Domestic Stability Buffer – Supporting the resilience of Canada’s banking system

Description: Domestic Stability Buffer – Supporting the resilience of Canada’s banking system

What are capital buffers?

One of the ways OSFI protects the interests of bank depositors is by requiring banks to have sufficient capital to cover unexpected losses. Capital can be considered a bank's own equity rather than money borrowed such as the deposits of businesses and households. A bank's equity is comprised of items such as investors' contributions and retained earnings.

Regulators worldwide require banks to hold capital because it provides both a buffer against unforeseen losses and an incentive to manage risk taking. Strong capital levels allow a bank to operate normally even if it experiences losses.

Banks hold capital in several layers of buffers each intended to establish cushions for losses. For example, OSFI requires banks to hold minimum capital levels, a Capital Conservation Buffer, a capital surcharge for large banks and the Domestic Stability Buffer.

How do buffers help?

In some cases, regulators add additional cushions that are specifically meant to be used up when losses occur. This means a bank is expected to use up some of its capital to absorblosses. For instance, during an economic downturn, banks may suffer losses. They might decide to limit lending to minimize their risk of further losses. At the same time, a large reduction in lending could worsen a recession by slowing down economic activity. This is when OSFI authorizes? banks to use their capital buffers to cover those losses and support the flow of bank lending to the economy.

What is the domestic stability buffer?

One of OSFI's capital buffers is called the domestic stability buffer, or DSB. The DSB is similar to having "rainy day" funds, just as many people set aside some of their own funds for emergencies and unexpected events.

Through changes to the DSB, OSFI requires banks to build up a buffer of capital when times are good so it will be available when times are not as good. OSFI sets the level or amount that banks must hold and can then release the buffer when times are not good, or when it looks like losses may be about to materialize.  One of the chief objectives of the DSB is to signal that OSFI is comfortable with measured declines in capital ratios during times of economic stress, as this is precisely what the buffer was designed for.  As a result, banks are still able to keep lending to Canadians and fulfill their important role in the economy. 

Which banks have a domestic stability buffer?

The DSB applies only to Canada's six largest banks, known as domestic systemically important banks (D-SIBs).Footnote 1 These banks are so important to the functioning of either the global financial system or to a domestic economy that their failure would impose unacceptable costs on the economy and financial system.

How does OSFI set the buffer?

OSFI reviews, sets and publicly announces the level of the DSB each June and December. The DSB level is determined based on OSFI's supervisory judgment and its assessment of bank's risks and vulnerabilities to losses. OSFI also consults with its federal partners who make up the Financial Institutions Supervisory Committee.Footnote 2

OSFI may adjust the buffer in between scheduled review dates if circumstances require. For example, OSFI reduced the DSB on March 13, 2020 as part of its response to the COVID-19 situation, to support banks' continued lending to consumers and businesses.

When is the buffer built up and released?

OSFI raises the level of the buffer "in good times" when the economy is growing strongly and when vulnerabilities to losses may be growing. That way, banks then have a bigger cushion of reserves to protect against those possible vulnerabilities. OSFI lowers the buffer during "bad times" or times of economic stress when risks appear.

Do banks need report on the DSB?

Banks must publicly disclose the level of the DSB and include a brief narrative on the buffer. Disclosures are expected quarterly.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

As of June 2020, the following federally regulated financial institutions are designated as Domestic Systemically Important Banks: Bank of Montreal, Bank of Nova Scotia, Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce, National Bank of Canada, Royal Bank of Canada, and Toronto-Dominion Bank.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

FISC consists of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions, the Commissioner of the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada, the Governor of the Bank of Canada, the Chief Executive Officer of the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation, and the Deputy Minister of Finance Canada.

Return to footnote 2

La réserve pour stabilité intérieure – à l’appui de la résilience du système bancaire canadien

La réserve pour stabilité intérieure – à l’appui de la résilience du système bancaire canadien

Qu’est-ce que les réserves de fonds propres?

L’une des façons dont le BSIF protège les intérêts des déposants consiste à exiger des banques qu’elles aient suffisamment de fonds propres pour éponger les pertes imprévues. Ces fonds représentent l’avoir des actionnaires plutôt que d’argent emprunté, comme les dépôts faits par les entreprises et les ménages. L’avoir des actionnaires d’une banque se compose notamment de fonds provenant d’investisseurs et de bénéfices non répartis.

Les organismes de réglementation du monde entier exigent des banques qu’elles détiennent des fonds propres parce qu’ils constituent à la fois une réserve contre les pertes imprévues et un incitatif à gérer la prise de risques. Une institution financière bien capitalisée peut poursuivre ses activités normalement même lorsqu’elle subit des pertes.

Les banques détiennent des fonds propres en plusieurs tranches de réserves qui visent chacune à agir comme des coussins pour absorber les pertes. Par exemple, le BSIF requiert que les banques conservent un niveau minimum de fonds propres, une réserve de conservation de fonds propres, et pour les grandes banques, un supplément pour grandes banques ainsi que la réserve pour stabilité intérieure.

Comment les réserves aident-elles?

Dans certains cas, les organismes de réglementation ajoutent des réserves supplémentaires destinées à être utilisées en cas de pertes. Cela signifie qu’une banque devrait utiliser une partie de ses fonds propres pour éponger les pertes. Par exemple, en période de ralentissement économique, les banques peuvent subir des pertes. Elles pourraient alors décider de ralentir l’octroi de prêts afin de minimiser les risques de pertes supplémentaires. Or, une forte réduction des prêts pourrait aggraver une récession en freinant l’activité économique. C’est en de telles circonstances que le BSIF habilite les banques à puiser à même leurs réserves de fonds propres pour éponger ces pertes et continuer d’accorder des prêts afin de soutenir l’économie.

Qu’est-ce que la réserve pour stabilité intérieure?

Une des réserves de fonds propres du BSIF est la réserve pour stabilité intérieure (RSI). La RSI est semblable à un fonds pour les « mauvais jours »; de même que bien des gens mettent de l’argent de côté pour parer aux urgences et aux imprévus.

En ajustant le niveau de RSI, le BSIF exige des banques qu’elles constituent, en période de prospérité, des réserves de fonds propres sur lesquelles elles pourront compter lorsque les temps seront plus difficiles. Le BSIF fixe le coefficient ou le montant que les banques doivent détenir et peut ensuite le diminuer lorsque la situation se corse ou que des pertes semblent sur le point de se matérialiser. Un des principaux objectifs de la RSI consiste à communiquer que le BSIF ne craint pas un recul mesuré des ratios de fonds propres en période de ralentissement économique puisque c’est précisément pour parer à cette éventualité que la réserve est conçue. La RSI permet alors aux banques de continuer d’accorder des prêts aux Canadiens et de jouer un rôle de premier plan dans l’économie.

Quelles banques disposent d’une réserve pour stabilité intérieure?

La RSI ne s’applique qu’aux six plus grandes banques canadiennes, appelées « banques d’importance systémique intérieure », ou BISi.Note de bas de page 1 Ces banques sont si importantes pour le fonctionnement soit du système financier mondial ou d’une économie nationale que leur faillite imposerait des coûts inacceptables à l’économie et au système financier.

Comment le BSIF établit-il la réserve?

Le BSIF examine, établit et annonce publiquement le niveau de la RSI en juin et en décembre. Le niveau de la RSI est déterminé en fonction du jugement prudentiel du BSIF et de son évaluation des risques des banques et de leur vulnérabilité aux pertes. Le BSIF consulte également ses partenaires fédéraux au sein du Comité de surveillance des institutions financièresNote de bas de page 2.

Le BSIF peut ajuster la réserve entre les dates d’examen prévues si les circonstances l’exigent. Par exemple, le BSIF a abaissé la RSI le 13 mars 2020 dans le cadre de sa réponse à la COVID-19, afin d’aider les banques à continuer de prêter aux consommateurs et aux entreprises.

Quand la réserve est-elle constituée et abaissée?

Le BSIF relève le niveau de la réserve « en période de prospérité » lorsque l’économie est en forte cro​issance et que la vulnérabilité aux pertes peut être en hausse. Ainsi, les banques ont un plus gros coussin pour se protéger contre ces éventuelles vulnérabilités. Le BSIF réduit le niveau de la réserve en période difficile ou de crise économique lorsque des risques apparaissent.

Les banques doivent-elles rendre compte de la RSI?

Les BISi doivent publier le niveau de leur RSI et une brève description de celle-ci. Il est attendu que ces renseignements soient déclarés à chaque trimestre.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

En date de juin 2020, sont dites banques d’importance systémique intérieure les institutions financières fédérales que voici : Banque de Montréal, Banque Scotia, Banque Canadienne Impériale de Commerce, Banque Nationale du Canada, Banque Royale du Canada et Banque Toronto-Dominion.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Le Comité de surveillance des institutions financières se compose du surintendant des institutions financières, du commissaire de l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada, du gouverneur de la Banque du Canada, du président et premier dirigeant de la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada, et du sous-ministre des Finances.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2