Message from the Superintendent

Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page

Julie Dickson, Superintendent, OSFI

The current global economic environment remains far from normal. Interest rates are still at historically low levels and growth in several advanced economies is still not at pre-crisis levels. While the Canadian financial system continues to benefit from approaches taken in Canada, OSFI and domestic banks and insurance companies need to avoid complacency.

In 2013-14, OSFI introduced or finalized several guidelines intended to promote and maintain confidence in Canada’s financial system. These included: Liquidity Adequacy Requirements that reflect internationally agreed minimum standards for the measurement of short-term liquidity under a stress scenario; Own Risk and Solvency Assessment and Regulatory Capital and Internal Capital Targets to strengthen the insurance industry’s enterprise-wide risk management process; and, a Guideline on Mortgage Insurance Underwriting as a follow-up to the Guideline on Residential Mortgage Underwriting Practices and Procedures issued in 2012.

In 2013, Canada was subject to an International Monetary Fund (IMF) Financial Sector Assessment Program (FSAP) review. The FSAP report identified OSFI’s close touch supervision, our clear and straightforward mandate, and our ability to attract and retain financial sector specialists as some of the factors that helped Canada withstand the crisis well.

The FSAP team noted that stress tests OSFI conducted in 2013 show that major financial institutions would continue to be resilient to credit, liquidity, and contagion risks arising from a severe stress scenario.

OSFI also looked inward, to strengthen our high-performing and effective workforce by providing more focus on teams responsible for managing domestic systemically important banks, while at the same time designating an employee to focus on the requirements of the smaller banks under OSFI’s purview.

Strong cooperation and communication with our federal partners, such as the Bank of Canada, the Department of Finance, Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation and the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada, was also a contributing factor in allowing OSFI to meet its goals in 2013-14.

This was my final year as Superintendent of Financial Institutions. During my tenure the world has gone through one of its most difficult financial crises, the effects of which are still being felt today. I am proud of the way OSFI and our federal partners pulled together to work our way through the numerous challenges that were presented.

The contribution to public confidence in the Canadian financial system that OSFI has been able to make comes down – as always – to the individual contributions of our employees. It has been an honour and pleasure to work with them these past seven years. I know that my successor, and all Canadians, will be able to count on the ongoing dedication and professionalism of OSFI’s people.​

Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page

Message de la surintendante

Page Précédente | Table des matières | Page Suivante

Superintendent Julie Dickson

La conjoncture économique mondiale actuelle est tout sauf normale. Les taux d’intérêt demeurent à des niveaux qui n’ont jamais été aussi bas et la croissance dans plusieurs économies industrialisées n’est toujours pas revenue aux niveaux d’avant la crise. Bien que le système financier canadien continue de tirer avantage des approches appliquées au Canada, le BSIF et les banques et sociétés d’assurances nationales doivent éviter la complaisance.

En 2013-2014, le BSIF a publié ou remanié plusieurs lignes directrices destinées à promouvoir et à soutenir la confiance à l’égard du système financier canadien. Mentionnons notamment Normes de liquidité, qui reflète les normes minimales aux fins de la mesure des liquidités à court terme dans une scénario de crise convenues à l’échelle internationale, Évaluation interne des risques et de la solvabilité (dispositif ORSA) et Capital réglementaire et cibles internes de capital, qui renforce le processus de gestion des risques à l’échelle de l’entreprise du secteur des assurances. Signalons également une ligne directrice sur la souscription d’assurance hypothécaire, qui fait suite à la ligne directrice Pratiques et procédures de souscription de prêts hypothécaires résidentiels publiée en 2012.

En 2013, le Canada a fait l’objet d’un examen dans le cadre du Programme d’évaluation du secteur financier (PESF) du Fonds monétaire international (FMI). Dans son rapport, le FMI a souligné que la surveillance étroite qu’exerce le BSIF, son mandat clair et simple et sa capacité d’attirer des spécialistes du secteur financier ont aidé le Canada à bien résister à la crise.

L’équipe responsable du PESF a constaté que les simulations de crise effectuées par le BSIF en 2013 montrent que les grandes institutions financières continuent à résister aux risques de crédit, de liquidité et de contagion engendrés par un scénario de crise grave.

Le BSIF s’est aussi penché sur des questions internes dans le but de renforcer son effectif très performant et efficace en consacrant plus de ressources aux équipes responsables de la gestion des banques d’importance systémique intérieure et en désignant un employé chargé de cibler les exigences visant les institutions financières de petite taille relevant du mandat du BSIF.

La coopération et la communication étroites avec nos partenaires fédéraux, dont la Banque du Canada, le ministère des Finances, la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada et l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada, ont aussi aidé le BSIF à atteindre ses objectifs en 2013-2014.

Je quitte cette année le poste de surintendante des institutions financières. Pendant mon mandat, le monde a traversé l’une des crises financières les plus difficiles de tous les temps, et nous en ressentons encore les effets. Je suis fière de la façon dont le BSIF et ses partenaires fédéraux ont uni leurs efforts pour défendre les nombreux enjeux qui se sont présentés.

Le BSIF a été en mesure de contribuer à la confiance du public dans le système financier canadien grâce, une fois de plus, à l’apport de chacun de ses employés. J’ai eu l’honneur et le plaisir de collaborer avec eux au cours des sept dernières années. Je sais que mon successeur et tous les Canadiens pourront compter sur le dévouement et le professionnalisme soutenus de l’équipe du BSIF.

Page Précédente | Table des matières | Page Suivante