OSFI releases a discussion paper on reinsurance

News Release

For Immediate Release

OTTAWA ─ June 8, 2018 ─ Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) today released its Reinsurance Framework Discussion Paper.

Reinsurance can reduce an insurer's insurance risks, stabilize its solvency, help it better withstand catastrophic events, and increase its underwriting capacity. At the same time, reinsurance can expose an insurer to increased operational, counterparty and legal risks. Prudently balancing the risks and benefits of reinsurance is as complex as it is important.

This paper discusses areas where changes are being considered in OSFI's current reinsurance framework. Key proposals aim to address risks associated with large exposures and concentration, particularly in the property and casualty (P&C) insurance sector. Adjustments to the capital framework for P&C insurers are also being considered. Through this consultation, the industry is invited to share views that will help guide OSFI's assessment of both near term and longer term proposals to strengthen the reinsurance framework.

Quote

"In light of the increasing reliance on reinsurance and the emergence of new and evolving business models related to the use of reinsurance, OSFI is working to ensure its reinsurance framework remains appropriate," said Neville Henderson, Assistant Superintendent, Insurance Supervision Sector. "This discussion paper is a key step in OSFI's commitment to engage stakeholders, and all responses that will help maintain an effective regulatory approach to reinsurance will be carefully considered."

Associated Links

About OSFI

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is an independent agency of the Government of Canada, established in 1987, to protect depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan members, while allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

Media Contact

Annik Faucher
OSFI – Public Affairs
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401

Publication du document de travail du BSIF sur la réassurance

Communiqué de presse

Pour diffusion immédiate

OTTAWA ─ le 8 juin 2018 ─ Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) annonce la publication, aujourd'hui même, de son Document de travail sur la réassurance.

La réassurance permet à un assureur de réduire son risque d'assurance, de stabiliser sa solvabilité, de mieux résister aux catastrophes et d'accroître sa capacité de souscription. En revanche, elle expose également l'assureur à des risques opérationnels, de contrepartie et juridiques accrus. Concilier ces risques avec les avantages que comporte la réassurance est un exercice aussi complexe qu'important.

Ce document de travail traite des modifications que le BSIF entend apporter à la version actuelle de son cadre de réassurance. Les principales modifications envisagées tiendraient notamment compte de facteurs de risque tels que les engagements importants et la concentration dans le secteur de l'assurance multirisque. Il y est également question du projet de remaniement du cadre de capital des assureurs multirisques. Le BSIF s'appuiera sur les observations dont les professionnels du secteur des assurances multirisques lui feront part individuellement et collectivement pour analyser les mesures qu'il se propose de prendre à court et à long terme en vue d'optimiser son cadre de réassurance.

Citation

« Compte tenu de l'expansion du secteur de la réassurance et de l'apparition de modèles d'affaires qui prennent appui sur cette discipline, le BSIF doit veiller à ce que son cadre de réassurance demeure au fait de tous les tenants et aboutissants de la question, a dit Neville Henderson, surintendant auxiliaire du Secteur de la réglementation des sociétés d'assurances. Ce document de travail s'inscrit dans la démarche du BSIF visant à mobiliser ses interlocuteurs, et nous étudierons avec le plus grand soin toutes les observations visant à nous aider à maintenir un régime réglementaire équilibré. »

Documents connexes

Le Bureau

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est un organisme fédéral indépendant fondé en 1987. Il a pour mandat de protéger les déposants, les souscripteurs, les créanciers des institutions financières et les participants des régimes de retraite, tout en permettant aux institutions financières de se mesurer à la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.

Relations de presse

Annik Faucher
BSIF – Affaires publiques
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401