Advancing Proportionality: OSFI releases discussion paper on capital and liquidity requirements for smaller deposit-taking institutions

News Release

For Immediate Release

July 11, 2019 - OTTAWA (Ontario) - Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) has released a discussion paper titled Advancing Proportionality: Tailoring Capital and Liquidity Requirements for Small and Medium-Sized Deposit-Taking Institutions.

One of the key priorities identified in OSFI's Strategic Plan 2019-2022 is to further adapt its regulatory approaches to reflect the size, complexity and risk profile of financial institutions with the goal of improving institutions' preparedness and resilience to financial risks.

The discussion paper seeks input on possible changes to capital and liquidity requirements for small and medium-sized deposit-taking institutions, and outlines OSFI's initiative to develop more tailored requirements that take into account their unique nature.

As new capital and liquidity standards are developed internationally and implemented domestically, OSFI is focused on ensuring that its capital and liquidity regime remains appropriate for these smaller, less complex organizations.

OSFI invites comments on all aspects of the discussion paper, as well as responses to the specific questions posed within it. Obtaining this feedback early in the process will help inform the development of capital and liquidity requirements for small and medium-sized deposit-taking institutions.

Quote

"By engaging stakeholders early, and putting in place robust, yet appropriate, capital and liquidity requirements, OSFI is enhancing the stability of the Canadian financial system while also taking into consideration the unique characteristics of these smaller deposit-taking institutions."
~ Superintendent Jeremy Rudin.

Associated Links

About OSFI

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is an independent agency of the Government of Canada, established in 1987, to protect depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan members, while allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

 

Media Contact

OSFI – Public Affairs | media-medias@osfi-bsif.gc.ca | 343-550-9373

Promouvoir la proportionnalité : Le BSIF publie un document de travail sur les normes de fonds propres et de liquidité à l’intention des institutions de dépôts de plus petite taille

Communiqué

Pour diffusion immédiate

11 juillet 2019 ─ OTTAWA (Ontario) ─ Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) annonce la publication, aujourd'hui, d'un document de travail intitulé Promouvoir la proportionnalité : Adapter les normes de fonds propres et de liquidité aux petites et moyennes institutions de dépôts.

Une des priorités fondamentales dont le BSIF fait état dans son Plan stratégique 2019-2022 consiste à adapter son approche réglementaire en fonction de la taille, de la complexité et du profil de risque des institutions financières dans le but d'en améliorer l'état de préparation et la résilience aux risques financiers.

Cet exercice a pour but de recueillir les réactions des principaux intéressés au sujet de modifications qui pourraient être apportées aux normes de fonds propres et de liquidité auxquelles doivent souscrire les petites et moyennes institutions de dépôts et trace les grandes lignes des mesures que veut prendre le BSIF pour adapter ses normes en fonction de la nature de ces institutions.

Compte tenu des nouvelles normes de fonds propres et de liquidité internationales auxquelles souscrit le Canada, le BSIF veut faire en sorte que son régime de fonds propres et de liquidité demeure adéquat pour ces établissements de plus petite taille et moins complexes.

Le BSIF invite les intéressés lui faire part de leurs observations concernant tous les aspects de ce document de travail, et à répondre aux questions qui s'y trouvent. Les réponses et commentaires qu'il recueillera à cette étape du processus lui serviront pour la conception des normes de fonds propres et de liquidité à l'intention des petites et moyenne institutions de dépôts.  

Citation

« En mobilisant d'emblée tous les intéressés et en instaurant des normes de fonds propres et de liquidité robustes mais pertinentes, le BSIF contribue à la stabilité du système financier canadien tout en tenant compte des particularités des institutions de dépôts de plus petite taille. »  
~ Jeremy Rudin, surintendant

Liens connexes

Le Bureau

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est un organisme fédéral indépendant fondé en 1987. Il a pour mandat de protéger les déposants, les souscripteurs, les créanciers des institutions financières et les participants des régimes de retraite, tout en permettant aux institutions financières de se mesurer à la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.

Relations de presse

BSIF – Affaires publiques | media-medias@osfi-bsif.gc.ca | 343-550-9373