Section III: Supplementary Information

Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page

Financial Statements Highlights

Over the course of 2013-14, OSFI continued to operate on a full accrual accounting basis, in accordance with International Financial Reporting Standards.

The tables below provide highlights from OSFI’s Statement of Financial Position and Statement of Operations, as presented in its audited financial statements. As such, there are differences between these tables and those presented in other sections of the Departmental Performance Report, which are prepared on the appropriation (i.e. modified cash) basis of accounting, in accordance with the Guide to the Preparation of Part III of the 2013-14 Estimates. Typically the differences stem from the accounting treatment of capital expenditures and accounts receivable.

Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions
Condensed Statement of Operations and Departmental Net Financial Position (unaudited)
For the Year Ended March 31, 2014
(dollars)
  2013–14
Planned
Results
2013–14
Actual
2012–13
Actual
Difference (2013–14 actual minus 2013–14 planned) Difference (2013–14 actual minus 2012–13 actual)
Total expenses 143,298,000 141,861,746 127,734,502 (1,436,254) 14,127,244
Total revenues 142,389,369 140,916,688 126,825,133 (1,472,681) 14,091,555
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers (909,369) (945,058) (909,369) (35,689) (35,689)
Departmental net financial position 24,988,000 24,988,000 24,988,000 0 0

Revenue by Type Chart 

[ text version ]

OSFI is funded mainly through asset-based, premium-based or membership-based assessments on the financial institutions and private pension plans that OSFI regulates and supervises, and a user-pay program for selected services. OSFI also receives revenues for cost-recovered services and a very small parliamentary appropriation for actuarial services relating to public sector employee pension and insurance plans. Overall, on an accrual basis, OSFI recovered all its expenses for the year.

Expenses by Type Chart 

[ text version ]

Total expenses were $141.9 million, a $14.1 million, or 11.1%, increase from the previous year, and $1.0 million lower than planned. Human resources costs, the main driver of OSFI’s expenses, rose by $11.1 million, or 11.4%. This was a result of an increase in personnel, including staffing vacant positions across all sectors, the full year impact of the previous year’s incremental new hires, and planned growth in employee compensation in accordance with collective agreements.

Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions
Condensed Statement of Financial Position (unaudited)
As at March 31, 2014
(dollars)
  2013–14 2012–13 Difference
(2013–14 minus
2012–13)
Total net liabilities 38,933,000 46,218,000 (7,285,000)
Total net financial assets 42,596,000 54,974,000 (12,378,000)
Departmental net debt 3,663,000 8,756,000 (5,093,000)
Total non-financial assets 21,325,000 16,232,000 5,093,000
Departmental net financial position 24,988,000 24,988,000 0

Financial Assets by Type - Chart 

[ text version ]

Total net financial assets at the end of 2013-14 were $42.6 million, a decrease of $12.4 million over the previous year’s assets, mostly driven by a decrease in the Cash Entitlement account, which represents the amount OSFI is entitled to withdraw from the Consolidated Revenue Fund without further authority.

Liabilities by Type - Chart 

[ text version ]

Total net liabilities were $38.9 million at the end of 2013-14, representing a $7.3 million decrease from the previous year. The decrease was primarily driven by a 24.6% decrease in the liability associated with employee future benefits due to the impact of the severance curtailment associated with employees under the Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada (PIPSC) collective agreement.

Financial Statements

OSFI’s Audited Financial Statements, which are published in the Annual Report can be found on the OSFI website.Endnote viii

Supplementary Information Tables

The supplementary information tables listed in the 2013-14 Departmental Performance Report can be found on OSFI’s websiteEndnote ix.

Tax Expenditures and Evaluations

The tax system can be used to achieve public policy objectives through the application of special measures such as low tax rates, exemptions, deductions, deferrals and credits. The Department of Finance Canada publishes cost estimates and projections for these measures annually in the Tax Expenditures and EvaluationsEndnote x publication. The tax measures presented in the Tax Expenditures and Evaluations publication are the sole responsibility of the Minister of Finance.​​

Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page​​

Section III : Renseignements supplémentaires

Page Précédente | Table des matières | Page Suivante

Faits saillants des états financiers

En 2013-2014, le BSIF a continué d’appliquer la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale, conformément aux Normes internationales d’information financière (IFRS).

Les tableaux qui suivent présentent les faits saillants de l’état de la situation financière et de l’état des résultats du BSIF tels qu’ils sont présentés dans ses états financiers audités. Il y a donc des différences entre ces tableaux et ceux figurant ailleurs dans le présent rapport, lesquels sont établis selon la comptabilité par crédit (version modifiée de la comptabilité de caisse), conformément au Guide de préparation de la partie III du Budget des dépenses 2013-2014. Les différences découlent le plus souvent du traitement comptable des immobilisations et des comptes à recevoir.

Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières
État condensé des opérations et de la situation financière nette ministérielle (non audité)
Pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014
(dollars)
  Résultats attendus
2013-2014
Résultats réels
2013-2014
Résultats réels
2012-2013
Écart (résultats réels 2013-2014 moins résultats prévus 2013-2014) Écart (résultats réels 2013-2014 moins résultats prévus 2013-2014)
Total des charges 143 298 000 141 861 746 127 734 502 (1 436 254) 14 127 244
Total des revenus 142 389 369 140 916 688 126 825 133 (1 472 681) 14 091 555
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement du gouvernement et les transferts (909 369) (945 058) (909 369) (35 689) (35 689)
Situation financière nette du ministère 24 988 000 24 988 000 24 988 000 0 0

Prodeuits selon le type 

[ version texte ]

Les activités du BSIF sont principalement financées par des cotisations que lui versent les institutions financières et les régimes de retraite privés qu’il réglemente et surveille en fonction de leur actif, de leurs revenu-primes ou selon le nombre de leurs participants, et par un programme de l’utilisateur-payeur à l’égard de certains services. Le BSIF perçoit aussi des revenus en contrepartie des services à coût recouvré et de très modestes crédits parlementaires pour les services actuariels se rapportant aux régimes de pension et d’assurance des employés du secteur public. Au total, selon la comptabilité d’exercice, le BSIF a recouvré la totalité de ses dépenses de l’année.

Charges selon le type 

[ version texte ]

Les charges ont totalisé 141,9 millions de dollars, une hausse de 14,1 millions, ou 11,1 %, par rapport à l’année précédente, mais 1,0 million de moins que prévu. Le coût des ressources humaines, le principal vecteur des charges du BSIF, a augmenté de 11,1 millions, ou 11,4 %, en raison de l’accroissement des effectifs, y compris de la dotation de postes vacants dans tous les secteurs, de l’effet sur l’année complète de la hausse du nombre de nouveaux employés embauchés l’année précédente et de la croissance prévue de la rémunération des employés, conformément aux conventions collectives.

Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières
État condensé de la situation financière (non audité)
Au 31 mars 2014
(dollars)
  2013–2014 2012–2013 Écart (2013–2014 moins 2012–2013)
Total des passifs nets 38 933 000 46 218 000 (7 285 000)
Total des actifs financiers nets 42 596 000 54 974 000 (12 378 000)
Dette nette du ministère 3 663 000 8 756 000 (5 093 000)
Total des actifs non financiers 21 325 000 16 232 000 5 093 000
Situation financière nette du ministère 24 988 000 24 988 000 0

Actifs financiers selon le type 

[ version texte ]

Les actifs financiers nets à la fin de 2013-2014 totalisaient 42,6 millions de dollars, soit 12,4 millions de moins que l’année précédente, principalement à cause d’une baisse des liquidités disponibles, lesquelles représentent le montant que le BSIF peut prélever sur le Trésor sans devoir obtenir d’autres autorisations.

Passifs selon le typee 

[ version texte ]

Le passif net total se chiffrait à 38,9 millions de dollars à la fin de 2013-2014, soit 7,3 millions de moins que l’année précédente. Cette baisse est principalement attribuable à la réduction de 24,6 % du passif associé aux avantages futurs du personnel en raison de l’impact de la réduction des indemnités de départ des employés visés par la convention collective de l’Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada. 

États financiers

Les états financiers audités du BSIF, qui sont publiés dans son rapport annuel, sont disponibles sur son site Web.Notes de fin de document viii

Tableaux de renseignements supplémentaires

Les tableaux de renseignements supplémentaires énumérés dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement 2013-2014 se trouvent sur le site Web du BSIFNotes de fin de document ix.

Dépenses fiscales et évaluations

Il est possible de recourir au régime fiscal pour atteindre des objectifs de la politique publique en appliquant des mesures spéciales, comme de faibles taux d’imposition, des exemptions, des déductions, des reports et des crédits. Le ministère des Finances Canada publie annuellement des estimations et des projections du coût de ces mesures dans une publication intitulée Dépenses fiscales et évaluationsNotes de fin de document x Les mesures fiscales présentées dans ladite publication relèvent de la seule responsabilité du ministre des Finances.

Page Précédente | Table des matières | Page Suivante​​​​​