Mortgage Insurer Capital Adequacy Test

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Guideline Impact Analysis Statement
  • Date: August 2018

I. Background

In January 2017, OSFI implemented a new regulatory capital framework for mortgage insurance. The new framework is described in the January 1, 2017 Advisory Capital Requirements for Federally Regulated Mortgage Insurers (Advisory). This Advisory, together with the relevant portions of the Guideline Minimum Capital Test for Federally Regulated Property and Casualty Insurance Companies (MCT Guideline) defines the framework within which OSFI assesses whether a mortgage insurance company maintains adequate capital.

II. Problem Identification

  • OSFI developed the MCT Guideline for companies that write property and casualty (P&C) insurance. Although mortgage insurers are legally P&C insurance companies, the coverage they provide is quite different from other P&C insurers. Defining the regulatory capital framework for mortgage insurers using two documents – the January 1, 2017 Advisory and portions of the MCT Guideline – rather than one creates challenges for the companies as well as other stakeholders.

  • Effective January 1, 2019, the new International Accounting Standard on lease accounting (IFRS 16) comes into force. Among other things, IFRS 16 will require previously off-balance sheet operating leases to be included on the balance sheet. An adjustment to the mortgage insurance guideline is required to account for the lease liabilities and related assets.

  • OSFI is concurrently updating Guideline B-5 – Asset Securitization. As a result, capital requirements for mortgage insurers, factors and other adjustments to the mortgage insurance guideline are required.

III. Objectives

Given the fundamental differences in the business model and capital requirements of mortgage insurance companies as compared to other property and casualty insurance companies, OSFI believes it appropriate to create a single document that incorporates all elements of the regulatory capital framework for mortgage insurers. Having a separate guideline will also allow OSFI to tailor the capital guideline to the mortgage insurers going forward.

In addition, including guidance with respect to upcoming implementation of IFRS 16 and changes to Guideline B-5 – Asset Securitization will ensure that the mortgage insurance guideline will be effective and reflective of the developments in the mortgage insurance industry.

IV. Recommendation

OSFI recommends creating a separate capital guideline entitled Mortgage Insurer Capital Adequacy Test for mortgage insurers. The new guideline should amalgamate the January 1, 2017 Advisory and the relevant chapters of the 2018 MCT Guideline, with references to P&C insurance, P&C insurers and foreign branches removed.

Based on consultations with the mortgage insurers, OSFI also recommends streamlining the requirements for single-family residential mortgages as follows:

  • Base the requirements on borrower credit scores at origination and remove references to credit score updating.
  • Increase the requirements uniformly by 5% to allow for deterioration in borrower credit scores after origination.
  • Simplify the transition arrangements.

In addition, in preparation for IFRS 16 implementation and changes to Guideline B-5 – Asset Securitization, the guideline will:

  • Introduce credit risk capital charges to right-of-use assets resulting from the implementation of IFRS 16; and
  • Update the credit risk factors for securitized assets and transfer the updated risk factors from Guideline B-5 – Asset Securitization to the mortgage insurance guideline.

It is recommended that the guideline Mortgage Insurer Capital Adequacy Test be effective in 2019.

V. Implementation

The new capital guideline will come into effect on January 1, 2019. OSFI will monitor the effectiveness of the new guideline and make any necessary modifications when the guideline is next updated in 2021.

Test de suffisance du capital des sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Résumé de l’étude d’impact de la ligne directrice
  • Date : Août 2018

I. Contexte

En janvier 2017, le BSIF a instauré un nouveau cadre de capital réglementaire pour l’assurance hypothécaire. On le décrit dans le préavis intitulé Exigences de capital des sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire fédérales (le préavis) publié le 1er janvier 2017. Le préavis de même que les sections pertinentes de la ligne directrice Test du capital minimal à l’intention des sociétés d’assurances multirisques fédérales (ligne directrice TCM) définissent le cadre à l’intérieur duquel le BSIF détermine si une société d’assurance hypothécaire maintient un niveau de capital adéquat.

II. Détermination du problème

  • La ligne directrice TCM s’adresse aux sociétés qui souscrivent des assurances multirisques. Bien qu’au sens de la loi, les sociétés d’assurances sont des sociétés d’assurances multirisques, elles offrent une couverture bien différente de celle des autres assureurs multirisques. Le fait de définir le cadre de capital réglementaire des assureurs hypothécaires dans deux documents (le préavis du 1er janvier 2017 et certaines sections de la ligne directrice TCM) au lieu d’un seul apporte certaines difficultés aux assureurs et aux interlocuteurs.

  • À compter du 1er janvier 2019, la nouvelle norme comptable internationale Contrats de location (IFRS 16) entrera en vigueur. La norme IFRS 16 exigera notamment que les contrats de location-exploitation jadis hors bilan figurent désormais au bilan. Un rajustement de la ligne directrice sur le TSAH est requis pour tenir compte du passif des contrats de location et des actifs connexes.

  • Le BSIF met simultanément à jour sa ligne directrice B-5, Titrisation de l’actif, de sorte que les exigences de capital des assureurs hypothécaires, les coefficients et d’autres aspects de la ligne directrice sur le TSAH doivent être ajustés.

III. Objectif

Compte tenu des différences fondamentales entre le modèle d’affaires et les exigences de capital des sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire et ceux des sociétés d’assurances multirisques, le BSIF a cru opportun de réunir en seul document tous les éléments du cadre de capital réglementaire s’appliquant aux assureurs hypothécaires. De cette façon, à l’avenir, le BSIF pourra également personnaliser la ligne directrice sur le capital en fonction des sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire.

De plus, en publiant des consignes sur la mise en œuvre prochaine de la norme IFRS 16 et une version révisée de la ligne directrice B-5, Titrisation de l’actif, le BSIF veille à ce que la ligne directrice s’appliquant aux assureurs hypothécaires soit efficace et qu’elle reflète les faits nouveaux du secteur de l’assurance hypothécaire.

IV. Recommandation

Le BSIF recommande qu’une ligne directrice distincte sur le capital intitulée Test de suffisance du capital des sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire soit créée à l’intention des assureurs hypothécaires. La nouvelle ligne directrice devrait fusionner le préavis du 1er janvier 2017 et les chapitres pertinents de la ligne directrice TCM de 2018, en retirant les références aux assurances multirisques, aux assureurs multirisques et aux succursales étrangères.

À la lumière des commentaires recueillis lors de consultations avec des assureurs hypothécaires, il est également recommandé que les exigences ayant trait aux prêts hypothécaires uni-résidentiels soient simplifiées de la façon suivante :

  • Les exigences devraient se fonder sur la cote de crédit de l’emprunteur à l’émission et les références à l’actualisation de la cote de crédit devraient être retirées.

  • Les exigences devraient être rehaussées uniformément de 5 % pour compenser une détérioration potentielle de la cote de crédit de l’emprunteur après l’émission.

  • Les modalités de transition devraient être simplifiées.

De plus, en prévision de la mise en oeuvre de la norme IFRS 16 et de la révision de la ligne directrice B-5, Titrisation de l’actif, la ligne directrice :

  • Instaurera des exigences de capital pour risque de crédit aux actifs assortis d’un droit d’utilisation résultant de la mise en oeuvre de la norme IFRS 16;

  • Mettra à jour les coefficients de risque de crédit pour les actifs titrisés et transférera les coefficients de risque mis a jour de la ligne directrice B-5, Titrisation de l’actif, à la ligne directrice sur le TSAH.

Il est recommandé que la ligne directrice Test de suffisance du capital des sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire entre en vigueur en 2019.

V. Mise en œuvre

La nouvelle ligne directrice sur le capital entrera en vigueur le 1er janvier 2019. Le BSIF jaugera l’efficacité de la nouvelle ligne directrice et apportera les corrections nécessaires à la prochaine actualisation de la ligne directrice en 2021.