Unlocking for Non-Residents

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Guidance
  • Category: Locked-in
  • Date: September 2006
  • No: 2008-006

Section 28.4 of the Pension Benefits Standards Regulations, 1985 (Regulations), was introduced to exempt plan members and former members who cease to be Canadian residents from the application of the locking-in requirements of section 18 of the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985 (PBSA).

Subsection 28.4(2) of the Regulations provides that a plan member or former member shall be deemed to have been a resident of Canada throughout a calendar year if that member or former member has sojourned in Canada in the year for a period of, or periods the total of which is, 183 days or more.

There is no requirement that the pension plan text specifically provide for the provision set out in subsection 28.4(1) of the Regulations; this provision can be added to an existing locked-in retirement savings plan or Life Income Fund (LIF) so that where the requirements of section 28.4 of the Regulations (non-residency conditions) are met, the pension benefit credit held in that locked-in registered retirement savings plan or LIF can be unlocked.

Published in PBSA Update, Issue No. 26 September 2006, PBSA Update, Issue No. 12 September 1995

Déblocage des fonds dans le cas de non-résidents

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Orientation
  • Catégorie : Fonds bloqués
  • Date : septembre 2006
  • Numéro : 2008-006

L’article 28.4 du Règlement de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension (Règlement) a été adopté afin de soustraire les participants et anciens participants des régimes qui ne résident plus au Canada de l’application des exigences d’immobilisation de l’article 18 de la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension (LNPP).

Aux termes du paragraphe 28.4(2) du Règlement, le participant ou l’ancien participant qui a séjourné au Canada au cours de l’année civile pendant une période ou des périodes dont l’ensemble est de 183 jours ou plus est réputé avoir résidé au Canada tout au long de l’année.

Il n’y a aucune exigence stipulant que le texte du régime de retraite doit expressément prévoir la disposition énoncée au paragraphe 28.4(1) du Règlement; cette disposition peut être ajoutée à un régime d’épargne-retraite immobilisé en vigueur ou à un fonds de revenu viager (FRV), de sorte que lorsque les exigences de l’article 28.4 du Règlement (conditions de non-résidence) sont remplies, les droits à pension détenus dans le régime d’épargne-retraite immobilisé ou le FRV peuvent être débloqués.

Publié dans Le Point sur les pensions, no 26, septembre 2006 Le Point sur les pensions, no 12, septembre 1995