Canada’s Domestic Stability Buffer: Swimming Against the Tide - Remarks by Assistant Superintendent Jamey Hubbs, Toronto, Ontario, January 23, 2019

Quote

"…By making the Domestic Stability Buffer more transparent and its purpose and functioning more widely understood, we hope that future increases or decreases to the buffer are seen as normal course of business and stabilizing actions, rather than market events unto themselves."

Introduction

Thank you for joining me today, and I would also like to thank the C.D. Howe Institute for hosting this luncheon.

Warren Buffet is credited with saying "Only when the tide goes out do you discover who's been swimming naked". While said in a different context, I believe this colourful phrase carries an important lesson for those of us working in the arcane world of bank regulation.

During the last global financial crisis we learned about the appropriate level of capital and that a lot of global banks fell below that level. We learned about the quality of capital, and in a number of situations, we learned that capital instruments did not have the loss absorbing capabilities that we previously thought that they did.

We learned that we need to be better prepared for, and better insulated against, crises. And globally, as regulators, we acted on those learnings. We improved the quality and quantity of capital held by our institutions, particularly our systemic institutions, through a combination of regulatory capital and even private capital buffer requirements.

We have created buffers against losses, most certainly. But if the tide goes out again, are these preparations enough to help us manoeuvre through? To pursue Mr. Buffet's analogy, as a frontline supervisor, part of my job is to ensure our largest banks have enough buoyant clothing - or capital to withstand the potential shock of a "low tide", that is an impending crisis or a significant loss event. Likewise, if we see evidence of a rapidly rising tide, I would argue that it is OSFI's responsibility to take action, to help swimmers navigate to shore safely, similar to a lifeguard.

Understandably, market participants watching from the beach may be prone to panic in the absence of clear and credible information about the situation. Since panic is never a good thing in financial markets, we think OSFI has a role to play here too.

This is what OSFI's Domestic Stability Buffer is all about and is what I want to talk about today: about positioning our capital regime as part of the solution for stress situations, though transparency and through prudent action. And specifically, through the 'usability of capital'.

Usability

Capital is a measure of a banks' resilience, but how the capital regime is designed to work in times of stress can often be misunderstood.

For instance, I would suspect that many here today believe that when risks go up, capital should go up; that regulators feel that bank capital levels can, and should, only rise during times of stress. Similarly, capital requirements, including capital buffers, may be viewed as sacrosanct - a floor below which a bank's capital can never fall.

It is true that banks hold capital to preserve the confidence of depositors, creditors and markets. However, the real test of a capital regime is whether and how that capital is used in times of stress to support stability. OSFI believes that an adjustable capital buffer, well communicated and understood, and responsive to conditions in the financial system is the way to achieve this objective.

And, that is why, in June of 2018, OSFI publicly disclosed the Domestic Stability Buffer for Canada's six largest banks, known as our domestic systemically important banks, or D-SIBs.

The Domestic Stability Buffer differs from other capital buffers in that the size of the Domestic Stability Buffer depends on our view of the vulnerabilities and risks currently in the financial system – for example, how vulnerable are banks to losses if economic conditions deteriorate. OSFI would increase the size of the buffer when we assess vulnerabilities to be elevated or increasing, but when those risks actually materialize in the economy, we are inclined to release the buffer, ensuring that capital is available to absorb losses.

What that means is that we build up the Domestic Stability Buffer when vulnerabilities are high but conditions are more stable, and we release the buffer when needed so that banks can use that capital cushion in order to continue to provide loans and services to Canadians. As a result, the primary feature of the Domestic Stability Buffer is that it may very well increase during stable economic times and, specifically before the risks actually materialize.

This only works in the context of regular transparent communication. As a result, twice a year, after assessing the prevailing economic conditions, OSFI will communicate publicly whether it will raise, maintain or lower the Domestic Stability Buffer. This public announcement is a commitment to transparency OSFI has made regarding the capital being held by Canada's largest banks.

Why is increased transparency around the Domestic Stability Buffer important?

This additional transparency came about as OSFI realized that while holding an appropriate amount of capital is important, markets also need to be aware when the regulator expects and is comfortable with banks being able to use that capital in times of stress.

Two important lessons learned from the global financial crisis include:

  1. Market confidence can be fickle if that confidence is based on a view of the usability of capital that is not shared by banks or regulators; and
  2. Transparency around risks is critical to managing risks

Let me expand on each of these, beginning with the question of market confidence,

Informed confidence

Capital has been the most visible element of prudential regulation for many years. OSFI is well aware that regulators are not the only ones interested in capital levels and risk. Shareholders and rating agencies have their own expectations of the banks. Robust levels of capital are one of the reasons Canada has traditionally been viewed as a safe harbour when a crisis looms.

During the financial crisis, confidence in banks was a more precious commodity than capital.
Some banks that were well capitalized could not raise funding because the market had lost confidence in them.

Confidence shores up stability. It can be influenced by many things, including, by what market participants anticipate regulators will do, particularly in times of stress.

Expectations resulting from previous crises or previous successes are only reliable if nothing has changed. However, the reality is that there has been significant change in financial markets and in vulnerabilities in Canada since the global financial crisis.

Without knowing the purpose of the Domestic Stability Buffer, markets may misread signals when OSFI reduces the buffer and the capital is used. This could result in negative speculation and increased uncertainty, when the capital is in fact being used for its intended purpose.

To increase public understanding of OSFI's intent, when setting the Domestic Stability Buffer level this past December we included information on the construction of the buffer, and its intended use.

While the intent of the buffer was well understood in the financial analyst community, and many noted the prudent nature of the change given healthy economic conditions, some analysts were more pessimistic.

To paraphrase their assessment, "nice idea but it won't work when times get tough". Essentially, the concern raised was that even if OSFI decreases the buffer in a downturn, the market is unlikely to accept declining capital ratios when loan losses are rising.

So let me be clear: in the event that systemic risks begin to materialize, OSFI will promptly and proportionately lower the Domestic Stability Buffer. This is part and parcel of the counter-cyclical design of the buffer: banks will be able to use the capital they have built up in "good times" when it is most needed in "bad times".

As a first step, by making the Domestic Stability Buffer more transparent and its purpose and functioning more widely understood, we hope that future increases or decreases to the buffer are seen as normal course of business and stabilizing actions, rather than market events unto themselves.

Identifying the risks

It is important to be transparent about the use and design of the Domestic Stability Buffer, but it is also important to be transparent about the identified risks and vulnerabilities that the buffer is there to protect against.

When we first announced the Domestic Stability Buffer level in June of 2018, the level was 1.5% of total risk-weighted assets. We noted that the buffer will be reviewed semi-annually and range from 0 and 2.5% based on OSFI's assessment of D-SIB exposures to identified risks.

These included: high levels of consumer indebtedness; asset imbalances in the Canadian market, in particular in residential housing, and Canadian institutional indebtedness, in particular non-financial corporate debt.

These risks are well known and have been growing in Canada for some time.

This past December, we set the level at 1.75%. This decision was based on our assessment that systemic vulnerabilities continue to be elevated, warranting a higher level of capital to safeguard against the possibility of them materializing. Given the generally stable economic and credit conditions, a modest increase in the buffer was prudent.

The December buffer increase is in line with our view that banks should build up capital to buffer themselves from risks when economic times are relatively good and capital is easier to build and hold.

As part of the buffer review process, OSFI consults with other federal financial sector agencies including the Bank of Canada on its assessment of risks.

Effectively mitigating risks relies on accurate and timely information. That is why we committed to provide updates on the Domestic Stability Buffer and the related risks every June and December, and when and if circumstances warrant a more urgent change.

Not only will this give more insight into the overall amount of capital being set aside by the banks, it will contribute to broader financial stability by providing additional information on the key risk exposures to Canada's largest banks.

Conclusion

In the lead-up to the global financial crisis, risks were building that few were openly discussing. Tightly held but credible information about vulnerabilities in the U.S. mortgage market was overlooked. Being transparent in the discussion of risks, and taking actions to address them is a lesson that none of us should have to learn twice.

The availability of more information about the capital regime and the supervisor's views of risk results in better decision making by all stakeholders. By publicly announcing the Domestic Stability Buffer and committing to regular updates, we are better equipping institutions, markets, policy-makers and others with current information.

OSFI will continue to monitor for severe yet plausible risks to the financial system, and will be transparent in the actions that it is taking to address them.

We look forward to continuing our healthy dialogue with the industry so we are all better prepared for whatever comes next.

The Canadian financial system has been a bastion of stability for many years but this is no reason for complacency. We must always remember the dangers of swimming too far away from the shore when at any time the tide may unexpectedly go out.

I look forward to your questions.

Thank you.

Réserve pour stabilité intérieure au Canada : Nager à contre-courant - Communication de Jamey Hubbs, surintendant auxiliaire, Toronto, Ontario, le 23 janvier 2019

Extrait

« En rendant la réserve pour stabilité intérieure plus transparente et en faisant connaître sa raison d'être et son fonctionnement, nous espérons que les prochaines hausses ou baisses de la réserve seront perçues comme des mesures stabilisatrices et non comme des mesures prises en réponse à des perturbations du marché. »

Introduction

Je vous remercie d'être venus assister à ce déjeuner-causerie et je tiens à souligner le travail de l'Institut C.D. Howe qui a vu à l'organisation de cette activité.

Si on en croit Warren Buffet, « c'est quand la vague se retire qu'on voit ceux qui se baignent nus ». Bien qu'il ait fait cette observation dans un tout autre contexte, je crois qu'il y a là une leçon qu'on puisse appliquer au monde mystérieux de la réglementation bancaire.

La dernière crise financière mondiale nous a enseigné ce qu'est un niveau adéquat de fonds propres et démontré que bon nombre des banques mondiales étaient loin de satisfaire à ce critère. Nous avons aussi parfait nos connaissances aux sujet de la qualité des fonds propres et, dans de nombreuses situations, nous avons vu que les instruments de fonds propres n'avaient pas la capacité d'absorption des pertes qu'on leur attribuait.

Nous avons évidemment pris conscience du fait qu'il fallait être mieux préparés aux crises et mieux outillés pour les gérer. Depuis lors, partout dans le monde, les instances de réglementation ont pris acte des leçons tirées. Nous avons amélioré la qualité et la quantité des fonds propres de nos institutions, particulièrement celles dites d'importance systémique, au moyen d'un savant amalgame de normes de fonds propres réglementaires et de réserves de capitaux privés.

Nous avons établi des réserves contre les pertes, cela va de soi. Mais si la marée venait à se retirer encore une fois, ces mesures permettraient-elles, à elles-seules, à nos banques de se maintenir à flot? Pour poursuivre l'analogie de M. Buffet, en qualité de surveillant de première ligne, une partie de mon travail consiste à m'assurer que les grandes banques portent des gilets de sauvetage — image pour la quantité de fonds propres qu'elles détiennent — qui leur permettront de rester à flot même si elles sont emportées au large par la force d'une marée basse — qui elle, représenterait une crise imminente ou une perte importante. De même, si nous venions à constater une marée montante rapide, je ferais valoir qu'il incombe au BSIF d'agir pour aider les nageurs à regagner le rivage. Mon rôle en ce sens s'apparente à celui d'un maître-nageur.

Bien entendu, les acteurs du marché qui se trouveraient sur la plage pourraient être gagnés par la panique s'ils ne peuvent être rassurés par des renseignements clairs et fiables concernant ce qu'ils observent. La panique n'augurant jamais rien de bon dans le monde de la finance, j'estime qu'il importerait donc que le BSIF dissipe ces craintes.

C'est exactement pour cette raison que le BSIF a imposé l'établissement d'une réserve pour stabilité intérieure, dont je vous parlerai aujourd'hui. Nous cherchons à définir notre régime de fonds propres comme étant une partie de la solution qui permettra aux institutions de faire face aux crises, ce que nous estimons possible en gagnant en transparence, en faisant preuve de prudence et, particulièrement, en sachant tirer profit des réserves de fonds propres.

La raison d'être des réserves

On le sait, les fonds propres d'une banque sont le reflet de sa résilience, mais le fonctionnement du régime de fonds propres en temps de crise est souvent mal compris.

Par exemple, j'imagine que plusieurs d'entre vous pensent qu'advenant l'intensification des risques auxquels est exposée une banque, cette dernière devrait retenir davantage de fonds propres, ou que les instances de réglementation s'attendent à ce que les niveaux de fonds propres détenus par les banques puissent seulement augmenter en temps de crise, et qu'ils ne devraient le faire qu'en ces périodes d'eau trouble. Parallèlement, les normes de fonds propres, notamment les réserves de fonds propres, sont parfois perçues comme des règles sacro-saintes – un seuil en deçà duquel la quantité de fonds propres des banques ne doit jamais se retrouver.

Bien qu'il soit vrai que les banques tiennent en réserve des fonds propres dans le but de réitérer la confiance des déposants, des créanciers et des marchés, le réel test d'un régime de fonds propres est de savoir si, et comment, les fonds propres sont utilisés en temps de crise pour sauvegarder la stabilité. Le BSIF est d'avis qu'une réserve ajustable de fonds propres, d'autant qu'elle soit bien expliquée et comprise, et qu'elle prenne acte de l'évolution du système financier, permet d'atteindre cet objectif.

C'est d'ailleurs pourquoi, en juin 2018, il a rendu publique la réserve pour stabilité intérieure des six grandes banques canadiennes dites d'importance systémique intérieure (les BISi).

La réserve pour stabilité intérieure se distingue des autres réserves de fonds propres en ce que son ampleur est fonction de l'évaluation du BSIF des facteurs de vulnérabilité et des risques pesant sur le système financier – par exemple, la fragilité des banques face aux pertes dans l'hypothèse d'une contraction de l'économie. Le BSIF demande ainsi aux banques de destiner davantage de fonds propres à leurs réserves lorsqu'il décèle un grand nombre de facteurs de vulnérabilité ou qu'il juge que les risques gagnent en importance. Toutefois, advenant que ces risques se matérialisent, il demandera plutôt aux banques de puiser dans leur réserve. Elles auront ainsi les fonds propres nécessaires pour pallier les pertes.

Autrement dit, les banques doivent accumuler des fonds propres au titre de la réserve pour stabilité intérieure en présence de nombreux facteurs de vulnérabilité, mais lorsque la conjoncture est stable, elles retirent des fonds propres de la réserve au besoin et se servent ainsi de ce coussin de protection pour continuer d'offrir des services et du crédit aux Canadiens. Bref, la réserve pour stabilité intérieure revêt un intérêt particulier en ce qu'elle peut être accrue lorsque les conditions économiques sont stables et, plus important encore, avant que les risques se manifestent concrètement.

Toutefois, cet instrument ne fonctionne que s'il s'accompagne de communications régulières et transparentes. C'est en ce sens que le BSIF évalue la conjoncture économique deux fois l'an et rend publique sa décision à savoir s'il augmente, maintient ou abaisse la quantité de fonds propres à détenir au titre de la réserve pour stabilité intérieure. Cette annonce publique reflète l'engagement du BSIF de gagner en transparence en ce qui a trait aux fonds propres détenus par les grandes banques canadiennes.

Mais en quoi ce gain en transparence est-il important à l'égard de la réserve pour stabilité intérieure?

Cette mesure de transparence a été adoptée après que le BSIF se soit rendu compte que, bien que la quantité de fonds propres détenus par les banques soit importante, les acteurs du marché doivent de plus être au fait des moments où les instances de réglementation prévoient et acceptent pleinement que les banques se prévalent de leurs réserves de fonds propres en temps de crise.

Nous avons tiré des leçons importantes de la crise financière mondiale, entre autres :

  1. La confiance du marché peut être ébranlée si elle est basée sur la perception voulant que les banques et les instances de réglementation ne s'entendent pas sur la raison d'être des réserves.
  2. La gestion des risques ne peut être efficace sans transparence à l'égard de ces risques.

J'aborderai maintenant chacune de ces leçons plus en détail, en commençant par la question de la confiance du marché.

Confiance justifiée

Depuis maintes années, les fonds propres sont l'aspect le plus connu de la réglementation prudentielle. Le BSIF sait très bien qu'un grand nombre d'observateurs, outre les instances de réglementation, s'intéressent de près au niveau de fonds propres et aux risques. Notamment, les actionnaires et les agences de notation, qui entretiennent leurs propres attentes à l'égard des banques. C'est notamment grâce au niveau corsé des réserves de fonds propres de ses institutions financières que le Canada s'est forgé une réputation de « zone sûre », même en l'imminence d'une crise.

Lors de la dernière crise financière, la confiance dont le marché témoignait aux banques était bien plus précieux que la valeur des fonds propres. À preuve, certaines banques, bien que bien dotées en fonds propres, n'arrivaient pas à mobiliser des fonds parce que le marché avait perdu confiance en elles.

Qui dit confiance dit stabilité. De nombreux facteurs peuvent avoir une incidence sur la confiance, notamment, les présomptions du marché quant aux mesures de réglementation pressenties, spécialement en temps de crise.

Les attentes consécutives aux crises et aux réussites ne peuvent tenir la route que lorsque les conditions sont exactement les mêmes. Malheureusement, dans les faits, le marché financier et les facteurs de vulnérabilité au Canada ont grandement évolué depuis la dernière grande crise.

Si la raison d'être de la réserve pour stabilité intérieure est tenue secrète, les marchés peuvent faire erreur sur les intentions du BSIF lorsqu'il réduit la réserve et que les banques puisent dans leurs fonds propres, ce qui peut inciter les acteurs à se lancer dans la spéculation négative et ainsi accroître l'incertitude, alors que les réserves de fonds propres sont en réalité utilisées aux fins pour lesquelles elles ont été conçues.

C'est pour aider le public à mieux comprendre ses objectifs que le BSIF a fait le point sur la construction et la raison d'être de la réserve pour stabilité intérieure en décembre dernier.  

Dans l'ensemble, les analystes financiers ont bien compris le motif de l'établissement de cette réserve, nombre d'entre eux applaudissant d'ailleurs la nature prudentielle du changement considérant la conjoncture économique favorable, mais certains autres n'ont pas caché leur pessimisme.

Leur propos se résumait à : bonne idée, mais cela ne fonctionnera pas lorsque les choses se corseront. Essentiellement, on craint que même si le BSIF abaisse la réserve lors d'un ralentissement économique, le marché a peu de chance d'accepter des ratios décroissants de fonds propres alors que les pertes sur prêts gagnent en ampleur.

Soyons clair : advenant que les risques systémiques commencent à se matérialiser, le BSIF réduira en temps opportun et de manière proportionnelle la réserve pour stabilité intérieure. Il s'agit là d'un principe fondamental de la conception contracyclique de la réserve : les banques peuvent utiliser les fonds propres qu'elles ont accumulés par beau temps lorsque le besoin se fait le plus sentir et que les affaires vont moins bien.

En guise de première mesure, soit en rendant la réserve pour stabilité intérieure plus transparente et en faisant connaître sa raison d'être et son fonctionnement, nous espérons que les prochaines hausses ou baisses de la réserve seront perçues comme des mesures stabilisatrices et non comme des mesures prises en réponse à des perturbations du marché.

Cerner les risques

Il est important d'être transparent à propos de l'utilisation et du fonctionnement de la réserve pour stabilité intérieure, mais il importe également de l'être à l'égard des risques et des facteurs de vulnérabilité desquels la réserve protège la banque.

À la première annonce du niveau de fonds propres à constituer au titre de la réserve pour stabilité intérieure, en juin 2018, les banques devaient réserver 1,5 % du total des actifs pondérés en fonction des risques. Nous avons précisé que la réserve serait révisée deux fois l'an et fluctuerait entre 0 et 2,5 %, à la lumière de l'évaluation du BSIF des expositions aux risques auxquels les BISi sont exposées.

L'évaluation tient compte d'une multitude de facteurs, notamment le niveau d'endettement des ménages, les déséquilibres des actifs au sein du marché canadien, particulièrement dans l'immobilier résidentiel, et l'endettement institutionnel, surtout l'endettement des sociétés qui ne sont pas des prestataires de services financiers.

Ces risques sont bien connus et s'amplifient au Canada depuis un certain temps.

En décembre dernier, estimant que les facteurs de vulnérabilité systémiques demeuraient élevés, le BSIF a haussé le niveau à 1,75 % pour protéger les banques de la probabilité que les craintes ne se concrétisent. Comme la conjoncture et les conditions de crédit sont généralement stables, il a jugé prudent d'augmenter légèrement la réserve.

Cette hausse reflète la notion voulant que les banques devraient accumuler des fonds propres pour se protéger des risques lorsque l'économie roule bien, alors qu'il est plus facile d'en mettre en réserve.

Je préciserai ici que le BSIF ne décide pas de hausser, ou de maintenir, le niveau des réserves de son propre chef; cette décision est le fruit d'un exercice de réflexion auquel il se livre avec d'autres organismes fédéraux de surveillance du secteur financier, dont la Banque du Canada.

Pour arriver à bien atténuer les risques, il faut pouvoir se fonder sur des renseignements récents et précis. C'est pourquoi le BSIF s'attache à faire le point sur la réserve pour stabilité intérieure et les risques afférents en juin et en décembre, et chaque fois que les circonstances l'exigent.

Ainsi, les intéressés seront au fait de la quantité globale de fonds propres réservés par les banques, et la stabilité financière intérieure s'en trouvera renforcée, car les principales expositions aux risques auxquelles font face les grandes banques canadiennes seront spécifiées.

Conclusion

À la veille de la dernière crise financière mondiale, peu de gens discutaient ouvertement des risques qui se profilaient à l'horizon. Nombreux sont ceux qui ont fait abstraction de renseignements fiables, mais peu diffusés, sur les facteurs de vulnérabilité du marché hypothécaire des États-Unis. Il faut éviter de répéter les mêmes erreurs; nous avons déjà compris durement la nécessité de faire preuve de transparence et de discuter des risques, ainsi que de prendre des mesures pour donner suite à ces risques.

En rendant accessibles des renseignements sur le régime de fonds propres et sur le point de vue des instances de surveillance sur les risques, tous les acteurs pourront prendre des décisions éclairées. En annonçant publiquement la réserve pour stabilité intérieure et en nous engageant à la réviser régulièrement, nous donnons l'heure juste aux institutions, aux marchés et aux décideurs.

Le BSIF continuera de suivre de près les risques graves, mais plausibles, qui pèsent sur le système financier et fera preuve de transparence lorsqu'il prendra des mesures pour leur donner suite.

Il entend bien poursuivre ce dialogue salutaire avec tous les acteurs du système afin que tous soient mieux préparés, quoiqu'il arrive demain.

Le système financier canadien est un pôle de stabilité depuis maintes années, mais il ne faut pas s'asseoir sur nos lauriers pour autant. Il ne faut jamais oublier les dangers que nous pourrions courir si nous venions à nager trop loin de la rive et que la marée se retire soudainement.

Je vous remercie de votre attention. Il me fera maintenant plaisir de répondre à vos questions.