Building resilience: OSFI sets Domestic Stability Buffer level at 1.75%

News Release

For Immediate Release

OTTAWA ─ December 12, 2018 ─ Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions

Today the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) set the level for the Domestic Stability Buffer at 1.75% of total risk-weighted assets, effective April 30, 2019.

Similar to how people save money for unexpected events, banks set aside capital so they can continue to operate and provide services to Canadians should economic conditions deteriorate.

An effective capital regime ensures that banks are holding adequate capital to protect against risks to the financial system, while also encouraging them to use their buffers during times of stress to avoid asset-sales or drastic reductions in lending.

While Canada is currently in the midst of a favourable credit environment with a stable domestic economy, household debt levels continue to be high relative to incomes and uncertainty persists in some housing markets. Corporate indebtedness is also growing, representing a potential future risk.

Recently, in discussing vulnerabilities in the global financial system, the Financial Stability Board remarked that financial supervisors like OSFI should “consider using the current window of opportunity to build resilience, particularly macroprudential buffers where appropriate.

As OSFI noted in its June 2018 letter, OSFI is of the view that increased transparency will support banks’ ability to use this capital buffer in times of stress by increasing understanding of the purpose of the buffer and how it should be used.

Quote

“In light of positive credit performance and generally stable economic conditions, now is a prudent time for banks to build resilience against future risks to the Canadian financial system,” said Jamey Hubbs, Assistant Superintendent, Deposit-Taking Supervision Sector.

Quick Facts

  • The Domestic Stability Buffer applies only to those federally regulated financial institutions designated as Domestic Systemically Important Banks (D-SIBs).
  • OSFI reviews and sets the level of the Domestic Stability Buffer in June and December of each year based on its ongoing monitoring of the Canadian financial system and the entities it regulates, and in consultation with its federal regulatory partners.

Associated Links

About OSFI

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is an independent agency of the Government of Canada, established in 1987, to protect depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan members, while allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

Media Contact

Annik Faucher
OSFI − Public Affairs
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401

​​

Accroître la résilience : Le BSIF établit la réserve pour stabilité intérieure à 1,75%

Communiqué

Pour diffusion immédiate

OTTAWA ─ Le 12 décembre 2018 ─ Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) a annoncé aujourd’hui qu’il établissait la réserve de fonds propres pour stabilité intérieure à 1,75 % de la valeur totale des actifs pondérés en fonction du risque. Ce nouveau coefficient entrera en vigueur le 30 avril 2019.

Tout comme nous mettons de l’argent de côté pour les imprévus, les banques constituent une réserve de fonds propres afin de pouvoir poursuivre leurs activités et continuer d’offrir des services aux Canadiens en cas de revers économique.

Un régime de fonds propres efficace veille à ce que les réserves bancaires offrent une protection contre les risques inhérents au secteur financier tout en les encourageant à puiser dans ces réserves en période de crise pour éviter d’avoir à vendre des actifs ou à sabrer l’octroi de prêts.

Bien que le Canada jouisse d’un contexte favorable au crédit et d’une économie stable, le taux d’endettement des ménages demeure élevé par rapport au revenu et l’incertitude persiste dans certains marchés immobiliers. Le taux d’endettement des entreprises est lui aussi à la hausse, ce qui pourrait éventuellement constituer un risque.

Dans le cadre de sa réflexion sur les facteurs de vulnérabilité du système financier mondial, le Conseil de stabilité financière a récemment fait valoir que les instances de contrôle financier, telles que le BSIF, devraient songer, dans les circonstances, à conférer plus de résilience à son système financier en particulier en ayant une politique de réserves macroprudentielles.

Comme il l’expliquait dans une lettre datée de juin 2018, le BSIF est d’avis qu’en raison de la transparence accrue du processus d’établissement de la réserve pour stabilité intérieure, il sera plus facile pour les banques de puiser dans cette réserve si le marché en comprend mieux l’objet et la façon de s’en servir.  

Citation

« Compte tenu de la qualité du crédit et des conditions économiques généralement stables, les circonstances prudentielles sont maintenant réunies pour permettre aux banques de se prémunir contre les risques qui pourraient un jour menacer le secteur financier canadien », a déclaré Jamey Hubbs, surintendant auxiliaire, Secteur de la surveillance des institutions de dépôts.

Quelques faits

  • Seules les institutions financières (banques) dites d’importance systémique intérieure (BISi) sont tenues de constituer une réserve pour stabilité intérieure.
  • Le BSIF révise le coefficient de la réserve pour stabilité intérieure deux fois l’an, en juin et en décembre, en fonction des constats découlant du contrôle continu du système financier canadien et des entités qu’il réglemente, et en consultation avec ses partenaires fédéraux en réglementation.

Liens connexes

Le BSIF

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est un organisme fédéral indépendant fondé en 1987. Il a pour mandat de protéger les déposants, les souscripteurs, les créanciers des institutions financières et les participants des régimes de retraite, tout en permettant aux institutions financières de se mesurer à la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.

Relations de presse

Annik Faucher
BSIF – Affaires publiques
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401