Sanjiv Talwar

Profile photo 

 

Assistant Superintendent
Risk Support Sector

Sanjiv Talwar was appointed Assistant Superintendent, Risk Support Sector in September 2019.

In this executive role, Mr. Talwar oversees a wide range of services and functions, including anti-money laundering and compliance, credit risk, market risk, liquidity risk, model risk, corporate governance, operational risk and systemic and sectoral risk surveillance and analytics.

Mr. Talwar has more than 25 years in the financial sector, serving as a senior executive in risk management and trading in multinational banking institutions in Canada, Europe and Asia.

Most recently he was Head of Risk Capital, Stress Testing and Model Development at the Bank of Montreal, where he oversaw the determination of capital demand, including economic capital, regulatory capital and stress capital. He was also accountable for all risk model development and the use of stress testing.

Prior to BMO, Sanjiv was Senior Vice President at OCBC Bank in Singapore, where he held market risk oversight responsibilities for the trading and banking books, asset/liability management, product control and model validation. He was also Senior Vice President at CIBC in Toronto, where he was responsible for Basel II regulatory and economic capital.

His leadership experience also includes roles at Commerzbank Securities in London, where he served as Head of Quantitative Research & Financial Engineering and Head of E-Commerce.

Sanjiv holds a BSc and MSc in Civil Engineering from the University of Waterloo and a PhD in Aerospace Engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is an independent agency of the Government of Canada, established in 1987, to protect depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan members, while allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

Sanjiv Talwar

Photo 

 

Surintendant auxiliaire
Secteur de soutien du risque

Sanjiv Talwar a été nommé surintendant auxiliaire, Secteur de soutien du risque, en septembre 2019.

Dans le cadre de ses fonctions de dirigeant, M. Talwar encadre la prestation d’une vaste gamme de services et fonctions ayant trait à la lutte contre le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et à la conformité, à la gestion du risque de crédit, du risque de marché, du risque de liquidité, du risque de modélisation et du risque opérationnel, à la gouvernance d’entreprise et à la surveillance et l’analyse des risques systémiques et sectoriels.

M. Talwar possède plus de 25 années d’expérience du secteur financier, notamment à la direction de services de gestion du risque et des échanges commerciaux d’institutions bancaires multinationales au Canada, en Europe et en Asie.

Il a fait la transition au BSIF depuis la Banque de Montréal, où il était responsable des fonds d’investissement, des exercices de simulation de crise et de l’élaboration des modèles internes.

Avant de se joindre à l’équipe de la Banque de Montréal, il a dirigé les services de gestion des risques de marché découlant des échanges commerciaux, des portefeuilles bancaires, de la gestion de l’actif/passif, du contrôle des produits et de la validation des modèles à titre de vice-président principal, Banque OCBC, Singapour. Il était auparavant vice-président principal, Fonds propres réglementaires et économiques, Bâle II, à la Banque CIBC à Toronto.

Son parcours professionnel a également été marqué par un passage à la Commerzbank Securities, à Londres, où il a aiguisé ses compétences en leadership à titre de directeur des services de recherche quantitative, de génie financier et de commerce électronique.

M. Talwar possède un baccalauréat et une maîtrise en génie civil de l’Université de Waterloo et un doctorat en génie aérospatial de l’Université de l’Illinois à Urbana-Champaign.

Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est un organisme fédéral indépendant fondé en 1987. Il a pour mandat de protéger les déposants, les souscripteurs, les créanciers des institutions financières et les participants des régimes de retraite, tout en permettant aux institutions financières de se mesurer à la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.