Technical Advisory Committee for the Review of DC Plans

​1. Introduction

These Terms of Reference are intended to inform the creation of the identified technical advisory committee focused on the review, supervision and member outcomes of defined contribution (DC) pension plans. This technical advisory committee will be a joint collaboration between FSRA and OSFI. Technical advisory committees are an important part of FSRA and OSFI’s stakeholder engagement process, assisting both Regulators in developing better processes, guidance and approaches to its regulation of the pension sector, and ways to harmonize supervisory approaches across Canada to improve regulatory efficiency and effectiveness.

This stakeholder engagement process enables two-way dialogue and understanding. We want our stakeholders to be informed of FSRA and OSFI activities and to provide timely advice and feedback. We may also seek to identify and discuss emerging issues.

Responsibilities of technical advisory committee members include: 

  • reviewing background material in preparation for meetings and attending meetings; 
  • providing solutions-focused advice, proposals and feedback to FSRA and OSFI and freely expressing points of views;
  • using best efforts to, where possible, develop consensus; and;
  • providing feedback to FSRA and OSFI on the functioning of the committee. 

2. Mandate of the Technical Advisory Committee

We are establishing this joint Technical Advisory Committee for the Review of Defined Contribution Plans (the Advisory Committee) as an ad hoc, special purpose committee. This Advisory Committee will review regulatory processes and legislative requirements that currently apply to DC pension plans. 

Amongst other things, the Advisory Committee will consider ways to: 

  • improve member outcomes;
  • address key DC risks;
  • improve regulatory efficiency and effectiveness;
  • inform the development of a supervisory approach that is principles-based, outcomes-focused and graduated; and
  • allow FSRA and OSFI to collect data on the financial and operational health of DC plans that supports appropriate supervision and appropriate policy development.

Advisory Committee members are expected to provide comments based on their experience to date, identify issues and develop proposals; where appropriate they may be asked to provide sample data or to prepare analyses.

3. Nomination and Appointment of Advisory Committee Members

Appointments will be made through an open application process posted online. Selections will be made jointly by FSRA and OSFI, based in part upon the experience of the individuals who are put forward, the component of the pension sector that they represent and other factors that both regulators may determine to be relevant. This Advisory Committee will have a target membership of 12 – 16 members (not including FSRA, OSFI, Ontario Ministry of Finance, Department of Finance Canada, and Canada Revenue Agency participants). FSRA and OSFI can choose to add or remove any member of the Advisory Committee at any time.

4. Qualifications of Members of the Advisory Committee

Nominees to the Advisory Committee should be experienced members of their respective organization or profession who can represent their organization’s or profession’s position on relevant issues. Organizations cannot have more than one representative as a member of any one Advisory Committee.

Candidates to participate on this Advisory Committee must have significant experience dealing with either/or the administration, design, investments and member engagement strategy for DC pension plans and should be representative of one or more of the following pension sector categories: 

  • Union representatives who have experience with DC plans;
  • Representatives of DC plan members, former members and retired members; 
  • Representatives of employers that sponsor DC plans;
  • Representatives of multi-employer DC plan administrators;
  • Investment professionals that either manage DC plan assets or, provide financial and investment advice to DC plan members;
  • Pension lawyers, advisors, actuaries and other specialists in the DC pension field;
  • Insurance or other financial companies that provide DC plan administrative services, investment management services and / or sell life annuities.

The Advisory Committee will be Co-Chaired by FSRA’s Executive Vice President, Pensions and OSFI’s Managing Director, Private Pension Plans Division.

One or more representatives of the Ontario Ministry of Finance, Department of Finance Canada, and Canada Revenue Agency will also be invited to join this Advisory Committee.

5. Public Process, Input from Others and Disclosure Issues

The Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, R.S.O. 1990, c.F.31, as amended, will generally apply to information provided to the Advisory Committee and to material prepared by or for the Advisory Committee.

The Access to Information Act (R.S.C. 1985, c. A-1), as amended, will also apply to the Advisory Committee and to material prepared by or for the Advisory Committee.

Members of the Advisory Committee are permitted to obtain assistance from co-workers or industry collaborators. However, until the Advisory Committee’s mandate is complete, Advisory Committee members and those that assist them are requested to maintain confidentiality (with the exception of information made public by FSRA or by OSFI). Following completion of the Advisory Committee’s mandate, an Advisory Committee member may communicate his or her views concerning the work of the Advisory Committee.

6. Meetings, Agendas and Deliverables

We expect the Advisory Committee will participate in at least 4 meetings; these are tentatively scheduled to begin in December. If it is determined that a meeting is not required or must be re-scheduled, members will be notified in advance. The Co-Chairs may call additional meetings as required.

Advisory Committee members may be asked to prepare material for consideration by the Advisory Committee.

FSRA and OSFI shall endeavour to provide meeting agendas and related materials at least one week in advance of each regular meeting. FSRA and OSFI shall prepare a summary of each meeting and will distribute it, including any accompanying written submissions, to Advisory Committee members, typically within three weeks following a meeting. Both regulators also intend to publish a high-level summary of the Advisory Committee’s work on FSRA’s and OSFI’s website within approximately 3 weeks of each meeting.

7. Applications to participate

Please email your request to participate on this Advisory Committee to: 

Arielle.Brenman@fsrao.ca.

Your request should briefly indicate your relevant experience and should also indicate which of the listed stakeholder groups you fall into (it can be more than one).

8. For more information contact

Comité consultatif technique d’examen des régimes de retraite à cotisations déterminées

1. Introduction

Le présent document a pour but de donner des précisions sur la création d’un comité consultatif technique désigné qui se concentrera sur l’examen et la surveillance des régimes de retraite à cotisations déterminées (CD) et sur leurs résultats pour les participants. Ce comité consultatif technique résultera d’une collaboration entre l’Autorité ontarienne de réglementation des services financiers (ARSF) et le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF). Le recours aux comités consultatifs techniques est un volet important du processus de mobilisation des parties prenantes de l’ARSF et du BSIF, puisqu’il aide ces deux organismes à élaborer de meilleurs processus, directives et approches à leur réglementation respective du secteur des régimes de retraite ainsi qu’à cerner des manières d’harmoniser les approches de surveillance à l’échelle du Canada en vue d’améliorer l’efficience et l’efficacité de la réglementation.

Le processus de participation des parties prenantes favorise le dialogue et la compréhension mutuelle. L’ARSF et le BSIF tiennent à ce que leurs parties prenantes soient au courant de leurs activités et souhaitent qu’elles fournissent de la rétroaction et des conseils en temps opportun. Les parties prenantes pourraient aussi chercher à cerner les questions émergentes et à en discuter.

Les responsabilités des membres du comité consultatif technique sont les suivantes :

  • examiner les documents de référence en guise de préparation aux rencontres et participer aux réunions;
  • fournir des conseils axés sur des solutions, des propositions et des commentaires à l’intention de l’ARSF et du BSIF et exprimer librement ses points de vue;
  • déployer les efforts raisonnables, dans la mesure du possible, pour dégager un consensus;
  • fournir de la rétroaction à l’ARSF et au BSIF sur le fonctionnement du comité.

2. Mandat du Comité consultatif technique

Le Comité consultatif technique d’examen des régimes de retraite à CD (le Comité consultatif) sera un comité mixte ad hoc à vocation spéciale. Ses membres examineront les processus réglementaires et les exigences législatives qui s’appliquent actuellement aux régimes de retraite à CD.

Entre autres, les membres du Comité consultatif envisageront des moyens de faire ce qui suit :

  • améliorer les résultats pour les participants;
  • se pencher sur les principaux risques liés aux CD;
  • améliorer l’efficience et l’efficacité de la réglementation;
  • orienter l’élaboration d’une approche en matière de surveillance qui repose sur des principes, est axée sur les résultats et est progressive;
  • permettre à l’ARSF et au BSIF de recueillir des données sur la santé financière et opérationnelle des régimes à CD pour étayer une surveillance appropriée et l’élaboration de politiques adaptées.

Il sera attendu que les membres du Comité consultatif fournissent des commentaires fondés sur leur expérience, cernent les problèmes et élaborent des propositions; au besoin, il pourrait leur être demandé de fournir des échantillons de données ou de préparer des analyses.

3. Candidatures et nomination des membres du Comité consultatif

Un processus ouvert de demande en ligne sera lancé. Les candidats seront choisis conjointement par l’ARSF et le BSIF, en partie selon l’expérience de la personne dont la candidature est proposée, mais aussi en fonction de la composante du secteur des régimes de retraite qu’elle représente et d’autres facteurs que ces deux organismes de réglementation pourraient juger pertinents. Le Comité consultatif se composera de 12 à 16 membres (exclusion faite des représentants de l’ARSF, du BSIF, du ministère des Finances de l’Ontario, du ministère des Finances Canada et de l’Agence du revenu du Canada). L’ARSF et le BSIF peuvent décider en tout temps d’ajouter ou de retirer un membre du Comité consultatif.

4. Compétences des membres du Comité consultatif

Les personnes mises en nomination doivent être des membres chevronnés de leur profession ou de leur organisme respectif, qui sont en mesure de représenter la position de celle-ci à l’égard de questions pertinentes. Les organismes ne peuvent avoir plus d’un représentant au Comité consultatif à la fois.

Pour faire partie du Comité consultatif, les candidats doivent avoir une expérience appréciable de l’administration, de la conception, des placements et de la gestion d’une stratégie de mobilisation des membres en ce qui a trait aux régimes de retraite à CD et ils devraient représenter au moins une des catégories suivantes du secteur des régimes de retraite :

  • représentants syndicaux ayant de l’expérience des régimes de retraite à CD;
  • représentants de participants, d’anciens participants et de participants retraités d’un régime de retraite à CD;
  • représentants d’employeurs promoteurs de régimes de retraite à CD;
  • représentants d’administrateurs de régimes à CD interentreprises;
  • professionnels des placements qui gèrent les actifs de régimes de retraite à CD ou qui fournissent des conseils dans le domaine des finances ou des placements aux participants à des régimes de retraite à CD;
  • avocats, conseillers ou actuaires spécialisés dans les régimes de retraite et autres spécialistes du domaine des régimes de retraite à CD;
  • représentants de sociétés d’assurance ou d’autres établissements financiers qui fournissent des services d’administration de régimes de retraite à CD ou de gestion des placements ou qui vendent des rentes viagères.

La coprésidence du Comité consultatif sera assurée par le vice-président directeur, régimes de retraite de l’ARSF et par le directeur général, Division des régimes de retraite privés du BSIF.

Un ou plusieurs représentants du ministère des Finances de l’Ontario, du ministère des Finances Canada et de l’Agence du revenu du Canada seront également invités à se joindre au Comité consultatif.

5. Processus public, aide d’autrui et questions liées à la communication d’informations

En règle générale, la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée, L.R.O. 1990, chap. F.31, dans sa version modifiée, s’appliquera aux renseignements fournis au Comité consultatif et aux documents préparés par celui-ci ou qui lui sont destinés.

Le Comité consultatif sera également assujetti à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (L.R.C. (1985), ch. A-1), dans sa version modifiée, tout comme les documents préparés par le Comité ou qui lui sont destinés.

Les membres du Comité consultatif sont autorisés à obtenir de l’aide auprès de collègues ou de collaborateurs du secteur. Cependant, tant que le mandat du Comité consultatif n’est pas terminé, ses membres et ceux qui les aident sont tenus de maintenir la confidentialité (sauf dans le cas des renseignements rendus publics par l’ARSF ou par le BSIF). À l’achèvement du mandat du Comité consultatif, un  membre du Comité peut communiquer son point de vue au sujet des travaux du Comité consultatif.

6. Réunions, ordre du jour et livrables

Nous nous attendons à ce que le Comité consultatif tienne au moins quatre réunions; il est provisoirement prévu que ces réunions commencent en décembre 2020. S’il est déterminé qu’une réunion n’est pas nécessaire ou qu’elle doit être déplacée à une autre date, les membres en seront informés à l’avance. Il se peut que les coprésidents convoquent les membres à des réunions supplémentaires, au besoin.

On pourrait demander aux membres du Comité consultatif de préparer des documents à des fins d’examen par le Comité consultatif.

L’ARSF et le BSIF s’efforceront de fournir l’ordre du jour de réunions et les documents connexes aux membres du Comité consultatif au moins une semaine avant chacune des réunions régulières. L’ARSF et le BSIF prépareront un résumé de chaque réunion, y compris les observations écrites, et les distribueront aux membres du Comité consultatif habituellement dans les trois semaines suivant une réunion. Ces deux organismes de réglementation ont aussi l’intention de publier un sommaire général des travaux du Comité consultatif sur leur site Web respectif dans les trois semaines environ suivant chaque réunion.

7. Poser sa candidature

Pour poser votre candidature afin de devenir membre du Comité consultatif, veuillez écrire à : 

Arielle.Brenman@fsrao.ca.

Votre courriel devrait contenir une brève description de votre expérience en lien avec les fonctions du poste et indiquer également le groupe de parties prenantes énumérées ci-dessus auquel vous appartenez (vous pouvez appartenir à plus d’un groupe).

8. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements :