Annual Corporate Certification Return

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Instructions
  • Date: 2015 Revision

Authority

The information provided in the Return is required pursuant to one or more of the following provisions: sections 628 and 950 of the Bank Act, section 495 of the Trust and Loan Companies Act, sections 664 and 993 of the Insurance Companies Act, or section 431 of the Cooperative Credit Associations Act.

Applicability

This return applies to all Federally Regulated Financial Institutions (FRFIs), Foreign Representative Offices (FROs) and Private Pension Plans (PPPs).

General

This return is a return that will be scheduled by OSFI on a yearly basis. At the beginning of your organization’s fiscal year, this return will appear in your Draft Returns folder.

This return must be used to certify on a yearly basis that you have reviewed and updated as appropriate all the corporate information located under your Organization Profile.

For Canadian FRFIs, this return is also used to provide your Annual General Meeting (AGM) Date, which will update your Annual Board Meeting Dates. Annual General Meetings must be held no later than six months after the end of each financial year.

RRS resubmissions are not permitted for this return type. If you identify errors in your profile, you are required to call Returns Administration in order to correct the error(s). This includes changes to existing effective dates.

This return is not subject to the Late and Erroneous Filing Penalty (LEFP) Framework.

Filing Deadlines

For Canadian Domestic Banks and Foreign Bank Subsidiaries, Canadian Life Insurance Companies, Canadian Property & Casualty Insurance Companies, Credit Union Centrals, Trust and Loan Companies, and Co-operative Retail Associations, this return is due within 30 days of the AGM date.

For Canadian Fraternal Benefit Societies, this return is due no later than June 30th of each fiscal year.

For Foreign Bank Branches, Foreign Life Insurance Companies, Foreign Property & Casualty Insurance Companies, Foreign Fraternal Benefit Societies and Foreign Representative Offices, this return is based on your fiscal year end date and is due within 60 days after the fiscal year end.

For Private Pension Plans, this return is based on your fiscal year end date and is due within 6 months after the fiscal year end.

Relevé de l’attestation annuelle

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Instructions
  • Date : Version 2015

Lois habilitantes

L’information fournie dans ce relevé est exigée en vertu de l’une ou l’autre des dispositions législatives suivantes, ou de plusieurs d’entre elles : articles 628 et 950 de la Loi sur les banques, article 495 de la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt, articles 664 et 993 de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances, article 431 de la Loi sur les associations coopératives de crédit.

Applicabilité

Ce relevé s’applique sans exception aux institutions financières fédérales (IFFs), aux bureaux de représentation étrangers et aux régimes de retraite privés.

Objet

Le BSIF exigera que ce relevé soit produit chaque année. Il figurera dans le répertoire Relevés provisoires au début de l’exercice de votre organisation.

Ce relevé doit être utilisé pour attester chaque année que vous avez examiné et mis à jour au besoin tous les renseignements institutionnels contenus dans le profil de l’organisation.

Dans le cas des IFFs canadiennes, ce relevé servira aussi à indiquer la date de votre assemblée générale annuelle, ce qui mettra à jour les dates des réunions du conseil d’administration pour l’année. Les assemblées générales annuelles doivent se tenir dans les six mois qui suivent la fin de chaque exercice.

Il n’est pas permis de soumettre une nouvelle version de ce type de relevé dans le SDR. Si vous constatez une erreur dans votre profil, notamment une date d’entrée en vigueur erronée, vous devez téléphoner à l’Administration des relevés pour la signaler.

Ce rapport n’est pas assujetti au Cadre de pénalité pour production tardive ou erronée.

Échéancier

Dans le cas des banques canadiennes et des filiales de banques étrangères, des sociétés canadiennes d’assurance‑vie et aux sociétés canadiennes d’assurances multirisques, aux centrales de caisses de crédit, aux sociétés de fiducie et de prêt et aux associations coopératives de détail, le relevé doit être produit dans les 30 jours suivant la date de l’assemblée générale annuelle.

Dans le cas des sociétés canadiennes de secours mutuels, le relevé doit être produit avant le 30 juin de chaque année fiscale.

Dans le cas des succursales de banques étrangères, des sociétés étrangères d’assurance-vie, des sociétés étrangères d’assurances multirisques, des sociétés étrangères  de secours mutuels et des bureaux de représentation étrangers, la date de ce relevé se fonde sur celle de la fin de votre exercice et doit être produit dans les 60 jours suivant la fin de l’exercice.

Dans le cas des régimes de retraite privés, la date de ce relevé se fonde sur celle de la fin de votre exercice et il doit être produit dans les six mois suivant la fin de l’exercice.