Additional Corporate Information

Raison d’être, mandate and role: who we are and what we do

Raison d’être

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) was established in 1987 by an Act of Parliament: the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Act. It is an independent agency of the Government of Canada and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Finance.

OSFI supervises and regulates all banks in Canada and federal credit unions in Canada and all federally incorporated or registered trust and loan companies, insurance companies, fraternal benefit societies and private pension plans.  Under the OSFI Act, the Superintendent is solely responsible for exercising OSFI’s authorities and is required to report to the Minister of Finance from time to time on the administration of the financial institutions legislation.

The Office of the Chief Actuary (OCA), which is an independent unit within OSFI, provides actuarial valuation and advisory services for the Canada Pension Plan, the Old Age Security program, the Canada Student Loans and Employment Insurance Programs and other public sector pension and benefit plans.

Mandate and role

OSFI was created to contribute to public confidence in the Canadian financial system.

Under its legislation, OSFI’s mandate is:

Fostering sound risk management and governance practices

OSFI advances a regulatory framework designed to control and manage risk.

Supervision and early intervention

OSFI supervises federally regulated financial institutions and pension plans to determine whether they are in sound financial condition and meeting regulatory and supervisory requirements.

OSFI promptly advises financial institutions and pension plans if there are material deficiencies, and takes corrective measures or requires that they be taken to expeditiously address the situation.

Environmental scanning linked to safety and soundness of financial institutions

OSFI monitors and evaluates system-wide or sectoral developments that may have a negative impact on the financial condition of federally regulated financial institutions.

Taking a balanced approach

OSFI acts to protect the rights and interests of depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan beneficiaries while having due regard for the need to allow financial institutions to compete effectively and take reasonable risks.

OSFI recognizes that management, boards of directors and pension plan administrators are ultimately responsible for risk decisions and that financial institutions can fail and pension plans can experience financial difficulties resulting in the loss of benefits.

In fulfilling its mandate, OSFI supports the government’s objective of contributing to public confidence in the Canadian financial system.

The OCA is an independent unit within OSFI that provides a range of actuarial valuation and advisory services to the Government of Canada.

Operating context

Federally regulated financial institutions have benefited from favourable business conditions characterized by low credit losses and continued economic growth, which have contributed to profitability and stability in the financial system. However, historically high levels of Canadian household debt, institutional indebtedness, and asset imbalances, including still-elevated house prices, continue to be of concern to financial institutions.

In 2018-19, FRFIs’ business strategies continued to focus on product innovation and new services, expansion into new markets, efficiency improvements and reaping benefits from investment in technology. Financial institutions are expanding their business capabilities through a powerful combination of new technology and rapid digitization. They are extending channels for existing financial products and services, digitizing paper-based processes and outsourcing many aspects of their businesses to third-party providers. Many of these developments have taken place outside of traditional financial institutions giving rise to new risks and leading OSFI to increase its monitoring of advancements in this area.

OSFI monitors and assesses the potential impact of a number of risks on an ongoing basis to inform its regulatory and supervisory activities. While maintaining its focus on financial resilience, the shifting risk landscape requires OSFI to also direct its efforts and thinking toward the management of non-financial risks. OSFI is making internal changes to respond to non-financial risks by building new capability and infrastructure to address the supervision of operational resilience as a key component of financial safety and soundness.

While the Key Risks section below expands on actions that were undertaken by OSFI to address major areas of risk identified at the beginning of fiscal year 2018-19, i.e., industry advancement in financial technology and financial institution cyber security vulnerability, the agency continues to monitor and support the resilience of FRFIs to a number of other systemic vulnerability sources. These include elevated household debt, institutional indebtedness, climate change / global warming, and the potential for financial system stress emanating from financial market, trade, or geopolitical developments in Europe and China.

Key risks

Risks Risk response strategy and effectiveness Link to department’s Core Responsibilities Link to mandate letter commitments and any government‑wide or departmental priorities (as applicable)

Industry advancement in financial technology (fintech)

There is a risk that OSFI may not keep pace with technological advancements / development in the financial industry.

This risk was identified in the 2018-19 Departmental Plan. Risk responses during 2018-19 included:

  • Monitoring developments in the area of advanced analytics such as artificial intelligence and machine learning with plans to develop regulatory and supervisory expectations in this area.
  • Organizing OSFI’s first Innovative Technology Risk Seminar to inform supervisors about recent developments in how innovative technology is being applied in the Canadian financial services context.
Financial Institution and Pension Plan Regulation and Supervision OSFI Priority B: Strengthen our ability to anticipate and respond to severe but plausible risks to the Canadian financial system.

FI cyber-security vulnerability

There is a risk that OSFI may not respond effectively to cyber threats to Canadian FIs or to a major cyber-security incident. This could impact OSFI’s ability to support the resilience of FIs.

This risk was identified in the 2018-19 Departmental Plan. Risk responses during 2018-19 included:
  • OSFI issued an Advisory in January 2019 formalizing reporting requirements of actual or potential incidents that have been assessed to materially impact the normal operations of a FRFI. New cyber security incident reporting procedures for FRFIs were implemented effective March 31, 2019.
  • Creation of a new technology risk division within OSFI that focuses on cyber and fintech.
  • Collaborating with a number of national and international forums to leverage best practices in guidance and supervision. For example, OSFI worked with the Financial Stability Board regarding Cyber Incident Response and Recovery and with the G7 on Cyber Vulnerabilities across the financial sector. The latter work is in partnership with the Bank of Canada.
  • Working with the Canadian Centre of Cyber Security to enhance coordination and collaboration in the event of a national security incident.
Financial Institution and Pension Plan Regulation and Supervision OSFI Priority B: Strengthen our ability to anticipate and respond to severe but plausible risks to the Canadian financial system.

Renseignements additionnels sur l’organisation

Raison d’être, mandat et rôle : composition et responsabilités

Raison d’être

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) a été constitué en 1987 en vertu d'une loi fédérale, la Loi sur le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières. Organisme indépendant de l'administration fédérale, il rend des comptes au Parlement par l'entremise du ministre des Finances.

Le BSIF surveille et réglemente toutes les banques et les caisses de crédit fédérales au Canada, de même que l'ensemble des sociétés de fiducie et de prêt, des sociétés d'assurances, des sociétés de secours mutuels et des régimes de retraite privés constitués ou enregistrés sous le régime des lois fédérales. Aux termes de la Loi sur le BSIF, le surintendant détient seul les pouvoirs que les dispositions législatives à caractère financier confèrent au BSIF, et il lui incombe de rendre périodiquement compte au ministre des Finances de l'application des lois régissant les institutions financières.

Le Bureau de l'actuaire en chef (BAC), qui est une unité indépendante au sein du BSIF, offre des services d'évaluation et des conseils actuariels à l'égard du Régime de pensions du Canada, du programme de Sécurité de la vieillesse, du Programme canadien de prêts aux étudiants, du Programme d'assurance-emploi et d'autres régimes de retraite et d'avantages sociaux du secteur public.

Mandat et rôle

Le BSIF a été mis sur pied pour accroître la confiance du public à l’égard du système financier canadien.

Son mandat législatif est le suivant :

Promotion de saines pratiques de gestion du risque et de gouvernance

Le BSIF bonifie un cadre réglementaire conçu pour contrôler et gérer le risque.

Surveillance et intervention rapide

Le BSIF surveille les institutions financières et les régimes de retraite fédéraux pour s'assurer qu'ils sont en bonne santé financière et qu'ils se conforment à la réglementation qui les régit et aux exigences du régime de surveillance.

Il avise sans tarder les institutions financières et les régimes de retraite des lacunes importantes qu'ils présentent, et prend des mesures correctives ou exige des responsables qu'ils prennent des mesures dans le but de rectifier la situation promptement.

Analyse du contexte pour assurer la sûreté et la solidité des institutions financières

Le BSIF surveille et évalue les enjeux systémiques et les particularités sectorielles susceptibles de nuire aux institutions financières fédérales.

Adoption d’une approche équilibrée

Le BSIF protège, d'une part, les droits des déposants, souscripteurs et créanciers des institutions financières et, d'autre part, de toute personne ayant droit à une prestation de pension en tenant compte de la nécessité pour celles-ci de faire face à la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.

Il reconnaît que la direction et le conseil d'administration des institutions financières et les administrateurs de régimes de retraite sont ultimement responsables des décisions liées aux risques, qu'une institution financière peut faire faillite et qu'un régime de retraite peut éprouver des difficultés financières qui se traduisent par la réduction des prestations versées.

En exécutant son mandat, le BSIF contribue à la réalisation de l'objectif du gouvernement qui consiste à accroître la confiance du public envers le système financier canadien.

Le BAC est une unité indépendante au sein du BSIF qui offre une gamme de services d'évaluation et de conseils actuariels au gouvernement du Canada.

Contexte opérationnel

Les institutions financières fédérales ont profité d’une situation commerciale favorable, caractérisée par la faiblesse des pertes sur prêts et une croissance économique soutenue, concourant ainsi à la rentabilité et à la stabilité du système financier. Toutefois, les niveaux historiquement élevés d’endettement des ménages canadiens, l’endettement des entreprises et le déséquilibre des actifs, de même que les prix toujours élevés des habitations, restent une source de préoccupation pour les institutions financières.

En 2018‑2019, les stratégies commerciales des IFF sont toujours axées sur l’innovation des produits et les nouveaux services, sur la pénétration de nouveaux marchés et l’accroissement de l’efficacité, et sur la récolte du produit des investissements dans les technologies. Les institutions financières sont en passe d’élargir leurs capacités opérationnelles grâce à une puissante combinaison de nouvelles technologies et de numérisation rapide. Elles élargissent les canaux de distribution de leurs produits et services financiers, numérisent les processus papier en plus d’externaliser bien de leurs activités à des tiers fournisseurs. Bon nombre de ces changements se sont produits en dehors des institutions financières traditionnelles, ce qui a fait naître de nouveaux risques et amené le BSIF à surveiller plus étroitement les progrès dans ce domaine.

Le BSIF contrôle et évalue en permanence l’incidence potentielle de divers risques afin d’orienter ses activités de réglementation et de surveillance. Sans cesser de s’intéresser à la résilience financière, le BSIF doit porter ses efforts et ses réflexions sur la gestion des risques non financiers, en raison de l’évolution de l’univers des risques. C’est pourquoi il apporte actuellement des changements en interne afin d’avoir de nouveaux moyens et une nouvelle infrastructure lui permettant d’assurer la surveillance de la résilience opérationnelle à titre de composante essentielle de la sûreté et de la solidité financières.

Même si la section qui suit (Risques clés) décrit les mesures prises par le BSIF pour atténuer les principaux risques cernés au début de l’exercice 2018-2019, à savoir l’avancement du secteur au chapitre des technologies financières et la vulnérabilité des institutions financières à la cybercriminalité, l’organisme continue de surveiller les IFF et de favoriser leur résilience face à d’autres sources de vulnérabilité systémique, dont le niveau élevé d’endettement des ménages et de l’endettement des entreprises, les changements climatiques et le réchauffement de la planète, et la possibilité que les marchés financiers, le commerce ou l’évolution de la situation géopolitique en Europe et en Chine exercent des pressions sur le système financier.

Risques clés

Risques Stratégie de réponse aux risques et efficacité Lien avec les responsabilités essentielles de l’organisation Lien avec les engagements de la lettre de mandat ou avec les priorités pangouvernementales et ministérielles

Avancement du secteur au chapitre des technologies financières

Le BSIF pourrait ne pas arriver à suivre l’évolution technologique (progrès et changements) dans le secteur financier.

Ce risque a été mentionné dans le Plan ministériel 2018-2019. Voici les mesures prises à cet égard en 2018‑2019 :

  • Suivre l’évolution du domaine de l’analyse avancée, par exemple en ce qui touche à l’intelligence artificielle et l’apprentissage automatique, et définir des attentes en matière de réglementation et de surveillance dans ce domaine.
  • Organiser la première séance d’information sur les risques des technologies novatrices, afin d’informer les surveillants des derniers progrès dans l’application de ces technologies dans le secteur des services financiers au Canada.
Réglementation et surveillance des institutions financières et des régimes de retraite Priorité B du BSIF : Renforcer notre capacité de prévoir et de prévenir les risques graves et plausibles qui menacent le système financier canadien

Vulnérabilité des institutions financières à la cybercriminalité

Le BSIF pourrait ne pas pouvoir réagir de manière efficace aux cybermenaces auxquelles font face les IF canadiennes ou à un cyberincident majeur au sein d’une IF. Cela pourrait nuire à la capacité du BSIF de soutenir la résilience des IF.

Ce risque a été mentionné dans le Plan ministériel 2018-2019. Voici les mesures prises à cet égard en 2018‑2019 :

  • En janvier 2019, le BSIF a diffusé un préavis pour officialiser les exigences de signalement des incidents qui pourraient avoir des conséquences importantes sur les activités habituelles d’une IFF. De nouvelles procédures de signalement des incidents de cybersécurité pour les IFF ont été mises en œuvre le 31 mars 2019.
  • Création de la Division des risques liés à la technologie, qui s’intéresse à la cybersécurité et aux technologies financières.
  • Le BSIF participe à un certain nombre de tribunes nationales et internationales pour tirer parti des pratiques exemplaires en matière de consignes et de surveillance. Par exemple, il a travaillé avec le Conseil de stabilité financière à la préparation d’un plan d’intervention et de rétablissement en cas d’incident cybernétique et avec le G7 à la gestion des vulnérabilités informatiques dans l’ensemble du secteur financier. Dans le second cas, ces travaux sont réalisés en collaboration avec la Banque du Canada.
  • Le BSIF collabore aussi avec le nouveau Centre canadien de cybersécurité pour mieux coordonner les activités et mieux collaborer en cas d’incident de sécurité nationale.
Réglementation et surveillance des institutions financières et des régimes de retraite Priorité B du BSIF : Renforcer notre capacité de prévoir et de prévenir les risques graves et plausibles qui menacent le système financier canadien