Small and Medium-Sized Deposit-Taking Institutions (SMSBs) Capital and Liquidity Requirements Guideline

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Guideline Impact Analysis Statement
  • Date: January 2022

I. Background

OSFI’s SMSB Capital and Liquidity Requirements Guideline details the criteria OSFI uses to segment small and medium-sized deposit-taking institutions (SMSBs) into three categories for the purpose of determining their capital and liquidity requirementsFootnote 1. The Guideline is a reference tool for SMSBs to clarify which parts of OSFI’s Capital Adequacy Requirements Guideline, Leverage Requirements Guideline, and Liquidity Adequacy Requirements Guideline apply to SMSBs in each category.

II. Problem Identification

OSFI’s existing capital, leverage, and liquidity guidance may not appropriately reflect the size, complexity, and risk profile of SMSBs.

III. Objectives

OSFI’s objective is to ensure that its capital, leverage, and liquidity guidance remains comprehensive, risk-sensitive, and fit-for-purpose. The SMSB Capital and Liquidity Requirements Guideline tailors the foregoing requirements to reflect the size and complexity of these institutions. Revisions to the SMSB capital and liquidity frameworks should strike the right balance between improving the risk sensitivity of the requirements for SMSBs and reducing their complexity to make them more fit for purpose.

IV. Consultations

OSFI issued the draft Guideline for public consultation in March 2021. A summary of the material comments received from industry stakeholders and an explanation of how they have been addressed has been published along with the final Guideline.

V. Recommendations

It is recommended that the Guideline be published to advance proportionality in the capital and liquidity frameworks for SMSBs.

VI. Implementation & Evaluation

The final version of the Guideline will be effective February 1, 2023/April 1, 2023Footnote 2. OSFI will monitor adherence to the Guideline through its ongoing supervision of institutions.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

For the purposes of this Guideline, SMSBs are banks (including federal credit unions), bank holding companies, federally regulated trust companies, and federally regulated loan companies that have not been designated by OSFI as domestic systemically important banks (D-SIBs). This includes subsidiaries of SMSBs or D-SIBs that are banks (including federal credit unions), federally regulated trust companies or federally regulated loan companies.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

For institutions with a fiscal year ending October 31 or December 31, respectively.

Return to footnote 2

Normes de fonds propres et de liquidité des petites et moyennes institutions de dépôt (PMB)

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Résumé de l'étude d'impact de la ligne directrice
  • Date :  Janvier 2022

I. Contexte

La ligne directrice sur les normes de fonds propres et de liquidité des petites et moyennes institutions de dépôt (PMB) décrit en détail les critères qu’utilise le BSIF pour segmenter les PMB en trois catégories afin de déterminer les exigences de fonds propres et de liquiditéNote de bas de page 1. Elle est un outil de référence dont le but est d’informer les PMB sans équivoque des parties des Normes de fonds propres, des Exigences de levier et des Normes de liquidité qui s’appliquent à leur catégorie d’institution

II. Définition du problème

Les lignes directrices du BSIF sur les normes de fonds propres, de levier et de liquidité ne tiennent pas adéquatement compte de la taille, de la complexité et du profil de risque des PMB.

III. Objectifs

Le BSIF cherche à s’assurer que ses consignes sur les fonds propres, le levier et la liquidité demeurent complètes et soient adaptées aux risques et à leur objectif. Avec ses Normes de fonds propres et de liquidité des petites et moyennes institutions de dépôt (PMB), il adapte ses exigences aux caractéristiques uniques de ces institutions. Les révisions apportées aux cadres de fonds propres et de liquidité devraient concilier la nécessité d’améliorer la sensibilité au risque des normes des PMB et réduire la complexité des cadres afin qu’ils servent mieux leurs objectifs.

IV. Consultation

Le BSIF a diffusé la version à l’étude de la ligne directrice aux fins de consultation publique en mars 2021. La version finale de la ligne directrice s’accompagne d’un résumé des principales observations issues de ces exercices de consultation et des mesures prises par le BSIF pour leur donner suite.

V. Recommandations

On recommande de rendre public la ligne directrice pour accroître la proportionnalité du régime de fonds propres et de liquidité des PMB.

VI. Mise en œuvre et évaluation

La version finale de la ligne directrice entrera en vigueur le 1er février 2023 ou le 1er avril 2023Note de bas de page 2. Le BSIF en surveillera le respect au moyen d’une surveillance permanente des institutions.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Au sens de la présente ligne directrice, les PMB s’entendent des banques (y compris les coopératives de crédit fédérales), des sociétés de portefeuille bancaires, des sociétés de fiducie fédérales et des sociétés de prêt fédérales qui n’ont pas été désignées par le BSIF comme des banques d’importance systémique intérieure (BISi).  Cela comprend les filiales des PMB ou des BISi qui sont des banques (y compris les coopératives de crédit fédérales), des sociétés de fiducie fédérales ou des sociétés de prêt fédérales.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Selon que l’exercice des institutions se termine le 31 octobre ou le 31 décembre.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2