Draft 2020 LICAT Guideline - ON HOLD

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Letter
  • Reference: Guideline for Federally Regulated Life Insurance Companies and Fraternal Benefit Societies
  • Date: February 26, 2020
  • To: Federally Regulated Life Insurance Companies & Fraternal Benefit Societies

Please refer to OSFI's March 27 letter. As noted in that letter, the public consultation and the finalization of the proposed updates for the Draft 2020 Life Insurance Capital Adequacy Test (LICAT) are on hold until further notice.

Guideline A: Life Insurance Capital Adequacy Test (LICAT) became effective on January 1, 2018. Since its implementation, OSFI has been monitoring insurer results to assess whether the test is operating as intended.

As communicated by OSFI in its November 24, 2017 letter, any issues uncovered may be modified, as appropriate. Recently, OSFI identified an aspect of the test that, due to the methodology, causes some unwarranted volatility in interest rate risk requirements for participating (par) products. To address this, today, OSFI is proposing to update the LICAT framework and publish a 2020 version of the LICAT (2020 LICAT). Updates that are being proposed affect the requirement for the par credit floor (see LICAT sections 5.1.2, 9.1.2 and 9.3). Moreover, recognizing that the change could result in an initial increase in capital requirements for some insurers, OSFI is proposing that the impact be phased-in over six quarters.

Also, it has come to OSFI's attention that the current wording of the guideline may lead to a misinterpretation of OSFI's expectations for how an insurer would meet the conditions for claiming par credit, as well as the treatment of negative Dividend Stabilization Reserves or other similar experience leveling mechanisms (see LICAT sections 2.1.2.10 and 9.1.1). Therefore, we are also proposing that we clarify these expectations in the 2020 LICAT guideline.

We look forward to receiving your comments by March 26th, 2020. OSFI will consider all comments in finalizing the 2020 LICAT guideline. A summary of industry comments received along with OSFI's responses may be posted on OSFI's website when the final guideline is released, planned for mid-2020. It will become effective on that date.

Please send comments using a format similar to the template included in the attached document to Jasmine Pan, Senior Analyst, Capital Division (jasmine.pan@osfi-bsif.gc.ca) or at:

  • Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions
  • Capital Division
  • 121 King West
  • Toronto, ON M5H 3T9

Should you have any questions, please contact Michelle John, Director, Capital Division (michelle.john@osfi-bsif.gc.ca) or by telephone at (416) 954-7221.

Sincerely,

Ben Gully
Assistant Superintendent
Regulation Sector

Attachment

COMMENTS TEMPLATE
DRAFT 2020 LICAT GUIDELINE
Insurer or organization:
Contact name:
Contact telephone # / email:
Date :
No. LICAT Section or Subsection Comment
1.
2.
3.
4
5.
6.
7.
8.
9.
10.
11.
12.
13.
14.
15.
16.
17.
18.
19.
20.

Consultation publique sur la ligne directrice A, Test de suffisance du capital des sociétés d’assurance-vie (TSAV) de 2020

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Lettre
  • Date : Le 26 février 2020
  • Renvoi : Ligne directrice à l’intention des sociétés d’assurance-vie et sociétés de secours mutuels fédérales
  • Destinataires : Sociétés d’assurance-vie et sociétés de secours mutuels fédérales

La ligne directrice A, Test de suffisance du capital des sociétés d’assurance-vie (TSAV), est entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 2018. Depuis lors, le BSIF surveille les résultats des assureurs pour déterminer si le test fonctionne comme prévu.

Comme il l’a communiqué dans sa lettre du 24 novembre 2017, le BSIF a prévu d’apporter au besoin des modifications s’il détectait des anomalies. Or, récemment, il a relevé un aspect du test qui, en raison de la méthode, causait une trop grande variabilité des exigences pour le risque de taux d’intérêt des produits avec participation. Pour corriger cette anomalie, le BSIF se propose de réviser le cadre du TSAV et de publier une version 2020 du TSAV (TSAV de 2020). Les corrections proposées influent sur l’exigence du seuil du crédit pour polices avec participation (sections 5.1.2, 9.1.2 et 9.3 du TSAV). En outre, compte tenu du fait que le changement pourrait entraîner une hausse initiale des exigences de capital pour certains assureurs, le BSIF propose une prise en compte progressive de l’incidence sur six trimestres.

Par ailleurs, le BSIF a appris que la formulation actuelle de la ligne directrice donne parfois lieu à une mauvaise interprétation des attentes du BSIF à l’égard de la façon dont un assureur doit remplir les conditions pour réclamer un crédit pour polices avec participation, de même que de la façon de traiter les réserves négatives pour stabilisation des participations ou d’autres mécanismes semblables de nivellement des résultats (sections 2.1.2.10 et 9.1.1 du TSAV). Par conséquent, nous proposons également de mieux définir ces attentes dans la ligne directrice sur le TSAV de 2020.

Nous vous demandons de bien vouloir nous envoyer vos commentaires au plus tard le 26 mars prochain. Le BSIF examinera tous les commentaires avant de finaliser le TSAV de 2020. Au moment de la parution de la version finale de la ligne directrice, prévue pour le milieu de 2020, il se peut que le BSIF publie sur son site Web un condensé des commentaires, accompagnés de ses réponses. La ligne directrice entrera en vigueur à cette date.

Veuillez faire parvenir vos commentaires – en utilisant la grille ci-jointe – à Jasmine Pan, analyste principale (Jasmine.Pan@osfi-bsif.gc.ca), ou à l’adresse suivante :

  • Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières
  • Division des fonds propres
  • 121, rue King Ouest
  • Toronto (Ontario) M5H 3T9

Pour toute question, écrivez à Michelle John, directrice, Division des fonds propres (michelle.john@osfi-bsif.gc.ca) ou téléphonez-lui au 416 954-7221.

Cordialement,

Ben Gully
Surintendant auxiliaire
Secteur de la réglementation

Pièce jointe

GRILLE DE COMMENTAIRES
PROJET DE LIGNE DIRECTRICE SUR LE TSAV DE 2020
Assureur ou entreprise :
Personne-ressource :
Numéro de téléphone/courriel de la personne-ressource 
Date :
No. Section ou sous-section du TSAVCommentaire
1.
2.
3.
4
5.
6.
7.
8.
9.
10.
11.
12.
13.
14.
15.
16.
17.
18.
19.
20.