Advisory 2017-01 – Restrictions on the use of the words “bank”, “banker” and “banking”

*Please see the Notice of Suspension under Related Documents

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Cover Note
  • Date: June 30, 2017

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is issuing Advisory 2017-01, which sets out how OSFI interprets and administers (a) the Bank Act restrictions on the use of the words “bank”, “banker” and “banking”, and (b) the exception to these restrictions that applies where the use of the words is not in relation to a financial services business.

OSFI has observed increased use of the words “bank”, “banker” and “banking” by non-bank financial service providers.  OSFI is issuing the Advisory to provide clarity regarding its interpretation of the restrictions and the exception mentioned above.  The restrictions apply to all non-bank financial service providers, including both federally regulated trust and loan companies and provincially regulated institutions. They also apply to unregulated financial service providers. 

While the Advisory is in effect immediately, OSFI recognizes that non-bank financial service providers may need time to comply with the restrictions and that certain adjustments may require a longer transition period.  Accordingly, OSFI expects these non-banks to make all necessary adjustments within the following timelines:

By December 31, 2017 For information contained on websites or other electronic mediums
By June 30, 2018 For information contained in print materials
By June 30, 2019 For information contained on physical signage

Questions can be directed to questions@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.

 

Carolyn Rogers
Assistant Superintendent
Regulation Sector

Préavis 2017-01 – Restrictions d’utilisation des termes « banque », « banquier » et « opérations bancaires »

Remplacée par l’avis publié en août 2018

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Note d'accompagnement
  • Date : Le 30 juin 2017

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) publie le Préavis 2017-01, qui expose la façon dont il interprète et applique a) les restrictions d’utilisation des termes « banque », « banquier » et « opérations bancaires » qui sont prévues dans la Loi sur les banques, et b) l’exception à ces restrictions qui s’applique à une utilisation de ces termes sans lien avec des activités financières.

Le BSIF a constaté une augmentation de l’utilisation des termes « banque », « banquier » et « opérations bancaires » par les fournisseurs de services financiers non bancaires.  Le BSIF publie le préavis afin de préciser la façon dont il interprète les restrictions et l’exception susmentionnées.  Ces restrictions s’appliquent à tous les fournisseurs de services financiers non bancaires, y compris les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt fédérales et les institutions sous réglementation provinciale.  Elles s’appliquent également aux fournisseurs de services financiers non réglementés.

Ce préavis entre en application immédiatement. Toutefois, le BSIF est conscient du fait que les fournisseurs de services financiers non bancaires qui emploient ces termes pourraient avoir besoin de temps pour se conformer à ces restrictions et que certains ajustements pourraient nécessiter une période de transition plus longue. Par conséquent, le BSIF s’attend à ce que ces fournisseurs prennent toutes les mesures qui s’imposent pour se conformer dans les délais suivants :

D’ici le 31 décembre 2017 Pour le contenu des sites Web et autres médias électroniques
D’ici le 30 juin 2018 Pour le contenu des documents imprimés
D’ici le 30 juin 2019 Pour le contenu des panneaux d’affichage

Si vous avez des questions, veuillez écrire à questions@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.

 

Carolyn Rogers
Surintendante auxiliaire
Secteur de la réglementation