OSFI submission to US regulators regarding consultation on restrictions on proprietary trading

December 28th, 2011

DEPARTMENT OF THE TREASURY
Office of the Comptroller of the Currency

12 CFR Part 44
Docket No. OCC-2011-0014
RIN: 1557-AD44

BOARD OF GOVERNORS OF THE FEDERAL RESERVE SYSTEM
12 CFR Part 248
Docket No. R-1432
RIN: 7100 AD 82]

FEDERAL DEPOSIT INSURANCE CORPORATION
12 CFR Part 351
RIN: 3064-AD85

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
17 CFR Part 255
Release No. 34-[•]; File No. [•] RIN: 3235-AL07

Subject: Restrictions on Proprietary Trading and Certain Interests in, and Relationships with, Hedge Funds and Private Equity Funds

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada (OSFI) is the prudential regulator and supervisor of Canadian banks and federally-regulated non-bank deposit-taking institutions, insurance companies and pension funds. Given that Canadian banks have significant operations in the United States, OSFI welcomes the opportunity to comment on the above proposed restrictions, commonly known as the "Volcker Rule", whose aim is to restrict banking entities' ability to engage in proprietary trading and their relationships with hedge funds and private equity firms.

The global financial crisis and the ensuing failure of many financial institutions have left a legacy of trillions of dollars in lost economic output, millions of lost jobs and higher fiscal deficits in many countries around the world including the United States. G-20 leaders have in response agreed on a comprehensive package of financial sector reforms to reduce the risk of future crises and to strengthen banking systems around the world. These reforms are being supplemented by additional actions in many jurisdictions to strengthen their domestic banking systems including in the US. Thus, OSFI strongly supports the objectives of the proposed restrictions on banking entities, namely to ensure that the trading activities of banks operating in the US and their relationships with hedge funds and private equity firms do not undermine the financial condition of those banks, nor the stability of the US financial system as a whole.

The proposed restrictions could hinder foreign bank risk management practices...

Despite those laudable objectives OSFI is concerned that the current draft of the proposed restrictions could inadvertently hinder the ability of foreign financial institutions to efficiently manage their risks, thereby potentially undermining the financial condition of those entities and the systemic stability of foreign financial systems. This is an especially acute concern for Canadian banks and the Canadian financial system more broadly given the deep inter-linkages that have existed for many decades between the Canadian and US financial systems.

Canadian financial institutions use US-owned infrastructure to conduct financial transactions in support of their market-making activities in Canada, and in their risk management activities more broadly in support of their Canadian and US banking operations. Some obvious examples include:

  • Active reliance on the systems operated by The Depository Trust & Clearing Corporation (DTCC) for clearing and settlement of transactions involving US securities;
  • Regular use of US financial exchanges for transacting futures and options derivatives involving both Canadian dollar and other currencies to manage financial risk exposures; and
  • The ubiquity of other US-owned infrastructure in global financial markets, such as Bloomberg and the custodial services provided by some major US banking groups.

US financial institutions and US-owned financial system infrastructure thus play critical roles in key global markets. As a result, OSFI is concerned that the draft regulations may have the unintended consequence of significantly impeding Canadian and other foreign financial institutions' ability to manage their risks in a cost-effective manner, which could give rise to prudential concerns in Canada and abroad. In other words, OSFI would not wish to see US regulators taking actions that may enhance the stability of their financial system at the cost of undermining the stability of other systems around the world.

... and they could undermine the ability of foreign banks to efficiently manage their liquidity

OSFI understands that the proposed restrictions would only allow proprietary trading by banking entities in US Treasury, state, and municipal general, limited, and pass-through obligations. However, Question 122 of the consultative document asks whether US agencies should adopt an additional exemption for proprietary trading in the obligations of foreign governments and/or international and multinational development banks under section 13(d)(1)(J)of the BHC Act? If so, what types of obligations should be exempt? How would such an exemption promote and protect the safety and soundness of banking entities and the financial stability of the United States?

OSFI strongly believes additional exemptions from the restrictions on proprietary trading should be given to foreign government securities, at least for banking groups whose parent bank is located outside of the US. Many foreign banks play important market-making roles in the trading of government securities in their home jurisdictions. They also actively rely on government securities of their home jurisdiction to efficiently manage their liquidity and funding requirements at a global enterprise-wide level; a practice that will be further reinforced in the future by new bank liquidity requirements that have been proposed by the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision. Thus, OSFI believes a failure to include these additional exemptions at least for banking entities whose parent bank is located outside of the US would undermine the liquidity of government debt markets outside of the US and could significantly impede the ability of foreign banks to efficiently manage their liquidity and funding requirements at an enterprise-wide level.

In closing, OSFI applauds the tremendous amount of work being done by US agencies to strengthen the US banking system and reduce the risk of it contributing to a future financial crisis. But in implementing reforms we urge the agencies to be mindful of the fact that US financial institutions and markets (and their supporting infrastructure) are deeply connected to the broader global financial system. Indeed, in many cases they represent core segments for global financial intermediation. Thus, when implementing reforms like the Volcker Rule it is important to not only focus on the implications for the US financial system, but also to take care that these restrictions do not give rise to prudential issues for other jurisdictions.

Yours very truly,

Mark Zelmer

For Julie Dickson,
Superintendent
Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada

Point de vue du BSIF, adressé aux organismes de réglementation américains, sur les restrictions au titre des activités de négociation pour compte propre

Le 28 décembre 2011

DEPARTMENT OF THE TREASURY
Office of the Comptroller of the Currency
12 CFR Part 44
No de dossier : OCC-2011-0014
RIN : 1557-AD44

BOARD OF GOVERNORS OF THE FEDERAL RESERVE SYSTEM
12 CFR Part 248
No de dossier: R-1432
RIN : 7100 AD 82]

FEDERAL DEPOSIT INSURANCE CORPORATION
12 CFR Part 351
RIN : 3064-AD85

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
17 CFR Part 255
No de version 34-[•]; No de dossier [•]
RIN : 3235-AL07

Objet: Restrictions au titre des activités de négociation pour compte propre, de certaines participations dans les entreprises de fonds de couverture et de fonds de capital-investissement et de certains liens avec celles-ci

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est l’organisme de réglementation et de surveillance prudentielle des banques canadiennes et des institutions de dépôts non bancaires, des sociétés d’assurances et des régimes de retraite fédéraux. Étant donné que les banques canadiennes exercent des activités importantes aux États-Unis, le BSIF salue l’occasion qui lui est offerte de donner son avis sur les restrictions proposées susmentionnées, couramment désignées la « règle Volcker » qui vise à limiter la capacité des entités bancaires de se livrer à des activités de négociation pour compte propre ainsi que les liens entre celles-ci et les entreprises de fonds de couverture et de capital-investissement.

La crise financière planétaire et la faillite conséquente de bien des institutions financières nous a laissé en héritage une perte de production économique se chiffrant à des billions de dollars, des millions d’emplois éliminés et des déficits budgétaires plus élevés que prévu dans beaucoup de pays, dont les États-Unis. En réponse, les dirigeants du G-20 se sont entendus sur un ensemble de mesures de réforme du secteur financier visant à diminuer le risque que d’autres crises surviennent dans l’avenir et à renforcer les systèmes bancaires à l’échelle mondiale. Outre ces réformes, bien des administrations, dont celle des É.-U., ont adopté d’autres mesures pour raffermir leur propre système bancaire. Le BSIF appuie donc sans retenue les objectifs visés par les restrictions proposées pour les entités bancaires, notamment garantir que les activités de négociation des banques actives aux É.-U. et les liens entre celles-ci et les entreprises de fonds de couverture et de fonds de capital-investissement ne nuisent pas à la situation financière de ces banques, ni à la stabilité du système financier américain, dans son ensemble.

Les restrictions proposées pourraient nuire aux pratiques de gestion du risque des banques étrangères…

Malgré ces objectifs des plus louables, le BSIF craint que la version provisoire actuelle des restrictions proposées ne nuise, par inadvertance, à la capacité des institutions financières étrangères de gérer efficacement les risques qui pèsent sur elles, minant du coup leur situation financière et la stabilité systémique des systèmes financiers étrangers. Cette préoccupation est spécialement grave pour les banques canadiennes et le système financier canadien de manière plus générale compte tenu des liens qui existent depuis des décennies entre les systèmes financiers canadien et américain.

Les institutions financières canadiennes ont recours à une infrastructure qui appartient aux É.-U. pour effectuer des opérations financières à l’appui de leurs activités de tenue de marché au Canada et dans leurs activités de gestion du risque plus globalement à l’appui de leurs activités bancaires canadiennes et américaines. En voici certains exemples évidents.

  • Recours actif aux systèmes exploités par The Depository Trust & Clearing Corporation (DTCC) pour compenser et régler les opérations mettant en cause des titres américains.
  • Recours périodique à des places boursières des É.-U. pour effectuer des opérations de dérivés de contrats à terme et d’options mettant en cause le dollar canadien et d’autres devises afin de gérer les expositions aux risques financiers;
  • Ubiquité des autres infrastructures appartenant aux É.-U. sur les marchés de capitaux mondiaux, par exemple, Bloomberg et les services de garde offerts par certains grands groupes bancaires américains.

Les institutions financières américaines et l’infrastructure des systèmes financiers appartenant aux É.-U. jouent donc un rôle essentiel dans les principaux marchés mondiaux. Le BSIF craint donc que la version provisoire des règlements puisse avoir pour effet non voulu de nuire considérablement à la capacité des institutions financières canadiennes et étrangères de gérer leurs risques de manière rentable, ce qui pourrait générer des problèmes d’ordre prudentiel notamment au Canada. Autrement dit, le BSIF ne souhaite pas voir les organismes de réglementation américains prendre des mesures susceptibles de renforcer la stabilité de leur système financier au détriment de la stabilité d’autres systèmes ailleurs dans le monde.

… et compromettre la capacité des banques étrangères de gérer efficacement leurs liquidités

Le BSIF comprend que les restrictions proposées n’autoriseraient les négociations pour compte propre par les entités bancaires que dans les obligations générales, limitées et de transfert du US Treasury, des États et des municipalités. Cependant, à la question 122 du document de consultation, on demande si les organismes américains devraient adopter une exemption supplémentaire pour ce qui est des négociations pour compte propre dans les obligations de gouvernements étrangers et(ou) les banques de développement internationales et multinationales en vertu du sous-alinéa 13(d)(l)(J) de la BHC Act et le cas échéant, quels types d’obligations devraient être exemptés et de quelle manière une exemption du genre permettrait de promouvoir et de protéger la sûreté et la solidité des entités bancaires et la stabilité financière des États-Unis.

Le BSIF croit fermement qu’il faudrait exempter aussi des restrictions au titre des négociations pour compte propre les titres des gouvernements étrangers, à tout le moins pour les groupes bancaires dont le siège social se trouve à l’extérieur des É.-U. Bien des banques étrangères jouent un rôle de tenue de marché important au chapitre de la négociation des titres des gouvernements dans leur pays d’attache. Elles ont aussi activement recours aux titres du gouvernement de leur pays d’attache pour gérer efficacement leurs besoins en liquidités et en financement à l’échelle mondiale, une pratique qui sera dans l’avenir renforcée par les nouvelles exigences en matière de liquidités des banques proposées par le Comité de Bâle sur le contrôle bancaire. Le BSIF estime donc que le fait de ne pas prévoir ces autres exemptions à tout le moins pour les entités bancaires dont le siège social se trouve à l’extérieur des É.-U. compromettrait les liquidités des marchés d’emprunts des gouvernements à l’extérieur des É.-U. et pourrait nuire considérablement à la capacité des banques étrangères de gérer efficacement leurs besoins en liquidités et financement à l’échelle mondiale.

Pour terminer, le BSIF salue les efforts incroyables déployés par les organismes américains pour renforcer le système bancaire des É.-U. et atténuer le risque qu’il ne contribue à une future crise financière. Or, pour mettre en oeuvre des réformes, nous exhortons les organismes à ne pas oublier le fait que les institutions financières et les marchés de capitaux américains (et l’infrastructure qui les soutient) sont étroitement liés au système financier mondial élargi. En fait, ils représentent bien souvent des segments de base de l’intermédiation financière mondiale. Ainsi, pour mettre en oeuvre des réformes comme la règle Volcker, il est impératif non seulement de mettre l’accent sur les conséquences pour le système financier américain, mais aussi de faire attention à ce que ces restrictions ne génèrent pas de problèmes d’ordre prudentiel pour les autres pays.

Veuillez agréer mes meilleures salutations.

[Original signé par Mark Zelmer, surintendant auxiliaire]

Pour la surintendante, Julie Dickson,
Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières