Summary of the Process for the External Peer Review of the 31st Actuarial Report on the Canada Pension Plan as at 31 December 2021

The Office of the Chief Actuary (OCA) is required by law to produce an actuarial report on the Canada Pension Plan (CPP) every three years. The report is one of the items to be considered by the federal and provincial finance ministers when reviewing and making recommendations with respect to the CPP. The federal and provincial finance ministers endorse regular peer reviews of actuarial reports on the CPP. It is of utmost importance that the credibility of the information presented in such reports be indisputable.

As part of its policy of ensuring that it provides professional and relevant actuarial advice to Members of Parliament and to the Canadian population, the OCA is commissioning an external peer review of its 31st Actuarial Report on the Canada Pension Plan as at 31 December 2021. To further increase the credibility of the peer review of the 31st Actuarial Report, the United Kingdom Government Actuary’s Department (GAD) will provide an opinion of the review. GAD is internationally recognized for its work and research in the field of social security.

GAD will perform the following tasks:

  1. assist with the selection of the applicants who will perform the peer review by ranking them based on their comparative qualifications as independent actuaries, and

  2. provide an opinion on the work performed by the reviewers once the peer review has been completed.

For this purpose, a panel consisting of the highest ranked applicants by GAD will perform the review subject to the OCA’s final decision, with the next highest ranked applicant(s) chosen if necessary. The OCA will fully cooperate with the peer review and strongly believes that the qualified individuals performing the peer review should meet the highest standards of practice.

All the independent actuaries selected to be reviewers, except for possibly one, must be Fellows of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries (FCIAs). As recommended by a previous review panel, the selection for reviewers may allow for one other fully qualified actuary (equivalent to a Fellow of the CIA) who belongs to another actuarial association that is a Full Member of the International Actuarial Association and that requires its members to comply with the professional standards of the CIA.

The process of selecting the independent actuaries will take place between May and September 2022. Starting in December 2022 (once the 31st Actuarial Report has been tabled in the House of Commons), the peer reviewers will have three months to perform the review. Once the review has been completed, GAD will have one month to provide its opinion on the work performed by the reviewers. The review will subsequently be made public, as it was done for previous CPP actuarial reports. Previous CPP actuarial reports and independent peer reviews are available on the OCA’s website.

The participation of fully qualified actuaries with Canadian and international experience will contribute to enhancing the peer review of the 31st Actuarial Report. For planning purposes, the attached Peer Reviewer Application form should be completed and sent to the addresses provided on the form before end of day 15 July 2022. A document describing the Terms of Reference is also attached, which lists items for the reviewers’ consideration.

If further information is required on this matter, please do not hesitate to contact:

Chief Actuary
Assia Billig
Phone: 613-983-0322
E-mail: assia.billig@osfi-bsif.gc.ca

Sommaire du processus de l’Examen indépendant par les pairs du 31e Rapport actuariel sur le Régime de pensions du Canada au 31 décembre 2021

Le Bureau de l’actuaire en chef (BAC) est tenu par la loi de produire un rapport actuariel triennal sur le Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC). Ce rapport représente l’un des éléments pris en compte par les ministres des finances fédéral et provinciaux lorsqu’ils examinent le RPC et formulent des recommandations à son endroit. Les ministres des Finances fédéral et provinciaux approuvent l’examen périodique par les pairs des rapports actuariels sur le RPC. Il est essentiel que la crédibilité des renseignements présentés dans ces rapports soit incontestable.

Dans le cadre de sa politique de prestation de conseils actuariels professionnels et pertinents aux parlementaires et à la population canadienne, le BAC commande un examen externe par les pairs de son 31e Rapport actuariel sur le Régime de pensions du Canada au 31 décembre 2021. Afin d’accroître davantage la crédibilité de l’examen par les pairs du 31e rapport actuariel, le Government Actuary’s Department (GAD) du Royaume-Uni formulera une opinion au sujet de l’examen. Le GAD est reconnu à l’échelle internationale pour ses travaux et sa recherche dans le domaine de la sécurité sociale.

Le GAD exécutera les travaux suivants :

  1. Il assistera dans la sélection des actuaires indépendants qui effectueront l’examen par les pairs en fournissant un classement des candidats basé sur des qualifications comparables;

  2. Il émettra une opinion sur les travaux effectués par les actuaires qui auront procédé à l’examen par les pairs.

À cette fin, un comité composé des candidats les mieux classés par le GAD effectuera l’examen sous réserve de la décision finale du BAC, en ayant recours au(x) prochain(s) candidat(s) le(s) mieux classé(s) au besoin. Le BAC collaborera sans réserve à cet examen et croit fermement que les personnes compétentes chargées de l’exécution de cet examen doivent respecter les normes de pratique les plus rigoureuses.

Tous les actuaires indépendants sélectionnés comme membre du comité de revue par les pairs doivent détenir le titre de Fellow de l’Institut canadien des actuaires (FICA). Tel que recommandé dans une revue précédente par les pairs, la sélection des membres du comité de revue, peut permettre la sélection d’un actuaire pleinement qualifié (l’équivalent d’un Fellow de l’ICA) qui appartient à une autre association actuarielle membre titulaire de l’Association Actuarielle Internationale et qui requiert que ses membres se conforment aux normes professionnelles de l’ICA.

Le processus de sélection des actuaires indépendants aura lieu entre mai et septembre 2022. À compter de décembre 2022 (une fois le 31e rapport actuariel déposé à la Chambre des communes), les actuaires indépendants chargés de l’examen auront trois mois pour effectuer l’examen. Une fois l’examen terminé, le GAD disposera d’un mois pour donner son opinion sur le travail effectué par les actuaires indépendants chargés de l’examen. L’examen sera ensuite rendu public, comme ce fut le cas pour les rapports actuariels précédents sur le RPC. Les rapports actuariels précédents sur le RPC et les rapports d'examen indépendant par les pairs antérieurs se trouvent sur le site Web du BAC.

La participation d’actuaires pleinement qualifiés ayant une expérience canadienne et internationale contribuera à améliorer l’examen par les pairs du 31e rapport actuariel. Aux fins de planification, le Formulaire de candidature pour l’examen indépendant par les pairs ci‑joint doit être rempli et transmis aux adresses qui y sont indiquées avant la fin de la journée le 15 juillet 2022. Nous avons également joint un document qui décrit le mandat et présente une liste d’éléments à l’intention des actuaires qui effectueront l’examen.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, prière de communiquer avec :

Actuaire en chef
Assia Billig 
Tél. : 613-983-0322
Courriel: assia.billig@osfi-bsif.gc.ca