Limited Recourse Capital Notes

Document Properties

  • Category: Definition of Capital
  • Date: July 2020

Issue:

The issue is whether to recognize Limited Recourse Capital Notes (LRCNs) issued by federally regulated financial institutions (FRFIs) as Additional Tier 1 capitalFootnote 1.

Background:

A Canadian bank (the Bank) proposed to issue the LRCNs to third-party investors. The structure consists of two instruments: (1) deeply subordinated interest-bearing LRCNs with a term to maturity of 60 years issued by the Bank directly to investors; and (2) perpetual, non-cumulative preferred shares issued by the Bank to a special purpose vehicle (SPV) for the benefit of LRCN holders.

# 

Text Description

This figure illustrates the LRCN structure. The structure consists of two instruments: (1) the LRCNs issued by the Bank directly to investors for cash consideration; and (2) preferred shares issued by the Bank to a special purpose vehicle (SPV) for the benefit of LRCN holders.

In the event of the non-payment of principal or interest in cash on any interest payment date, upon an event of defaultFootnote 2, or at maturity, the sole recourse against the Bank for the claims of LRCN holders will be the delivery of the preferred shares held by the SPV. Upon a non-viability trigger event as described in Chapter 2 of OSFI's Capital Adequacy Requirements (CAR) Guideline, the LRCNs' principal, plus accrued and unpaid interest, will become due and payable and, upon non-payment of such principal and interest, LRCN holders will receive common shares of the Bank issued upon conversion of the preferred shares held by the SPV. Redemptions or purchases of the LRCNs or underlying preferred shares by the issuing entity will be subject to prior Superintendent approval.

Considerations:

In its evaluation of regulatory capital instruments, OSFI considers structures holistically. OSFI's approach to reviewing the quality of instruments, including the LRCN structure, also emphasizes economic substance over legal form. Finally, OSFI's assessment of instruments considers their potential behaviour and impacts on financial stability, particularly in periods of stress.

Taking into account the foregoing considerations, OSFI assessed the LRCNs and the underlying preferred shares held by the SPV both individually as well as in combination relative to the eligibility criteria set out in Chapter 2 of the CAR Guideline. OSFI's conclusions on key interpretative questions are summarized below.

Issue # 1: Does the Bank's obligation to settle coupon payments in cash or through the delivery of the SPV's underlying preferred shares comply with the CAR Guideline expectation that institutions must have full discretion to cancel payments and such cancelled payments must not be an event of default or otherwise impose restrictions on the issuerFootnote 3?

OSFI concluded that the Bank has full discretion to trigger the delivery of the preferred shares to the LRCN holders in lieu of making interest payments on the LRCNs. Upon doing so, the LRCNs would be cancelled. Foregone interest payments would be cancelled, are non-cumulative and do not result in events of default or other restrictions.

Issue # 2: Given the fixed maturity date of the LRCNs in year 60, do the LRCNs satisfy the CAR Guideline requirement that Additional Tier 1 instruments be perpetualFootnote 4?

LRCN noteholders' recourse is limited to perpetual Tier 1-qualifying instruments – Bank preferred shares or common shares – in all circumstances, including at maturity of the notes in year 60. OSFI concluded that the LRCN structure is perpetual based on its economic substance and consideration of the structure holistically rather than its component instruments.

Issue # 3: Does the LRCN structure comply with the CAR Guideline requirement that Additional Tier 1 instruments should not embed incentives to redeemFootnote 5?

OSFI concluded the LRCNs do not constitute an incentive to redeem that would be contrary to the CAR Guideline. In addition, the delivery of the preferred shares in exchange for the LRCNs under certain events would not be dilutive to the Bank's shareholders' equity, a key consideration in assessing incentives to redeem for instruments with mandatory or holder-initiated conversions to common shares.

Ruling:

OSFI concluded that the LRCN structure meets all of the criteria to be recognized as Additional Tier 1 regulatory capital by the Bank and other FRFIsFootnote 6.

Recognition of the LRCNs as Additional Tier 1 capital will be subject to the following limitations. OSFI may add to, amend, or delete these limitations at any time. Limitations may also vary by issuer and/or issuance.

Limitations on Investor Base

  1. The LRCNs can only be issued to institutional investors.

Limitations on LRCNs' and Preferred Shares' Terms and Conditions

  1. LRCNs and preferred shares must have a minimum par or stated value of $1000 and be traded on institutional desks (i.e. not exchange-listed).
  2. The LRCNs must have an initial term to maturity of at least 60 years.
  3. Unless the instrument has been replaced with an instrument of higher capital quality (i.e. CET1-qualifying common shares or retained earnings), the issuer will only be permitted to redeem the LRCNs or preferred shares where the carrying cost of the LRCNs or preferred shares exceeds the cost of replacement capital of equivalent quality (i.e. AT1).

Limit on LRCN Issuances

  1. LRCN issuances will be subject to a cap of 0.75% of RWAFootnote 7 (i.e. 50% of the AT1 bucket) as measured on the date of issuance.
  2. In calculating this limit, the issuer should compare the aggregate of its outstanding and proposed issuances of LRCNs on the date of issuance to 0.75% of RWA. The limit should consider the issuer's capital at the last reporting date with adjustments for subsequent transactions including issuances, redemptions, buybacks, and acquisitions.

Disclosure

  1. The disclosure and marketing of the LRCNs to investors must clearly disclose how the LRCNs' risks are equivalent to the risks of investing in directly issued Tier 1-qualifying Non-Viability Contingent Capital (NVCC) preferred shares.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

This ruling will also apply to instruments with equivalent terms and conditions that are not characterized as "Limited Recourse Capital Notes". To ensure the inclusion of prospective instruments as regulatory capital, institutions are encouraged to seek rulings, or capital confirmations, from OSFI prior to issuance.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

The events of default for regulatory capital instruments issued by FRFIs are limited to liquidation, insolvency, wind-up and bankruptcy.

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

Refer to criterion # 7 of the Additional Tier 1 eligibility criteria set out in section 2.1.2.1 of the CAR Guideline.

Return to footnote 3

Footnote 4

Refer to criterion # 4 of the Additional Tier 1 eligibility criteria set out in section 2.1.2.1 of the CAR Guideline.

Return to footnote 4

Footnote 5

Refer to criterion # 4 of the Additional Tier 1 eligibility criteria set out in section 2.1.2.1 of the CAR Guideline.

Return to footnote 5

Footnote 6

If issued, the LRCNs may be recognized as Tier 1 Capital Instruments other than Common Shares in the case of life insurers or Category B capital in the case of property & casualty insurers or mortgage insurers.

Return to footnote 6

Footnote 7

OSFI will develop equivalent limitations for insurers in due course.

Return to footnote 7

Billets avec remboursement de capital à recours limité

Propriétés du document

  • Catégorie : Définition des fonds propres
  • Date : Juillet 2020

Question :

La question consiste à déterminer s'il convient de reconnaître les billets avec remboursement de capital à recours limité (billets ARL) émis par une institution financière fédérale (IFF) parmi les autres éléments de fonds propres de catégorie 1Note de bas de page 1.

Contexte :

Une banque canadienne (la Banque) a proposé d'émettre des billets ARL à des tiers investisseurs. L'émission comporte deux instruments : (1) des billets ARL fortement subordonnés portant intérêt dont l'échéance est de 60 ans et que la Banque a émis directement aux investisseurs; et (2) des actions privilégiées de durée indéterminée et non cumulatives que la Banque a délivrées à un fonds commun de créances (SPV) au profit des détenteurs de billets ARL.

#

Description textuelle

Cette figure illustre la structure des billets ARL. Elle comporte deux instruments : (1) des billets ARL que la Banque a émis directement aux investisseurs en contrepartie d'espèces; et (2) des actions privilégiées de durée indéterminée et non cumulatives que la Banque a délivrées à un fonds commun de créances (SPV) au profit des détenteurs de billets ARL.

En cas de non-paiement du principal ou des intérêts en espèces à n'importe quelle date de paiement des intérêts, en cas de défautNote de bas de page 2 ou à l'échéance, le seul recours pour les créances des détenteurs de billets ARL contre la Banque sera la livraison des actions privilégiées détenues par le SPV. Lorsque survient un événement déclencheur de non-viabilité décrit au chapitre 2 de la ligne directrice Normes de fonds propres (NFP) du BSIF, le principal des billets ARL, plus les intérêts courus et impayés, devient exigible et payable et, en cas de non-paiement du principal et des intérêts, les détenteurs de billets ARL recevront des actions ordinaires de la Banque émises lors de la conversion des actions privilégiées détenues par le SPV. Les rachats ou les achats de billets ARL ou d'actions privilégiées sous-jacentes par l'entité émettrice seront assujettis à l'approbation préalable du surintendant.

Considérations :

Dans son évaluation des instruments de fonds propres réglementaires, le BSIF tient compte des structures dans leur ensemble. L'approche du BSIF à l'égard de l'examen de la qualité des instruments, y compris la structure des billets ARL, met également l'accent sur la substance économique plutôt que sur la forme juridique. Enfin, l'évaluation des instruments par le BSIF tient compte de leur comportement potentiel et de leurs répercussions sur la stabilité financière, particulièrement en période de crise.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le BSIF a évalué les billets ARL et les actions privilégiées sous‑jacentes détenues par le SPV individuellement et collectivement à la lumière des critères d'admissibilité énoncés au chapitre 2 de la ligne directrice NFP. Les conclusions du BSIF concernant les principales questions d'interprétation sont résumées ci-après.

1er point : L'obligation de la Banque de régler les paiements de coupons en espèces ou par la livraison d'actions privilégiées sous-jacentes du SPV est-elle conforme à l'attente énoncée dans la ligne directrice NFP selon laquelle une institution doit avoir toute latitude pour annuler les paiements, et que ces paiements annulés ne doivent pas constituer un cas de défaut ou imposer d'autres restrictions à l'émetteurNote de bas de page 3?

Le BSIF a conclu que la Banque a toute latitude pour déclencher la livraison des actions privilégiées aux détenteurs de billets ARL au lieu d'effectuer des paiements d'intérêt sur ces billets ARL. Ce faisant, les billets ARL seraient annulés. Les paiements d'intérêts perdus seraient annulés, ne sont pas cumulatifs et ne donnent pas lieu à un défaut ou à d'autres restrictions.

2e point : Compte tenu de leur échéance fixe la 60e année, les billets ARL satisfont-ils à l'exigence de la ligne directrice sur les NFP selon laquelle les autres éléments de fonds propres de catégorie 1 doivent avoir une durée indéterminéeNote de bas de page 4?

Le recours des détenteurs de billets ARL se limite aux instruments de durée indéterminée de catégorie 1 admissibles – actions privilégiées ou actions ordinaires des banques – dans toutes les circonstances, y compris à l'échéance des billets la 60e année. Le BSIF a conclu que la structure des billets ARL est de durée indéterminée en raison de sa nature économique et parce que l'ensemble de la structure – et non les instruments qui la composent – est pris en compte.

3e point : La structure des billets ARL est-elle conforme à l'exigence de la ligne directrice sur les NFP selon laquelle les autres éléments de fonds propres de catégorie 1 ne doivent pas comprendre d'incitatifs favorables au rachatNote de bas de page 5?

Le BSIF a conclu que les billets ARL ne constituent pas une incitation au rachat qui serait contraire à la ligne directrice sur les NFP. De plus, la livraison des actions privilégiées en échange des billets ARL dans le cadre de certains événements n'entraînerait pas une dilution de l'avoir des actionnaires de la Banque, un facteur clé dans l'évaluation des incitations favorable au rachat pour des instruments avec conversion en actions ordinaires obligatoire ou initiée par le détenteur.

Décision :

Le BSIF a conclu que la structure des billets ARL satisfait à tous les critères de constatation des autres éléments de fonds propres réglementaires de catégorie 1 par la Banque et les autres IFFNote de bas de page 6.

La reconnaissance des billets ARL à titre d'autres éléments de fonds propres de catégorie 1 sera assujettie aux limites suivantes. Le BSIF se réserve le droit d'étoffer, de modifier ou d'abroger ces limites en tout temps. Les limites peuvent aussi varier selon l'émetteur et / ou l'émission.

Limites du bassin d'investisseurs

  1. Les billets ARL ne peuvent être émis qu'aux investisseurs institutionnels.

Limites des modalités des billets ARL et des actions privilégiées

  1. Les billets ARL et les actions privilégiées doivent avoir une valeur nominale ou déclarée d'au moins 1 000 $ et être transigés sur des pupitres institutionnels (c.-à-d. qu'ils ne doivent pas être cotés en bourse).
  2. Les billets ARL doivent avoir une échéance initiale d'au moins 60 ans.
  3. À moins que l'instrument n'ait été remplacé par un instrument de fonds propres de plus grande qualité (c.-à-d. des actions ordinaires ou des bénéfices non répartis admissibles aux fins des fonds propres de catégorie 1 sous forme d'actions ordinaires), l'émetteur ne pourra racheter les billets ARL ou les actions privilégiées que si le coût de portage des billets ARL ou des actions privilégiées dépasse le coût de remplacement de fonds propres de qualité équivalente (c.-à-d. des fonds propres de catégorie 1).

Limite des émissions de billets ARL

  1. Les émissions de billets ARL seront assujetties à un plafond de 0,75 % des actifs pondérés en fonction des risques (APR)Note de bas de page 7 (c.-à-d. 50 % de la tranche des fonds propres de catégorie 1) à la date d'émission.
  2. Dans le calcul de cette limite, l'émetteur doit comparer à 0,75 % des APR l'ensemble de ses émissions de billets ARL en cours et proposées à la date d'émission. La limite doit tenir compte des fonds propres de l'émetteur à la dernière date de déclaration, avec rajustements pour les opérations ultérieures, y compris les émissions, les rachats et les acquisitions.

Divulgation

  1. La divulgation et la commercialisation des billets ARL aux investisseurs doivent indiquer clairement en quoi les risques posés par ces billets sont équivalents aux risques d'investir dans des actions privilégiées de fonds propres d'urgence en cas de non-viabilité (FPUNV) admissibles à l'émission directe de fonds propres de catégorie 1.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Cette décision s'appliquera également aux instruments assortis de modalités équivalentes qui ne sont pas considérés comme des « billets ARL ». L'institution qui veut avoir la certitude de l'inclusion d'éventuels instruments parmi les fonds propres réglementaires voudra demander au BSIF de rendre une décision à cet effet ou de lui en donner la confirmation avant de procéder à une émission.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Les cas de défaut d'instruments de fonds propres réglementaires délivrés par une IFF se limitent à la liquidation, à l'insolvabilité et à la faillite

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Voir le 7e critère d'admissibilité parmi les autres éléments de fonds propres de catégorie 1 énoncé à la section 2.1.2.1 de la ligne directrice NFP.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Voir le 4e critère d'admissibilité parmi les autres éléments de fonds propres de catégorie 1 énoncé à la section 2.1.2.1 de la ligne directrice NFP.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Voir le 4e critère d'admissibilité parmi les autres éléments de fonds propres de catégorie 1 énoncé à la section 2.1.2.1 de la ligne directrice NFP.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

Les billets ARL délivrés par une société d'assurance-vie peuvent être comptabilisés à titre d'instruments de capital de catégorie 1 autres que des actions ordinaires. Dans les cas d'un assureur multirisques ou hypothécaire, ils pourront être comptabilisés à titre d'instruments de capital de catégorie B.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6

Note de bas de page 7

Le BSIF établira des limites équivalentes pour les assureurs en temps opportun.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 7