Minimum Capital Test

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Guideline Impact Analysis Statement
  • Date: October 2017

I. Background

OSFI’s Guideline A, Minimum Capital Test for Property & Casualty Insurance Companies (P&C companies) was originally implemented in 2003.  Each year, OSFI considers whether changes are required to improve the risk measures, address emerging issues and encourage improved risk management.

The guideline provides the framework within which the Superintendent assesses whether a P&C company maintains adequate capital and whether a company operating in Canada on a branch basis maintains an adequate margin.  The guideline describes the capital required using measures based on risks, and defines the capital that is available to meet the minimum standard.

This Guideline Impact Analysis Statement discusses whether and how the current guideline should be updated.

II. Problem Identification

Since the last revision to the guideline, OSFI has received a number of inquiries and requests for clarification from P&C companies. Our review of these inquiries indicated that the guideline would benefit from appropriate revisions to ensure all P&C companies benefit from the clarifications.  The Guideline also contains some outdated transitional arrangements that have expired.  Furthermore, in its effort to gather more information on the business of accident and sickness insurance, OSFI has determined that the related worksheet should be removed from the guideline and relocated to the quarterly statutory returns as a separate exhibit.

III. Objectives

The revisions to the guideline are intended to ensure OSFI’s capital guidance for P&C companies:  

  • incorporates the clarifications provided in respect of inquiries received, 
  • includes revised terminology to allow for improved consistency with the quarterly statutory returns,
  • is more consistent with capital requirements in other financial services sectors, where appropriate, and
  • no longer contains provisions for transitional arrangements that have expired.

IV. Consultations

On June 15th, 2017, OSFI published on its website a draft version of the 2018 guideline for consultation. Subsequently, OSFI received comments on the revisions introduced in the draft guideline. OSFI considered the comments received during the public consultation period and determined that no substantive changes were needed for the final version of 2018 guideline. However, a few minor amendments were made to further improve the overall consistency and clarity.

V. Recommendation

It is recommended that a final version of the 2018 guideline be published on OSFI’s website.

VI Implementation

The 2018 guideline will be effective as of January 1, 2018.

Test du capital minimal

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Résumé de l’étude d’impact de la ligne directrice
  • Date : Octobre 2017

I. Contexte

La ligne directrice A, Test du capital minimal à l’intention des sociétés fédérales d’assurances multirisques (ligne directrice sur le TCM), du BSIF a été mise en œuvre en 2003. Chaque année, le BSIF détermine s’il doit la modifier dans le but d’améliorer les mesures du risque, de tenir compte des problèmes émergents et de favoriser une meilleure gestion du risque.

La ligne directrice sur le TCM établit le cadre à l’intérieur duquel le surintendant détermine si une société d’assurances multirisques maintient un niveau de capital adéquat et si une société d’assurances multirisques étrangère exploitant une succursale au Canada maintient une marge adéquate. Elle décrit le capital requis à l’aide de mesures en fonction du risque et définit le capital disponible pour répondre aux exigences minimales.

Le présent résumé de l’étude d’impact de la ligne directrice se demande s’il y a lieu de réviser la ligne directrice sur le TCM et, le cas échéant, comment il faut procéder.  

II. Définition du problème

Depuis la dernière révision de la ligne directrice, le BSIF a reçu quelques questions et demandes de précisions provenant de sociétés d’assurances multirisques, ce qui indique qu’il y aurait lieu de réviser la ligne directrice afin que tous les assureurs multirisques puissent prendre connaissance des précisions. En outre, il y a, dans la ligne directrice, certaines mesures transitoires qui ne sont plus en vigueur. Enfin, dans le cadre de ses efforts pour recueillir plus d’information sur la catégorie d’assurance contre les accidents et la maladie, le BSIF a transféré la grille de calcul de la ligne directrice dans le relevé réglementaire trimestriel sous forme d’un tableau distinct.

III. Objectifs

Les révisions apportées à la ligne directrice ont pour objet de garantir que les consignes du BSIF en matière de capital pour les sociétés d’assurances multirisques :  

  • tiennent compte des précisions fournies concernant les demandes de renseignements;   
  • soient rédigées de façon à ce que la terminologie utilisée dans la ligne directrice et dans le relevé réglementaire trimestriel soit plus uniforme;
  • soient plus cohérentes avec les exigences de capital en vigueur dans d’autres secteurs de services financiers;
  • ne contiennent plus de dispositions périmées aux fins des mesures transitoires.

IV. Consultations

Le 15 juin 2017, le BSIF a publié sur son site Web une nouvelle version à l’étude de sa ligne directrice de 2018 pour consultation. Les professionnels du secteur des assurances multirisques lui ont fait part de leurs observations. Le BSIF a pris connaissance de ces observations à la fin de la période de consultation et conclu qu’aucune modification substantielle n’était requise à cette étape finale du processus. Il a cependant apporté quelques modifications d’ordre mineur à seule fin de rendre le texte plus uniforme et plus clair.

V. Recommandation

Il est recommandé que le BSIF publie la version finale de sa ligne directrice de 2018 sur son site Web.

VI. Mise en œuvre

La ligne directrice de 2018 entrera en vigueur le 1er janvier 2018.