Tolga Yalkin

Assistant Superintendent – Policy, Innovation and Stakeholder Affairs

Tolga Yalkin

Tolga Yalkin joins OSFI from the Health Canada COVID-19 Task Force as Assistant Deputy Minister. Before this, he was the Assistant Deputy Minister of Workplace Policies and Services at Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat. And, before that, he was Director General of Consumer and Hazardous Product Safety Directorate at Health Canada, the Executive Director of the Results Division at the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat, the General Counsel and Director of Policy to the Parliamentary Budget Officer and taught constitutional law at the University of Ottawa and Oxford University.

His career has spanned diverse fields, from quantitative to legal, including corporate finance, defence procurement, public sector policy, and public law. He is published in peer-reviewed journals covering law, government, and analytics and has led a number of high profile reports of the PBO, ranging from a cost estimate of the F-35 fighter program to the cost of criminal justice in Canada.

He was the first student in the history of Oxford to simultaneously hold the positions of Editor-in-Chief of the University’s flagship law journal and President of Oxford Pro Bono Publico, the University’s foremost public interest advocacy group.

He has received numerous grants and scholarships to carry out research, led high profile litigation, has spoken at international fora (including OECD, World Bank, and British Institute of International and Comparative Law), testified at parliamentary committees, and speaks English, French, and Turkish fluently. He has taught in Canada, Australia, and at Oxford.

He holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Hons) from the University of British Columbia, a Bachelor of Laws (Hons) from the University of Sydney, a Master of Laws and a Master of Philosophy in Law from Oxford University, and is a member of the Government of Canada’s Recruitment of Policy Leaders Program.

Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is an independent agency of the Government of Canada, established in 1987, to protect depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan members, while allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

Tolga Yalkin

Surintendant auxilliaire, Innovation stratégique et relation avec les intervenants

Tolga Yalkin

Tolga Yalkin se joint au BSIF en provenance du Groupe de travail COVID-19 de Santé Canada à titre de sous-ministre adjoint. Auparavant, il occupait le poste de sous-ministre adjoint du Secteur des politiques et des services en milieu de travail au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada. Avant cela, il occupait les postes de directeur général de la Direction de la Sécurité des produits de consommation et des produits dangereux à Santé Canada, de directeur exécutif de la Division des résultats au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, et, il occupait les fonctions d’avocat général et de directeur des politiques auprès du directeur parlementaire du budget (DPB) et il a enseigné le droit constitutionnel à l’Université d’Ottawa et à l’Université d’Oxford.

Sa carrière à couvert différents domaines, qu’il s’agisse du domaine quantitatif ou juridique, y compris les finances intégrées, les approvisionnements liés à la défense, les politiques du secteur public et le droit public. Il a publié dans des revues à comité de lecture et a couvert les secteurs du droit, du gouvernement et des analyses. Il a en outre dirigé de nombreux rapports très médiatisés du DPB, qu’il s’agisse de l’estimation du coût du programme des chasseurs F-35 ou du coût de la justice pénale au Canada.

Il a été le premier étudiant dans toute l’histoire de l’Université d’Oxford à occuper simultanément les postes de rédacteur en chef du journal de droit le plus important de l’université et celui de président de Oxford Pro Bono Publico, le groupe de défense des intérêts publics le plus important de l’université.

Il a reçu de nombreuses subventions et bourses pour effectuer ses recherches, dirigé des litiges très médiatisés, prononcé des conférences dans le cadre de forums internationaux (y compris l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques, la Banque mondiale et le British Institute of International and Comparative Law), témoigné devant des comités parlementaires et parle couramment le français, l’anglais et le turc. Il a enseigné au Canada, en Australie et à Oxford.

Il a obtenu un baccalauréat en commerce (spécialisé) de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, un baccalauréat en droit (spécialisé) de l’Université de Sydney, une maîtrise en droit (c.-à-d. B.C.L.) et une maîtrise en philosophie du droit de l’Université d’Oxford, et il est membre du programme de recrutement de leaders en politiques.

Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est un organisme fédéral indépendant fondé en 1987. Il a pour mandat de protéger les déposants, les souscripteurs, les créanciers des institutions financières et les participants des régimes de retraite, tout en permettant aux institutions financières de se mesurer à la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.