Peter Routledge

Profile photo 

 

Superintendent

Peter Routledge was appointed Superintendent of Financial Institutions in June 2021, for a seven-year term.

He previously served as the President and Chief Executive Officer of Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation (CDIC) beginning in November 2018. While at CDIC, Mr. Routledge led a successful transformation of CDIC’s culture, strategy, and technology vision. Mr. Routledge has extensive experience in Canada’s financial sector. Prior to joining CDIC, he was a Senior Advisor at the Department of Finance where he provided advice on a range of policy issues including financial stability, housing finance, and competition in Canadian financial services.

Mr. Routledge has held a variety of leadership roles in the financial services industry, both in Canada and abroad. He served as managing director of research at National Bank Financial, where he led a team responsible for producing equity, fixed income, and derivatives research on Canadian financial institutions. Prior to that, Mr. Routledge led the Canadian Financial Institutions Group at Moody’s Canada, with responsibilities for covering issuers in the banking, life insurance, personal and commercial insurance and reinsurance industries in Canada and the United States.

Mr. Routledge holds an MBA from INSEAD in France, and a bachelor’s degree in business and economics from Simon Fraser University.

Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is an independent agency of the Government of Canada, established in 1987, to protect depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan members, while allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

​​

Peter Routledge

Profile photo 

 

Surintendant

Peter Routledge ​a été nommé surintendant des institutions financières en juin 2021 au titre d’un mandat de sept ans.

Il a auparavant été président et chef de la direction de la Société d'assurance-dépôts du Canada (SADC) à compter de novembre 2018. À ce poste, il a su transformer la culture, la stratégie et la vision technologique de la SADC. M. Routledge possède une riche expérience du secteur des services financiers au Canada. Avant de se joindre à la SADC, il occupait le poste de conseiller principal au ministère des Finances. À ce titre, il prodiguait ses conseils sur un éventail de sujets, de la stabilité financière au financement du logement, en passant par la concurrence dans le secteur des services financiers au Canada.

M. Routledge a occupé des postes de dirigeant dans le secteur des services financiers, au Canada et à l’étranger. Il fut directeur général de la recherche à la Financière Banque Nationale, à la tête d’une équipe chargée de la recherche sur les actions, les titres à revenu fixe et les produits dérivés dans les institutions financières canadiennes. Il aura aussi mené le groupe des institutions financières canadiennes chez Moody’s Canada, axé sur les émetteurs de plusieurs secteurs, des banques à l’assurance vie en passant par l’assurance des particuliers et des entreprises et la réassurance, au Canada et aux États-Unis.

M. Routledge est titulaire d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l’INSEAD, une université en France, ainsi que d’un baccalauréat en administration des affaires et en économie de l’Université Simon Fraser.

Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est un organisme fédéral indépendant fondé en 1987. Il a pour mandat de protéger les déposants, les souscripteurs, les créanciers des institutions financières et les participants des régimes de retraite, tout en permettant aux institutions financières de se mesurer à la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.