Residential Mortgage Underwriting Practices and Procedures Guideline (B-20)

Sound Mortgage Underwriting Contributes to Financial Stability

The safety and stability of federally regulated financial institutions is fundamental to the ongoing health of Canada’s financial system and its economy. OSFI contributes to this stability by fulfilling its mandate to protect the interests of depositors and other creditors of financial institutions. It does this by setting standards that improve banks’ resilience, both under normal conditions and in the event of a financial downturn.

Lenders subject to OSFI supervision hold nearly 80 per cent of all residential mortgages issued in Canada, and residential mortgage loans account for almost 30 per cent of the total assets held by these lenders. Sound mortgage underwriting practices reduce risks to the financial system, and to Canadians who entrust their savings to Canada’s financial institutions.

Sound mortgage underwriting practices require lenders to assess a borrower’s ability to pay their loan under a variety of conditions. A lender should consider potential changes to a borrower’s income and expenses, as well as changes to the market environment including the valuation of the property that is being mortgaged.

This information sheet is updated periodically to provide information about the effectiveness of Guideline B-20 and statistics about some of the areas that we continue to monitor.

History of Guideline B-20

In 2012, OSFI introduced its Residential Mortgage Underwriting Practices and Procedures Guideline (B-20) to set out expectations for strong residential mortgage underwriting for federally regulated lenders. The original Guideline was mostly principles-based and included an expectation that lenders would stress test borrowers for adverse conditions.

In 2016, OSFI reminded lenders of its underwriting expectations in the form of a public letter. When OSFI continued to see examples of relaxed mortgage underwriting at some lenders, it issued an update to Guideline B-20 in 2017 that came into effect in January 2018.

The updated Guideline B-20 clarified and strengthened expectations to address what OSFI saw as increasing risks in an environment of historically low interest rates, high levels of consumer debt and housing imbalances.

The revised Guideline B-20 includes:

  • measures requiring financial institutions to apply greater rigor when assessing a borrower’s ability to repay their mortgage loans, including when verifying a borrower’s employment status and income history
  • a revised minimum qualifying rate (stress test) that requires lenders to confirm borrowers would be able to continue repaying their mortgage loans if faced with a sudden change to their circumstances (income loss, increased interest rates, additional expenses, etc.). The minimum qualifying rate is the greater of the contractual mortgage rate plus two percentage points, or the five-year benchmark rate published by the Bank of Canada
  • a requirement for lenders to place more scrutiny on property valuations, establish dynamic loan-to-value limits that reflect the risk of specific properties and markets, and update these limits and practices as housing markets and the economic environment evolve.
  • The extraordinary circumstances at the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic required OSFI to make a series of decisions intended to focus on continued resilience, the delivery of government programs and operational pressures on institutions we oversee. This included pausing policy consultations, and special temporary capital treatment of deferred payments.
  • OSFI continues to assess policy measures against the principles and considerations laid out in a speech delivered in September 2020.

Guideline B-20 Impact on Uninsured Mortgages

The following data, similar to the note issued in January 2020, represents uninsured mortgages from 20 federally regulated mortgage lenders. These lenders hold more than 99 per cent (by $) of all mortgages subject to OSFI regulation and supervision. The charts below include data up to and including November 2020.

Mortgage underwriting quality warrants continued attention:

When Guideline B-20 revisions were introduced, lenders made changes that reduced the proportion of mortgages approved for the most highly indebted or over-leveraged borrowers (e.g. mortgage loans that exceed 450% of a borrower’s income.)

  • This metric peaked at 20% prior to the implementation of Guideline B-20 changes in 2018 and remained low over the following year and a half.
  • In the second half of 2019, there was renewed growth in the exposure to these highly indebted borrowers that has accelerated further in 2020.
  • Of note, the debt servicing capacity of highly indebted borrowers has actually improved, largely driven by historically low mortgage rates. (See Chart 1)
Text version - Chart 1
Average TDSR / Proportion with LTI > 450% Trends for Unsinsured Mortgage Originations in Canada
PeriodAverage TDS% LTI > 4.5x
2014 Q144.13%12.29%
2014 Q243.82%11.93%
2014 Q343.32%13.22%
2014 Q443.23%13.57%
2015 Q142.87%13.95%
2015 Q241.86%15.58%
2015 Q342.41%16.91%
2015 Q442.78%16.65%
2016 Q143.39%16.84%
2016 Q242.77%16.92%
2016 Q342.51%18.30%
2016 Q442.53%18.61%
2017 Q142.57%19.33%
2017 Q242.32%19.51%
2017 Q341.56%20.03%
2017 Q441.55%19.18%
2018 Q143.14%17.36%
2018 Q243.98%13.65%
2018 Q343.65%14.45%
2018 Q444.56%14.06%
2019 Q145.99%14.25%
2019 Q245.25%14.57%
2019 Q344.41%16.43%
2019 Q445.03%17.49%
2020 Q145.35%18.26%
2020 Q244.29%17.99%
2020 Q344.09%20.00%
2020 Q443.57%22.68%
  • Another metric that OSFI monitors to assess underwriting quality is the proportion of new uninsured mortgage originations with loan to value ratios in excess of 75%. These are known as high ratio mortgages, meaning there is less equity at origination than a conventional mortgage. While this measure peaked prior to the implementation of Guideline B-20, it has been increasing, especially over the past the year, although it remains below its historic peak levels. (See Chart 2)

OSFI will continue to monitor the performance of these metrics, along with a number of other measures to assess the effectiveness of Guideline B-20.

Text version - Chart 2
Uninsured mortgage originations, proportion of mortgages with LTV > 75% by $
Period% > 75%
2014 Q151.1%
2014 Q253.3%
2014 Q351.9%
2014 Q450.6%
2015 Q148.8%
2015 Q249.9%
2015 Q349.9%
2015 Q448.5%
2016 Q145.6%
2016 Q245.9%
2016 Q345.0%
2016 Q445.8%
2017 Q145.6%
2017 Q245.4%
2017 Q345.6%
2017 Q446.7%
2018 Q145.9%
2018 Q246.6%
2018 Q346.3%
2018 Q447.1%
2019 Q146.7%
2019 Q248.8%
2019 Q348.2%
2019 Q447.9%
2020 Q147.6%
2020 Q248.5%
2020 Q350.3%
2020 Q449.8%

Amortization periods not extending:

Insured mortgages have a maximum amortization period of 25 years, while uninsured mortgages subject to Guideline B-20 can be paid over a longer period.

  • Uninsured mortgage borrowers do not appear to be extending amortization periods to pass the stress test requirement. (See Chart 3)

OSFI will continue to monitor the Canadian real estate market, the impacts of COVID on market dynamics, as well as lender practices, particularly in the area of income verification and collateral values. OSFI will be proactive with lenders when it identifies areas requiring attention.

Text version - Chart 3
Mortgages with amortizations greater than 25 years
Date% >25 yrs
2015 Q157%
2015 Q257%
2015 Q360%
2015 Q461%
2016 Q163%
2016 Q264%
2016 Q366%
2016 Q466%
2017 Q157%
2017 Q251%
2017 Q352%
2017 Q452%
2018 Q152%
2018 Q246%
2018 Q348%
2018 Q451%
2019 Q151%
2019 Q248%
2019 Q350%
2019 Q452%
2020 Q150%
2020 Q249%
2020 Q350%
2020 Q452%

Rates at renewal are stable:

OSFI’s monitoring of the mortgage market includes rates at renewals. Contrary to some speculation when the revised Guideline B-20 was introduced in 2018, there has been no significant spread between the rates offered at origination and those at renewal.

  • Data from OSFI regulated lenders shows that following the introduction of the revised guideline, the difference between renewal and new mortgage rates for uninsured five-year fixed and variable rate mortgages has remained largely unchanged. (See Chart 4)
Text version - Chart 4
Renewal / new mortgage rate difference for five-year mortgages
DateRen-Origin
2015 Q10.02%
2015 Q20.11%
2015 Q30.20%
2015 Q40.06%
2016 Q10.14%
2016 Q20.17%
2016 Q30.17%
2016 Q40.10%
2017 Q10.04%
2017 Q20.00%
2017 Q30.07%
2017 Q40.10%
2018 Q10.07%
2018 Q2-0.06%
2018 Q30.11%
2018 Q40.16%
2019 Q10.05%
2019 Q20.15%
2019 Q30.10%
2019 Q40.10%
2020 Q10.09%
2020 Q20.11%
2020 Q30.05%
2020 Q40.06%

Associated Links

Guideline B-20: Residential Mortgage Underwriting Practices and Procedures

Speech: Sound Mortgage Underwriting: Foundation for Stability - 2020

Speech: Stressing the Stress Test: The Importance of Strong Mortgage Underwriting - 2019

Speech: Guideline B-20: Preparing for the Unexpected - 2019

Ligne directrice Pratiques et procédures de souscription de prêts hypothécaires (B-20)

Des saines pratiques de souscription de prêts hypothécaires pour contribuer à la stabilité financière

La sûreté et la stabilité des institutions financières fédérales sont essentielles à la vitalité du système financier du Canada et de son économie. Le BSIF y contribue en s’acquittant de son mandat, c’est-à-dire protéger les intérêts des déposants et des autres créanciers des institutions financières. À cette fin, il établit des normes qui confèrent plus de résilience aux banques, autant dans des conditions normales qu’en période de ralentissement économique.

Les bailleurs de fonds que surveille le BSIF octroient près de 80 % des prêts hypothécaires résidentiels souscrits au Canada, lesquels représentent presque 30 % du total de leur actif. De saines pratiques de souscription de ces prêts permettent de réduire les risques auxquels sont exposés le système financier et les Canadiens qui confient leur avoir aux institutions financières du Canada.

S’agissant de saines pratiques de souscription de prêts hypothécaires, le bailleur de fonds se doit d’évaluer la capacité de l’emprunteur d’honorer ses engagements dans diverses circonstances. Il doit tenir compte d’une éventuelle fluctuation des revenus et des dépenses de l’emprunteur ainsi que de l’évolution du marché, notamment de la variation de l’évaluation foncière du bien hypothèqué.

La présente fiche documentaire est mise à jour périodiquement : des renseignements y sont ajoutés sur l’efficacité de la ligne directrice B-20 et des statistiques y sont fournies sur certains des aspects dont le BSIF assure le suivi.

Historique de la ligne directrice B-20

En 2012, le BSIF instaurait la ligne directrice Pratiques et procédures de souscription de prêts hypothécaires résidentiel (ligne directrice B-20), dans laquelle il énonçait des attentes rigoureuses en matière de souscription de prêts hypothécaires à l’intention des prêteurs fédéraux. La version originale de cette ligne directrice reposait essentiellement sur des principes et exigeait, entre autres choses, que les prêteurs soumettent les demandes de prêt hypothécaire à une simulation de crise tenant compte de conditions défavorables.

En 2016, le BSIF rappelait aux prêteurs ses attentes précitées en faisant paraître une lettre publique. Constatant que certains d’entre eux manquaient encore parfois de rigueur, il a publié en 2017 une version révisée de la ligne directrice B-20, qui est entrée en vigueur en janvier 2018.

Cette nouvelle version visait à préciser et à étoffer ses attentes dans le but de lutter contre ce qu’il estimait être des risques accrus dans une conjoncture caractérisée par des taux d’intérêt plus faibles que jamais, le taux d’endettement record des ménages et le déséquilibre du marché immobilier.

Points à souligner dans la nouvelle version de la ligne directrice B-20 :

  • Le bailleur de fonds doit faire preuve de plus de rigueur lorsqu’il évalue la capacité de l’emprunteur de rembourser son prêt hypothécaire, notamment lorsqu’il vérifie son statut d’emploi et ses antécédents en matière de revenus.
  • Un taux admissible minimal (simulation de crise) oblige le bailleur de fonds à s’assurer que l’emprunteur pourra continuer à rembourser son prêt advenant un revirement soudain de la situation (perte de revenus, hausse des taux d’intérêt, hausse des dépenses, etc.). Le taux admissible de tous les prêts hypothécaires équivaut au montant le plus élevé entre le taux hypothécaire contractuel majoré de 2 % et le taux de référence quinquennal fixé par la Banque du Canada.
  • Le bailleur de fonds doit accorder plus d’attention à l’évaluation foncière, définir des limites dynamiques de ratio prêt-valeur qui traduisent le risque que représentent le bien et le marché où il se trouve et ajuster ces limites et pratiques en fonction de l’évolution des marchés de l’habitation et du contexte économique.
  • Les circonstances exceptionnelles que nous avons connues au début de la pandémie de COVID-19 ont obligé le BSIF à prendre une série de décisions dont l’objet était de préserver la résilience, d’assurer la poursuite des programmes gouvernementaux et d’alléger les pressions opérationnelles qui pesaient sur les institutions qu’il surveille. La situation l’a notamment contraint à suspendre les consultations sur les mesures stratégiques proposées et à établir un régime spécial temporaire de calcul des fonds propres au titre des paiements reportés.
  • Le BSIF continue d’évaluer les mesures stratégiques à la lumière des principes et des facteurs énoncés dans une allocution prononcée en septembre 2020.

Incidence de la ligne directrice B-20 sur les prêts hypothécaires non assurés

À l’instar de la fiche publiée en janvier 2020, les données suivantes rendent compte des prêts hypothécaires non assurés souscrits par les vingt grandes sociétés fédérales de prêts hypothécaires. Celles-ci octroient plus de 99 % (en valeur monétaire) des prêts hypothécaires que surveille et réglemente le BSIF. Les graphiques ci-dessous présentent les données à ce propos pour la période se terminant à la fin de novembre 2020.

La qualité de la souscription des prêts hypothécaires : une question qui demeure digne d’intérêt

Lorsque la nouvelle version de la ligne directrice B-20 est entrée en vigueur, les bailleurs de fonds ont réduit la part des prêts hypothécaires accordés aux personnes qui étaient fortement endettées ou qui avaient contracté des emprunts au-delà de leurs moyens (par exemple, les prêts hypothécaires supérieurs à 450 % du revenu de l’emprunteur).

  • Cette proportion avait atteint un sommet de 20 % avant la prise d’effet des changements apportés à la ligne directrice en 2018, mais elle est demeurée faible au cours des 18 mois qui ont suivi.
  • Au cours du second semestre de 2019, les prêts contractés par les emprunteurs fortement endettés ont augmenté de nouveau, tendance qui s’est amplifiée en 2020.
  • Fait à noter, la capacité de service de la dette des emprunteurs fortement endettés s’est améliorée, surtout grâce aux taux d’intérêt hypothécaires les plus faibles jamais vus. (Voir le graphique 1)
Chart 1
STD = Service total de la dette
RPR = Ratio prêt-revenu
Graphique 1 - Clique sur l'image pour l'agrandir
Version textuelle - Graphique 1
Ratio STD moyen et proportion dont le RPR est > 450% - Tendances pour les prêts hypothécaires non assurés octroyés au Canada
PériodeRPR moyen% LTI > 4.5x
2014 Q144.13%12.29%
2014 Q243.82%11.93%
2014 Q343.32%13.22%
2014 Q443.23%13.57%
2015 Q142.87%13.95%
2015 Q241.86%15.58%
2015 Q342.41%16.91%
2015 Q442.78%16.65%
2016 Q143.39%16.84%
2016 Q242.77%16.92%
2016 Q342.51%18.30%
2016 Q442.53%18.61%
2017 Q142.57%19.33%
2017 Q242.32%19.51%
2017 Q341.56%20.03%
2017 Q441.55%19.18%
2018 Q143.14%17.36%
2018 Q243.98%13.65%
2018 Q343.65%14.45%
2018 Q444.56%14.06%
2019 Q145.99%14.25%
2019 Q245.25%14.57%
2019 Q344.41%16.43%
2019 Q445.03%17.49%
2020 Q145.35%18.26%
2020 Q244.29%17.99%
2020 Q344.09%20.00%
2020 Q443.57%22.68%
  • La part des nouveaux prêts hypothécaires non assurés octroyés dont le ratio prêt-valeur dépasse 75 % est un autre paramètre que contrôle le BSIF lorsqu’il évalue la qualité de la souscription. Ces prêts sont qualifiés de prêts hypothécaires à ratio élevé, ce qui signifie que l’avoir net du propriétaire au moment de l’octroi du prêt est inférieur à ce qu’il serait dans le cas d’une hypothèque ordinaire. Bien que cette mesure ait atteint un pic avant l’entrée en vigueur de la version révisée de la ligne directrice B-20, elle a progressé, surtout au cours de la dernière année, sans toutefois égaler son sommet historique. (Voir le graphique 2)

Le BSIF continuera de suivre la variation de ces mesures et celle d’un certain nombre de paramètres autres afin d’évaluer l’efficacité de la ligne directrice B-20.

Chart 2
RPV = Ratio prêt-valeur
Graphique 2 - Clique sur l'image pour l'agrandir
Version textuelle - Graphique 2
Prêts hypothécaires non assurés octroyés - Proportion dont le RPV > 75% en valeur monétaire
Période% > 75%
2014 Q151.1%
2014 Q253.3%
2014 Q351.9%
2014 Q450.6%
2015 Q148.8%
2015 Q249.9%
2015 Q349.9%
2015 Q448.5%
2016 Q145.6%
2016 Q245.9%
2016 Q345.0%
2016 Q445.8%
2017 Q145.6%
2017 Q245.4%
2017 Q345.6%
2017 Q446.7%
2018 Q145.9%
2018 Q246.6%
2018 Q346.3%
2018 Q447.1%
2019 Q146.7%
2019 Q248.8%
2019 Q348.2%
2019 Q447.9%
2020 Q147.6%
2020 Q248.5%
2020 Q350.3%
2020 Q449.8%

Pas de prolongation des périodes d’amortissement

Les prêts hypothécaires assurés doivent être remboursés dans un délai de 25 ans, alors que les prêts non assurés, qui sont assujettis à la ligne directrice B-20, peuvent l’être sur une période plus longue.

  • Les emprunteurs qui souscrivent un prêt hypothécaire non assuré ne semblent pas enclins à prolonger la période d’amortissement de leur prêt afin de satisfaire à la simulation de crise. (Voir le graphique 3)

Le BSIF continuera de surveiller le marché immobilier canadien, l’incidence de la COVID-19 sur la dynamique des marchés aussi bien que les pratiques des bailleurs de fonds, tout particulièrement en ce qui concerne la vérification du revenu et la valeur des sûretés. Il soulèvera auprès des prêteurs toutes les questions qui requièrent une attention particulière.

Version textuelle - Graphique 3
Prêts hypothécaires amortis sur plus de 25 ans
Date% >25 yrs
2015 Q157%
2015 Q257%
2015 Q360%
2015 Q461%
2016 Q163%
2016 Q264%
2016 Q366%
2016 Q466%
2017 Q157%
2017 Q251%
2017 Q352%
2017 Q452%
2018 Q152%
2018 Q246%
2018 Q348%
2018 Q451%
2019 Q151%
2019 Q248%
2019 Q350%
2019 Q452%
2020 Q150%
2020 Q249%
2020 Q350%
2020 Q452%

Stabilité des taux au renouvellement

Lorsqu’il contrôle le marché des prêts hypothécaires, le BSIF s’intéresse notamment aux taux pratiqués au moment du renouvellement des prêts. Contrairement à ce que d’aucuns craignaient lorsque la version révisée de la ligne directrice B-20 a été publiée en 2018, il n’y a eu aucun écart appréciable entre les taux offerts au moment de l’octroi des prêts et au moment de leur renouvellement.

  • L’analyse des données fournies par les prêteurs hypothécaires fédéraux révèle que la différence entre les taux au renouvellement et ceux à l’octroi d’un prêt sur cinq ans non assuré à taux fixe ou variable est demeurée sensiblement inchangée. (Voir le graphique 4)
Version textuelle - Graphique 4
Écart entre le taux au renouvellement et le taux à l'octoi des prêts hypothécaires sur cinq ans
DateRen-Origin
2015 Q10.02%
2015 Q20.11%
2015 Q30.20%
2015 Q40.06%
2016 Q10.14%
2016 Q20.17%
2016 Q30.17%
2016 Q40.10%
2017 Q10.04%
2017 Q20.00%
2017 Q30.07%
2017 Q40.10%
2018 Q10.07%
2018 Q2-0.06%
2018 Q30.11%
2018 Q40.16%
2019 Q10.05%
2019 Q20.15%
2019 Q30.10%
2019 Q40.10%
2020 Q10.09%
2020 Q20.11%
2020 Q30.05%
2020 Q40.06%

Liens connexes

Ligne directrice B-20 : Pratiques et procédures de souscription de prêts hypothécaires résidentiels

Allocation : De saines pratiques de souscription de prêts hypothécaires : pierre angulaire de la stabilité - 2020

Allocution : Du rôle de la simulation de crise et de l’importance de pratiques rigoureuses en matière de financement hypothécaire - 2019

Allocution : Ligne directrice B-20 : Se préparer à l’imprévu - 2019