Notice: Coming into force date for solvency special payments moratorium and related FAQs

Today, the Department of Finance Canada announced the coming into force of the new Solvency Special Payments Relief Regulations, 2020. The regulations came into force on May 27, 2020 and are expected to be published in the Canada Gazette, Part II on June 10, 2020.

The regulations provide funding relief to plan sponsors whose pension plans have a solvency deficiency, and who are normally required to make monthly payments to fund the deficiency and/or address their obligations through the use of letters of credit. The Minister of Finance previously announced the government’s intention to provide this temporary relief on April 15, 2020.

Under the regulations, from the coming-into-force date (May 27, 2020) until December 30, 2020, federally regulated defined benefit pension plan sponsors are not required to make solvency special payments. The regulations also provide accommodations for solvency special payments made since April 1, 2020.

OSFI has added a new funding relief section to its COVID-19 FAQ series with additional details for defined benefit plan administrators on the new regulations.

For more details on these regulations, please refer to the Department of Finance's announcement.

Avis : Date d’entrée en vigueur du moratoire sur les paiements spéciaux de solvabilité et FAQ connexe

Aujourd’hui le ministère des Finances du Canada a annoncé que le Règlement sur l’allègement relatif aux paiements spéciaux de solvabilité (2020) est entré en vigueur le 27 mai 2020. Le règlement devrait être publié le 10 juin 2020 dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada.

Le règlement prévoit un allègement de la capitalisation pour les promoteurs dont les régimes de retraite présentent un déficit de solvabilité et qui sont normalement tenus de verser mensuellement des paiements pour financer le déficit et/ou de faire face à leurs obligations au moyen de lettres de crédit. Le ministère des Finances avait déjà annoncé le 15 avril dernier l’intention du gouvernement d’accorder cet allègement temporaire.

Concrètement, cela signifie qu’à partir de la date d’entrée en vigueur du règlement (le 27 mai 2020) et jusqu’au 30 décembre 2020, les promoteurs de régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées sous réglementation fédérale ne sont pas tenus de verser des paiements spéciaux de solvabilité. De plus, le règlement prévoit des mesures particulières pour les paiements spéciaux de solvabilité effectués depuis le 1er avril 2020.

Le BSIF a par ailleurs ajouté une nouvelle section portant sur l’allègement de la capitalisation à sa FAQ sur les mesures prises en réaction à la COVID-19 qui inclut de plus amples renseignements sur le nouveau règlement à l’intention des administrateurs de régimes à prestations déterminées.

Vous trouverez des précisions sur ces allègements dans le communiqué de presse du ministère des Finances.