Advisory on Deferral of IFRS 9 Application for Federally Regulated Life Insurers

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Letter
  • Date: March 20, 2017
  • Reference: Advisory for Life/IHC
  • To: Federally Regulated Life Insurance Companies (including Fraternal Benefit Societies), Insurance Holding Companies

OSFI is issuing the final version of its Advisory: Deferral of IFRS 9 Application for Federally Regulated Life Insurers (the Advisory). The Advisory is in response to the September 2016 International Accounting Standards Board (IASB) approvedFootnote 1,Footnote 2 amendment to the International Financial Reporting Standard (IFRS) 4 Insurance Contracts allowing companies whose activities are predominantly connected with insurance to defer the application of IFRS 9 Financial Instruments until January 1, 2021.

With the publication of the IASB amendment, Applying IFRS 9 Financial Instruments with IFRS 4 Insurance Contracts, OSFI considered the costs and benefits and found a strong prudential need for additional accounting guidance for Life Insurers. This Advisory will provide for a level of consistency and comparability across the federally regulated life insurance industry. 

The draft Advisory was issued for comment on December 19, 2016. Comments received on the draft were taken into consideration in the drafting of the final version. No changes were made to the draft Advisory as a result of these comments. A summary of comments received and OSFI’s response is provided in the attached Annex. OSFI is grateful for the feedback provided during the consultation period.

Any questions concerning the Advisory should be addressed to David Correia, Director, Accounting Policy Division at david.correia@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.

Yours truly,

Carolyn Rogers
Assistant Superintendent
Regulation Sector

ANNEX

Comments from Respondents

OSFI’s response

Respondents supported the Advisory to defer application of IFRS 9 for Federally Regulated Life Insurance Companies until January 1, 2021. They noted that the Advisory will minimize asset and liability mismatches during the interval between effective dates of IFRS 9 and IFRS 17.   Respondents further noted that a consistent implementation date for the industry will enhance comparability between Insurers.

No change to Advisory required.

OSFI required FRFI Life Insurers to take the option of deferring IFRS 9 until January 1, 2021. Will a similar Advisory be issued for P&C companies (or more specifically mortgage insurance companies) or will deferral remain optional for these companies?

The optional deferral of IFRS 9 provided will remain optional for P&C companies (including mortgage insurers) and a footnote has been added to the final Advisory to note this.

A question was raised if a regulated subsidiary could be exempt from the Advisory if the parent was not a federally regulated financial institution.

OSFI concluded that the Advisory is appropriate and it is important for life insurance companies to apply the IFRS financial instruments standard consistently.  No change to the Advisory is required.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

International Accounting Standards Board September 12, 2016 decision summary

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

Subject to Canadian Accounting Standards Board Approval.

Return to footnote 2

Préavis sur le report de l’entrée en vigueur de la norme IFRS 9 à l’intention des sociétés d’assurance-vie fédérales

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Lettre
  • Date : Le 20 mars 2017
  • Renvoi : Préavis à l’intention des SAV/SPA
  • Destinataires : Sociétés d’assurance-vie fédérales (y compris les sociétés de secours mutuels), Sociétés de portefeuille d’assurances

Le BSIF vous invite à prendre connaissance de la version définitive de son préavis sur le report de l’entrée en vigueur de la norme IFRS 9 à l’intention des sociétés d’assurance-vie (le préavis). Ce préavis a été rédigé dans la foulée des modificationsNote de bas de page 1,Note de bas de page 2 approuvées et apportées en septembre 2016 par le Conseil international des normes comptables (IASB) à la norme internationale d’information financière (IFRS) 4, Contrats d’assurance. Ces changements permettent aux sociétés dont l’essentiel des activités a trait aux assurances de se soustraire à l’application de la norme IFRS 9, Instruments financiers, jusqu’au 1er janvier 2021.

Suite à la publication de la modification apportée par l’IASB, Applying IFRS 9 Financial Instruments with IFRS 4 Insurance Contracts (application concomitante des normes IFRS 9 et IFRS 4), le BSIF s’est penché sur le coût et les avantages d’une exemption provisoire et il estime tout indiqué, par mesure de prudence, de formuler d’autres consignes à l’intention des sociétés d’assurance-vie. Son nouveau préavis devrait conférer une certaine uniformité et un degré de comparabilité à l’échelle du secteur de l’assurance-vie de compétence fédérale.   

Le 19 décembre 2016, les sociétés ont été invitées à faire part au BSIF de leurs observations au sujet du projet de préavis. Le BSIF a tenu compte des observations lors de la rédaction de la version finale, mais aucun changement n’a été apporté. Un condensé des observations reçues et de la réponse du BSIF est joint à la présente. Le BSIF remercie tous ceux qui ont fait part de leur opinion pendant la période de consultation.

Si vous avez des questions à ce sujet, veuillez écrire à M. David Correia, directeur, Division des politiques comptables, à l’adresse que voici : david.correia@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.

Carolyn Rogers
Surintendante auxiliaire, Secteur de la réglementation

ANNEXE

Observations des sociétés

Réponse du BSIF

Les sociétés soulignent leur appui au préavis sur le report de l’entrée en vigueur de la norme IFRS 9 à l’intention des sociétés d’assurance‑vie jusqu’au 1er janvier 2021. Elles ont également remarqué que le préavis réduirait au minimum l’asymétrie de l’actif et du passif entre l’entrée en vigueur de la norme IFRS 9 et celle de la norme IFRS 17. Elles ont ensuite mentionné qu’une entrée en vigueur uniforme du secteur facilitera la comparaison entre assureurs.

Aucune modification au préavis n’est nécessaire.

Le BSIF a obligé les sociétés d’assurance‑vie fédérales à reporter l’entrée en vigueur de la norme IFRS 9 jusqu’au 1er janvier 2021. Publiera‑t‑il un préavis semblable à l’intention des sociétés d’assurances multirisques (ou plus précisément, à l’intention des sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire), ou le report de l’entrée en vigueur de la norme demeurera‑t‑il facultatif pour ces sociétés?

Le report de l’entrée en vigueur de la norme IFRS 9 demeurera facultatif pour les sociétés d’assurances multirisques (y compris les sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire), et une note de bas de page à cet effet a été insérée dans la version finale du préavis.

Une société a demandé si une filiale fédérale peut se soustraire des obligations du préavis si sa société mère n’est pas une institution financière fédérale.

Le BSIF a conclu que le préavis est pertinent et qu’il est important que les sociétés d’assurance‑vie appliquent la norme IFRS sur les instruments financiers de façon uniforme. Par conséquent, aucune modification au préavis ne s’impose.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Résumé des décisions du Conseil des normes comptables internationales prises le 12 septembre 2016

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Soumises à l’approbation du Conseil des normes comptables du Canada.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2