OSFI issues a separate capital guideline for mortgage insurers

News Release

For Immediate Release

OTTAWA ─ August 9, 2018 ─ Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada

Today the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) issued a new capital guideline for mortgage insurers called the Mortgage Insurer Capital Adequacy Test (MICAT). The MICAT sets out the regulatory framework within which OSFI assesses whether a mortgage insurance company maintains adequate capital. The guideline comes into effect on January 1, 2019.

The new guideline consolidates OSFI’s current capital requirements for mortgage insurers into a single document, incorporating elements from OSFI’s January 1, 2017 Advisory on Capital Requirements for Federally Regulated Mortgage Insurers and relevant chapters of the 2018 Minimum Capital Test for Federally Regulated Property and Casualty Insurance Companies.

In developing this new guideline, OSFI simplified the calculation of insurance risk, streamlined the requirements for single-family residential mortgages, included accommodations for IFRS 16 - Leases, and specified credit risk factors for securitized assets.

Quote

“Having a separate guideline for mortgage insurers allows OSFI to better tailor its capital framework to the mortgage insurance industry,” said Carolyn Rogers, Assistant Superintendent.

Associated Links

About OSFI

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is an independent agency of the Government of Canada, established in 1987, to protect depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan members, while allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

Media Contact

Sylviane Desparois
OSFI – Public Affairs
sylviane.desparois@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-990-8670

Le BSIF publie une ligne directrice distincte sur le capital des sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire

Communiqué

Pour diffusion immédiate

OTTAWA ─ Le 9 août 2018 ─ Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières Canada

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) a annoncé aujourd’hui la publication d’une nouvelle ligne directrice sur le capital des sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire intitulée Test de suffisance du capital des assureurs hypothécaires (TSAH). Le TSAH définit le cadre réglementaire sur lequel se fonde le BSIF pour déterminer si une société d’assurance hypothécaire maintient un niveau de capital adéquat. La ligne directrice entrera en vigueur le 1er janvier 2019.

Cette nouvelle ligne directrice regroupe en un seul document les exigences auxquelles doivent satisfaire les assureurs hypothécaires en matière de capital, lesquelles sont tirées du préavis publié le 1er janvier 2017, Exigences de capital des sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire fédérales, et de certains chapitres de la version de 2018 du Test de capital minimal à l’intention des sociétés d’assurances multirisques fédérales.

Dans cette nouvelle ligne directrice, le BSIF a simplifié le calcul du risque d’assurance, rationalisé les exigences afférentes aux prêts hypothécaires uni-résidentiels, prévu des mesures d’adaptation pour la mise en œuvre de la norme IFRS 16, Contrats de location, et précisé des coefficients de risque de crédit pour les actifs titrisés.

Citation

« En se dotant d’une ligne directrice s’appliquant exclusivement aux assureurs hypothécaires, le BSIF sera mieux à même d’adapter le cadre de capital au secteur de l’assurance hypothécaire », explique Carolyn Rogers, surintendante auxiliaire.

Documents connexes

Le Bureau

Constitué en 1987, le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui protège les droits des déposants, des souscripteurs, des créanciers d’institutions financières et des participants de régimes de retraite, tout en tenant compte de la nécessité, pour les institutions financières, de faire face à la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.

Relations de presse

Sylviane Desparois
Affaires publiques, BSIF
sylviane.desparois@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-990-8670