction des succursales est composée de personnes qui ont le pouvoir et la responsabilité de superviser les activités au Canada pour l’entité étrangère ou pour son compte. Il peut s’agir de l’agent principal d’une succursale de société d’assurance étrangère ou du dirigeant principal d’une succursale de banque étrangère, ainsi que des cadres supérieurs de l’entité étrangère se trouvant au Canada ou à l’étrangerNote de bas de page 3. Le BSIF s’attend à ce que la composition de la direction des succursales soit proportionnelle à l’ampleur et à la complexité globales des activités sous réglementation fédérale de l’entité étrangère au Canada.

Le BSIF s’attend à ce que la direction de la succursale réponde de la mise en œuvre et de la supervision efficaces :

  • des objectifs, stratégies et plans d’affaires propres aux activités au Canada;
  • de politiques et procédures de gestion des risques adaptées à l’ampleur, à la nature, à la complexité et au profil de risque des opérations de la succursaleNote de bas de page 4;
  • de contrôles, pour gérer les risques liés aux activités au Canada;
  • de politiques et procédures de gestion des actifs et des passifs inscrits aux livres de la succursale et aux comptes connexes;
  • des évaluations indépendantes de la pertinence et de l’efficacité des contrôles, politiques et procédures mentionnés ci-dessusNote de bas de page 5.

Pour mener à bien les activités susmentionnées, la direction de la succursale doit bien comprendre l’ensemble des lois, règlements et lignes directrices en vigueur au Canada ainsi que toute autre question de surveillance ou de réglementation liée aux activités sous réglementation fédérale de l’entité étrangère au Canada qui sont exercées par l’entremise de la succursale. La direction de la succursale doit également recevoir des rapports suffisamment complets et fréquents pour répondre à ces attentes.

Le BSIF s’attend à ce que la direction de la succursale ait une compréhension exhaustive et approfondie des activités sous réglementation fédérale que l’entité étrangère exerce au Canada par l’entremise de la succursale. Il s’attend à ce que la direction de la succursale réponde de la gestion globale de ces activités au Canada et ait les pouvoirs nécessaires pour l’exercer. Dans le cadre de ses activités de supervision, la direction de la succursale doit être d’avis que les stratégies, les plans d’affaires et les politiques conviennent aux activités au Canada et respectent les exigences réglementaires canadiennes pertinentes.

III. Administration des affaires au Canada

A. Ententes avec l’établissement principal de l’entité étrangère

Dans les cas où l’établissement principal de l’entité étrangère exécute des fonctions importantes pour le compte de la succursale, directement ou par le biais de ses propres ententes d’impartition, le BSIF s’attend à ce que la direction de la succursale documente ces ententes avec l’établissement principal de l’entité étrangère dans des ententes écrites sur les niveaux de serviceNote de bas de page 6.

En particulier, tout accord prévoyant un flux de fonds entre l’établissement principal de l’entité étrangère et sa succursale doit être clairement documenté. Les détails de ces ententes doivent être fournis au BSIF. La direction de la succursale doit aviser le BSIF 30 jours à l’avance de tout transfert de fonds proposé ou de toute série de transferts de fonds proposés à l’établissement principal de l’entité étrangère qui déroge sensiblement au processus documenté fourni au BSIF.

B. Tenue de documents

La LSA et la LB renferment des exigences à l’égard de certains documents que les succursales doivent préparer et tenir à jour concernant leurs activités au Canada (les « documents »).

Le BSIF s’attend à ce que les documents soient mis à jour et exacts à la fin de chaque jour ouvrable, et à ce qu’ils soient suffisamment détaillés pour permettre :

  • au BSIF d’examiner et d’analyser les activités et affaires de la succursale;
  • au BSIF de gérer les actifs de la succursale avant la nomination d’un liquidateur si le surintendant prend le contrôle des actifs de la succursale au Canada;
  • au liquidateur de procéder à une liquidation efficace des actifs de la succursale au Canada.

Les documents électroniques doivent pouvoir être reproduits sous une forme écrite intelligible dans un délai raisonnable. Le BSIF s’attend à ce que les documents électroniques soient accessibles et intelligibles sans engager de coûts supplémentaires et en utilisant des applications commerciales facilement accessibles. Pour certains types de renseignements comme les accords de réassurance ou les dossiers sur des activités plus complexes, il se peut que les registres électroniques reproduits ne soient pas suffisants aux fins d’examen par le BSIF. Celui-ci peut exiger que le document imprimé original soit disponible au besoin à la succursale au Canada.

Les succursales assujetties à la LB doivent conserver des copies des documents au bureau principal au Canada de la banque étrangère autorisée ou à tout autre endroit au Canada que le dirigeant principal juge approprié. Les succursales assujetties à la LSA doivent conserver des copies des documents à l’agence principale de la société étrangère au Canada. Si les documents sont sous forme électronique, des copies complètes doivent être conservées sur un serveur situé aux endroits prévus par la LB et la LSANote de bas de page 7.

Certaines succursales visées par la LB et la LSA ne sont pas tenues de conserver des copies des documents aux endroits susmentionnés au Canada. Dans ces circonstances, la succursale doit fournir au BSIF un accès immédiat, direct, complet et continu aux documents conservés à l’extérieur du Canada.

IV. Surveillance des succursales

L’organisme de réglementation du pays d’attache de l’entité étrangère est le principal organisme de réglementation. Le rôle de surveillance du BSIF se limite aux activités sous réglementation fédérale de l’entité étrangère au Canada.

A. Évaluation prudentielle par le BSIF

Le BSIF surveille les activités de l’entité étrangère au Canada, y compris la conformité aux exigences de la LB et de la LSA et aux directives pertinentes du BSIF. Il entreprendra certaines activités, y compris des discussions avec la direction de la succursale, afin d’évaluer la pertinence de la gestion et de la supervision des activités sous réglementation fédérale de l’entité étrangère au Canada.

Par l’entremise de sa direction de succursale désignée, l’entité étrangère est responsable en dernier ressort devant le BSIF de ses activités sous réglementation fédérale au Canada et de sa conformité aux exigences législatives et réglementaires fédérales canadiennes. Le BSIF s’attend à ce que la direction de la succursale connaisse bien les résultats des travaux de surveillance du BSIF et qu’elle élabore et supervise une réponse appropriée aux attentes en matière de surveillance.

Une communication ouverte et continue entre la direction de la succursale et le BSIF contribue à promouvoir la confiance mutuelle essentielle à l’efficacité de l’approche du BSIF en matière de surveillance. Par conséquent, le BSIF s’attend à être rapidement avisé des questions de fond et des changements touchant la gestion et les activités de la succursale.

Le BSIF s’attend à ce que la direction de la succursale réponde à toutes ses communications et demandes de renseignements en temps opportun et de manière exhaustive.

B. Modification de la composition de la direction de la succursale

Le BSIF s’attend à ce que l’entité étrangère l’avise, le plus tôt possible au cours du processus, de tout changement potentiel dans la composition de la direction de la succursale et de toute circonstance pouvant nuire à l’aptitude de ces personnes.

L’information concernant les compétences des dirigeants des succursales doit être fournie au BSIF.

C. Exigences législatives et attentes en matière de surveillance

Le BSIF s’attend à ce que toutes les entités étrangères exploitant une succursale au Canada respectent en tout temps les exigences législatives de la LB et de la LSA, les attentes en matière de surveillance et de réglementation énoncées dans la présente ligne directrice et toutes les autres consignes pertinentes du BSIF.

Si, de l’avis du BSIF, l’entité étrangère ne satisfait pas à ces exigences et attentes, le BSIF peut lui appliquer d’autres mesures de surveillance et de réglementation à l’égard de sa succursale.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Il est entendu que le terme « entité étrangère » désigne à la fois les banques qui exercent des activités au Canada en vertu de la partie XII.1 de la Loi sur les banques et les entités étrangères qui garantissent au Canada des risques par l’entremise de succursales en vertu de la partie XIII de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

La présente ligne directrice complète les exigences législatives et réglementaires de la LB et de la LSA, et les attentes énoncées dans d’autres documents d’orientation pertinents du BSIF (p. ex., lignes directrices, préavis, décisions ayant valeur de précédent) applicables aux succursales.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

La LSA et la LB renferment des exigences relatives à la nomination d’un agent principal ou d’un dirigeant principal, respectivement, au moyen d’une procuration. En vertu de cette nomination, l’agent principal ou le dirigeant principal, selon le cas, doit être le mandataire de l’entité étrangère au Canada pour la réception des avis du surintendant et du ministre, ainsi que de tout autre document juridique.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Les politiques et procédures doivent inclure, entre autres, des objectifs, des points de référence, des paramètres et des limites appropriés quant au niveau de risque lié aux activités au Canada que l’entité étrangère est disposée à accepter.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

L’évaluation indépendante peut être faite par des particuliers ou des groupes à qui ce rôle a été confié, comme l’audit interne ou la gestion des risques (à la succursale ou à l’établissement principal de l’entité étrangère), ou par des tiers qualifiés. La direction de la succursale doit être au courant des évaluations effectuées par l’établissement principal de l’entité étrangère qui sont pertinentes pour les activités au Canada, ainsi que des répercussions qui en découlent.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

Ces ententes écrites sur les niveaux de service doivent intégrer les éléments d’un contrat de services décrits dans la ligne directrice B-10, Impartition d’activités, de fonctions et de méthodes commerciales.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6

Note de bas de page 7

Voir le paragraphe 597(2) de la LB et le paragraphe 647(3) de la LSA.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 7