OSFI issues final version of the Leverage Requirements Guideline

News Release

For Immediate Release

October 30 2014 ─ Ottawa, Ontario ─ Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) today released the Leverage Requirements Guideline. As announced earlier this year, OSFI is replacing its Asset to Capital Multiple with the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision Leverage Requirements, released in January 2014. The guideline sets out OSFI’s expectations for the implementation of these internationally agreed to rules by Canadian financial institutions. It replaces the Asset-to-Capital Multiple (ACM) measure currently contained in OSFI guidance, notably in the Capital Adequacy Requirements guideline.

Quick Facts

  • Deposit-taking institutions are well positioned to meet the requirements contained in this guideline by the Q1 2015 implementation date.
  • Early adoption of the Basel Leverage Requirements (2015 vs.2018) contributes to reduced burden on institutions by requiring only one set of calculations and public disclosures related to a regulatory leverage test.
  • Although OSFI did not receive any comments during the consultation period on the draft guideline, we have made a number of revisions to facilitate cross-border competition and comparability. These changes from the draft version reflect updates provided in the Basel Committee FAQs (October 2014) related to the leverage ratio as well as other international developments (e.g. the treatment of cash variation margin).
  • Federally regulated deposit-taking institutions will be expected to have Basel III leverage ratios that exceed three per cent. As has been the case with the ACM, OSFI will continue to set authorized leverage ratios on an institution-by-institution basis.

Quote

“The international adoption of a consistent leverage test will help promote financial stability, competition, and comparability across institutions and across jurisdictions,” said Deputy Superintendent Mark Zelmer. “Replacing the Asset Capital Multiple test with the Basel III Leverage requirements will alleviate regulatory burden on institutions by reducing the number of calculations and disclosures, while maintaining robust supervisory oversight of leverage.”

Associated Links

Media Contact

Brock Kruger
OSFI – Public Affairs
brock.kruger@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8941

Created in 1987 by an Act of Parliament, OSFI is the primary regulator and supervisor of federally regulated deposit-taking institutions, insurance companies, and federally regulated private pension plans. OSFI's mandate is to advance and administer a regulatory framework that contributes to public confidence in a strong, stable and competitive financial system.

Le BSIF diffuse la version finale de la ligne directrice Exigences de levier

Communiqué de presse

Diffusion immédiate

Le 30 octobre 2014 ─ Ottawa (Ontario) ─ Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) a fait paraître aujourd’hui la ligne directrice intitulée Exigences de levier. Comme il l’a annoncé plus tôt dans l’année, il remplace le ratio actif / fonds propres (RAFP) par les exigences de levier diffusées en janvier 2014 par le Comité de Bâle sur le contrôle bancaire (CBCB). La ligne directrice explique les attentes du BSIF auxquelles doivent répondre les institutions financières canadiennes tenues de mettre en œuvre les règles dont ont convenu les pays représentés au CBCB. Elle remplace le RAFP, soit le paramètre que contiennent actuellement les consignes du BSIF, notamment la ligne directrice Normes de fonds propres.

Fiche-éclair

  • Les institutions financières sont en bonne posture pour répondre aux exigences de la ligne directrice d’ici le premier trimestre de 2015.
  • L’adoption anticipée des exigences de levier du CBCB (en 2015 plutôt qu’en 2018) simplifiera la tâche des institutions, qui devront effectuer un seul jeu de calculs et présenter un seul rapport sur le respect des normes réglementaires.
  • Bien que le BSIF n’ait reçu aucun commentaire au cours de la période de consultations sur la version à l’étude de la ligne directrice, plusieurs modifications y ont été apportées pour faciliter la concurrence et la comparabilité transfrontalières. Les changements effectués traduisent la mise à jour en octobre 2014 de la FAQ du CBCB sur le ratio de levier aussi bien que d’autres développements sur la scène internationale (par exemple, le traitement de la marge pour variation des liquidités).
  • Selon Bâle III, le ratio de levier des institutions de dépôts fédérales devra dépasser 3 %. Comme il le faisait relativement au RAFP, le BSIF établira les ratios de levier autorisés de chaque institution.

Citation

« L’adoption à l’échelle internationale de normes de levier uniformes favorisera la stabilité des systèmes financiers de même que la concurrence et la comparabilité entre les institutions et entre les collectivités publiques », estime le surintendant adjoint Mark Zelmer. « Le remplacement du ratio actif / fonds propres par les exigences de levier de Bâle III allégera le fardeau que la réglementation impose aux institutions, qui désormais auront moins de calculs à faire et moins de rapports à produire, sans nuire à la rigueur de la surveillance exercée sur le ratio de levier. »

Liens utiles

Relations de presse

Brock Kruger
BSIF – Affaires publiques
brock.kruger@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8941

Constitué en 1987 en vertu d'une loi du Parlement, le BSIF est le principal organisme de réglementation et de surveillance des institutions de dépôts, des sociétés d'assurances et des régimes de retraite privés fédéraux. Il a pour mandat de promouvoir et d’administrer un cadre de réglementation qui contribue à la confiance du public à l’égard d’un système financier solide, stable et propice à la concurrence.