News Release-External Peer Review Process

Chief Actuary of Canada unveils external peer review panel for Actuarial Report on the CPP

OTTAWA - September 12, 2013 – The Office of the Chief Actuary (OCA) has announced the establishment of a panel of actuaries to review the 26th Actuarial Report on the Canada Pension Plan (CPP).

Produced every three years, the Actuarial Report on the CPP is considered by the federal and provincial Ministers of Finance when reviewing and making recommendations on the CPP. This is the sixth external peer review of the CPP Actuarial Report. The external peer review process has been in place since 1999 and has generated a number of valuable recommendations that have been a source for continued improvements in the quality and transparency of actuarial reports.

The panel members are all Fellows of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries (CIA). The panel comprises Dr. Robert L. Brown, who is the current President-Elect of the International Actuarial Association (IAA) and also serves as an Officer of the organization and as a member of the Nominations Committee and Chair of the IAA Leaders’ Forum and Strategic Planning Subcommittee; Mr. Mark W. Campbell, a former member of the CIA Actuarial Standards Board; and Mr. Thomas D. Levy, a current member of the U.S. Actuarial Standards Board and former Vice-Chair of the CIA's Practice Standards Council. Each panel member has extensive experience in pension plan actuarial valuation and is a previous reviewer of the CPP Actuarial Report. Dr. Robert L. Brown will serve as Chair of the panel.

To ensure impartiality and to enhance the credibility of the peer review process, the globally recognized social security experts at the United Kingdom Government Actuary's Department (GAD) have selected the panel members and will also provide an independent opinion on the work done by the reviewers.

“The independent peer reviews of actuarial reports on the Canada Pension Plan have proven to be an authoritative reference for the quality of work conducted and help to promote Canadians’ confidence in the valuation of this important program.  All of the panel reviewers are of the highest caliber, and I look forward to the results of their work,” says Canada's Chief Actuary, Jean-Claude Ménard.

The tabling of the Actuarial Report on the CPP is expected to take place before year end. After the report is tabled, the panel will have three months to perform its review and prepare a report. Once the GAD has issued its opinion, the review panel’s report and GAD’s opinion will be made public.

Previous CPP Actuarial Reports, independent reviews, and GAD’s opinions are available at the following link: http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca/osfi/index_e.aspx?ArticleID=497

The Office of the Chief Actuary operates independently within the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) and provides actuarial services for key government plans and programs such as the CPP, Old Age Security, Canada Student Loans Program, and pension and benefit plans that cover public servants, Members of Parliament, and the Canadian Forces among other groups.

Media Contact:

Annik Faucher
OSFI - Communications and Consultations
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613 949-8401

Communiqué: Examen du RPC par des pairs indépendants

L’actuaire en chef du Canada dévoile la composition du comité de pairs chargé de la revue du Rapport actuariel sur le RPC

OTTAWA – Le 12 septembre 2013 – Le Bureau de l’actuaire en chef (BAC) a annoncé la mise sur pied d’un comité d’actuaires chargé d’évaluer la qualité du 26e Rapport actuariel sur le Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC).

Produit tous les trois ans, le Rapport actuariel sur le RPC compte parmi les documents sur lesquels s’appuient le ministre fédéral et les ministres provinciaux des Finances pour examiner le RPC et formuler des recommandations à son sujet. Il s’agira de la sixième revue par les pairs du rapport actuariel sur le RPC. Instaurée en 1999, cette procédure de vérification externe a donné lieu à un certain nombre de recommandations utiles qui ont permis d’améliorer en continu la qualité et la transparence des rapports actuariels.

Les membres du comité sont tous Fellows de l’Institut canadien des actuaires (ICA). Le comité est composé de Dr Robert L. Brown, qui cumule les fonctions suivantes auprès de l’Association actuarielle internationale (AAI) : président désigné actuel, dirigeant, membre du Comité des mises en candidature, et président du Forum des leaders et du Sous‑comité de la planification stratégique; de M. Mark W. Campbell,  ancien membre du Conseil des normes actuarielles de l’ICA, ainsi que de M. Thomas D. Levy, membre actuel de l’Actuarial Standards Board (États-Unis) et  ancien vice‑président de la Direction de la pratique actuarielle de l’ICA. Tous possèdent une vaste expérience en matière d’évaluation actuarielle des régimes de retraite et ont déjà participé à la revue du Rapport actuariel sur le RPC dans le passé. C’est Dr Robert L. Brown qui assurera la présidence du comité.

Par souci d’impartialité, et afin d’assurer la crédibilité de la revue par les pairs, ce sont les experts en sécurité sociale de réputation mondiale du Government Actuary’s Department (GAD) (Royaume-Uni) qui ont sélectionné les membres du comité et qui émettront une opinion indépendante sur le travail accompli par les réviseurs.

« La revue  indépendante par les pairs des rapports actuariels sur le RPC a fait figure de référence en raison de la qualité du travail accompli et contribue à accroître la confiance des Canadiens dans les évaluations de cet important programme. Les membres du comité sont tous du plus haut calibre et c’est pourquoi j’attends avec intérêt les résultats de leur travail », a fait savoir M. Jean-Claude Ménard, l’actuaire en chef du Canada.

On s’attend à ce que le dépôt du Rapport actuariel sur le RPC ait lieu d’ici à la fin de l’année, après quoi le comité disposera de trois mois pour procéder à la revue et dresser son rapport. Une fois que le GAD aura fait connaître son opinion, le rapport du comité et l’opinion du GAD seront rendus publics.

On trouvera au lien suivant les précédents Rapports actuariels sur le RPC ainsi que les revues indépendantes et les opinions du GAD produites antérieurement : http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca/osfi/index_f.aspx?ArticleID=497.

Le BAC est un organisme indépendant au sein du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) et il rend des services actuariels à l’égard des principaux régimes et programmes gouvernementaux, dont le RPC, la Sécurité de la vieillesse, le Programme canadien de prêts aux étudiants et les régimes de retraite et d’avantages sociaux de divers groupes, tels que les fonctionnaires fédéraux, les parlementaires et les Forces canadiennes.

Relations de presse

Annik Faucher
Communications et consultations, BSIF
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401